We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant, beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The last time we were in Todos Santos was in 2000 and Hotel California was boarded up and vacant. Today, it is a beautifully quaint hotel with a wonderful restaurant and gift shop. The grounds are beautiful and everyone was extremely nice. We did not stay at the hotel as we were only passing through, but we will make a special trip back to Todos Santos for a few days to stay. This town is very laid back and is truly a special getaway from the timeshare hawking, touristy life in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have been visiting Todas Santos every year from Cabo since 2000 and have watched it grow from a sleepy village with a couple of vendors to a tourist destination with many art galleries and upscale shops. Each visit is not complete without a drink at Tequila Sunrise and lunch at Hotel California.

We have never been disappointed in our luncheons at Hotel California. Great food, well presented, with friendly and knowledgeable staff. We look forward to our return visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ronfromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel California. We were in room 14, which had a huge patio/balcony with 2 padded chaise lounge chairs, 2 padded chairs, two straight chairs and a table, and overlooked the pool area if you peered around the corner. It had a distant view of the ocean, too. I believe all rooms are on the second floor (with the penthouse having rooms on 2 levels). This hotel is not handicap friendly, if that is a concern for you.

The room was large, but very basic -- it doesn't have a TV, radio, clock, mini-fridge, or telephone. It did have air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. It also had mosquito netting for the bed, but we never used it, as bugs were not a problem. There was a step up into the bathroom (which had a skylight over the shower area). There was a transom over the door to the bathroom, which seemed a bit strange to me, but didn't bother us. The lighting in the room is on the [very] dim side. There was free Wifi.

The color scheme of the hotel is mostly dark blue and darkish red, and gives it an old time Mexico feel. The pool is a constant depth, and has plenty of shade. We were the only ones using it most of the time. It is only yards from the mission, so yes, you do hear the mission bells occasionally.

But the hotel carefully explains their relation to the Eagles at the check in desk (which is an old piece of wood, with holes in it, and contributes to the funky feeling). There the paper describing the history of the hotel states :

"Most come looking for the legend of the Eagles and the connection to the song. What they find here is perhaps [underlined] the inspiration for the song, but more importantly a magic town and the real Mexico."

The history also says that the hotel changed from 16 rooms down to 11 [bigger] rooms during their last renovation in 2001.

The bar and restaurant are good, and we really enjoyed the Jalapeno Margaritas, which Victor and Juan made for us, and were reasonably priced. These particular margaritas are not to be missed, if you enjoy spicy (but not too spicy) things.

The service was great, as we ordered meals and drinks to be delivered to the pool, and the staff was friendly and accommodating.

We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony/patio. Room 14 was on the end, so only had neighbors on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have visited the Hotel California in Todos Santos a few times on day trips, although I have not stayed over night. It is truly charming and has lots of character. It has a great restaurant and the gift shop has lots of treasures to chose from, including Hotel California memorabilia. I consider it a must see if you are in this lovely town on the Pacific Coast of Baja. It is about an hour and a half drive on the highway from Los Cabos.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We flew into La Paz, rented a car and drove down to Todos Santos. A lot of places to choose from but our Mates from Australia were really interested in staying at Hotel California. The Eagles are loved by the Aussies as well as Americans and we were both a little disappointed that the Legendary Eagles didn't have any association with the Hotel.
The best thing about the hotel, I feel, is the lovely decor. All redesigned by the Canadians that now own it. Great old world antiques and art. Warm and rich colors accented with beautiful gardens and pools. Our room had it's own rooftop balcony and a wonderful king size bed. Crisp cotton linens really set the relaxation atmosphere.
The worst thing about the hotel, the food in the restaurant. My husband ordered chicken fajitas and all he had on his plate was chicken (looked awful) and cauliflower. They didn't even bring tortillias. The selection for alcoholic beverages was very limited and they completely ran out of wine. I have never heard of a restaurant being completely out of wine before. Just terrible service too.
You can go to Hotel California and enjoy listening to some great Eagles tunes played on overhead sound system AND you CAN LEAVE and go somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of stairs to climb. Narrow, dark and difficult walking with few hand rails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We rented a car and took a ride up to Todos Santos, a small town about an hour north of Cabo San Lucas. Urban legend has it that the Hotel California is the one in the Eagles song....not sure if that's true but it was cool to see. Mostly a emporium now, and visitors are not allowed in the actual hotel area, but you get the overall feel for the hotel. The town was quaint and a shopper's paradise...find a great tequila or just purchase some souveniers! Glad we went....very friendly store keepers everywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Visited last week while staying in San Jose, drove our rental car up the coast, took about an hr and a half. The little town of Todos Santos was really neat and authentic compared to Cabo. They call it the "magical city", and it really was fun. The main thing to do in town is visit The Hotel California. It is a nice smaller boutique type hotel, we had the most fun visiting the local shops and drinking the famous Jalepeno Margarita at the Hotel California Bar. Definitely something fun to do if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing