We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yesterday N Today”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After making the yearly day pilgrimage to Totos Santos we decided to make reservations for two nights at Hotel California . And what a great decision for us. We had two second floor rooms side by side that had large private outside balconies that we could connect together. Lovely!
The rooms in accordance with the hotel detour supplied unique, nostalgic atmosphere, but provides the expected creature comforts. A great restaurant and bar set within the hotel allows you the choice to stay close or wonder around the quaint little village of Totos Santos! With the wonderful restaurants and bars around you can choose to party hardy and return to your welcoming hotel room...or enjoy one more from the Hotel California Bar listening to the music from the Eagles.. Or just extend those two days into more for remembering or making new ones!!!

Room Tip: We loved the two rooms on second floor with connecting patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 456Sandy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to go and sit in the barand listen to The Eagles music. They have a restaraunt that is quite good. Tosos Santos is about an hour drive north of Cabo. A new highway makes the drive easy. There are small shops in town to enjoy. If yiu go at theright time there are turtles hatching on the beaches. If you need the bathroom while at Hotel California you will know which is which.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Somewhat out of the way. It is located about 50 miles north of Cabo San Lucas. This was our second trip and we were pleased to find that the highway from Cabo is about 90% complete and almost freeway quality.
Not a lot to do in town but the experience and peacefulness are second to none.
This is the Hotel that the Eagles refer to in their hit song.
I know, I thought it was near LA too.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalW4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had dinner here one night on our trip to Todos Santos and it was a delight to visit the authentic Hotel California of Eagles song fame. They have a great little shop next door, too, with many different things - better quality than most souvenirs from places like this. Recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sanguinewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We took a beautiful drive from Cabo through the mountains and up to Todos Santos. What a lovely little town! We didn't stay at HC but we did have lunch there. The wait staff were wonderful, I have a tomato allergy and they were very attentive to this, even offered to make my guacamole without the tomato. The food was very good, and we loved the atmosphere on the patio.
There is a really nice shop at the HC and many little shops along the road. Def worth a drive to visit.
There is also a really huge beach along the way on the Pacific, still trying to find the name of it. There is a resort there and a bar called the Whale bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nikkytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Made the trek up from CSL ... Fun day trip with nice selection of art galleries in immediate area. New road under construction which requires some vale on unsaved roads ... But easy to get through. Nice little town that provides you with a glimpse of what else is available in locales a bit removed from the tourist areas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiadad97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel California is a very intimate hotel, with only a very few rooms that are decorated with very eclectic, rustic furniture and bright beautiful colours you often see in Mexico. A wonderful place to stay while visiting. There is a magical charm about this place and in the evening the colours and lights of the private sitting areas, pool side and courtyard come alive in the warmth of the setting sun.

We stayed in a queen room and had a private terrace that faced west; we were able to see the ocean and watch the sunset. Much like Don Henley's lyrics in the song - you can check out but you can never leave - this hotel left me with a feeling that part of me will always remember how beautiful this place is and I can always daydream about it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieanddarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: £121 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing