We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruising on the road to Todos Santos”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We flew into La Paz, rented a car and drove down to Todos Santos. A lot of places to choose from but our Mates from Australia were really interested in staying at Hotel California. The Eagles are loved by the Aussies as well as Americans and we were both a little disappointed that the Legendary Eagles didn't have any association with the Hotel.
The best thing about the hotel, I feel, is the lovely decor. All redesigned by the Canadians that now own it. Great old world antiques and art. Warm and rich colors accented with beautiful gardens and pools. Our room had it's own rooftop balcony and a wonderful king size bed. Crisp cotton linens really set the relaxation atmosphere.
The worst thing about the hotel, the food in the restaurant. My husband ordered chicken fajitas and all he had on his plate was chicken (looked awful) and cauliflower. They didn't even bring tortillias. The selection for alcoholic beverages was very limited and they completely ran out of wine. I have never heard of a restaurant being completely out of wine before. Just terrible service too.
You can go to Hotel California and enjoy listening to some great Eagles tunes played on overhead sound system AND you CAN LEAVE and go somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of stairs to climb. Narrow, dark and difficult walking with few hand rails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We rented a car and took a ride up to Todos Santos, a small town about an hour north of Cabo San Lucas. Urban legend has it that the Hotel California is the one in the Eagles song....not sure if that's true but it was cool to see. Mostly a emporium now, and visitors are not allowed in the actual hotel area, but you get the overall feel for the hotel. The town was quaint and a shopper's paradise...find a great tequila or just purchase some souveniers! Glad we went....very friendly store keepers everywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Visited last week while staying in San Jose, drove our rental car up the coast, took about an hr and a half. The little town of Todos Santos was really neat and authentic compared to Cabo. They call it the "magical city", and it really was fun. The main thing to do in town is visit The Hotel California. It is a nice smaller boutique type hotel, we had the most fun visiting the local shops and drinking the famous Jalepeno Margarita at the Hotel California Bar. Definitely something fun to do if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Catch of the day was excellent fish with mango sauce. Ceviche with some kind of spice that killing taste of it. nobody in our group want to eat it.
Taquitos , and Quesadilla were OK.

For that nice place the food should be much better.

Some how all Mexican food in US taste better

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

While we did not stay at the hotel we did visit the bar for an afternoon cocktail and the restaurant for breakfast. On both occasions the service was excellent with great food and drinks. I highly recommend stopping by for a break from the heat as you wander the shops of Todos Santos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Breatheitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We go to cabo every year and our first stop is hotel California. It's a beautiful drive with the coast line on one side and mountains on the other. We love HC very laid back and great food , drinks, service, ect. We all ways get the penthouse and have dinner on the deck and watch the sun set over the water (about as good as it gets). It's a must go kind of place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byronjacks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stopped here for dinner. I had the mole chicken - excellent. One of the best moles I've ever had - very bright flavors. Everything was very good. The margaritas were good too and the atmosphere - well, what can you say! It surely earned it's reputation... very cool place.

Room Tip: Only stopped for dinner - did not stay... was afraid we could never check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing