We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnighter.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great overnighter.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Susan and I just got back last week from a 3 week vacation in Los Cabos. Rented a car drove up thru La Paz and the onto Todos Santos.We wasted time driving to La Paz. Never go there again.So we carried on to Todos Santos in the late afternoon.
Up ahead in the Distance, I saw a shimmering light.My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim.
I had to stop for the night.
No TV, NO PHONE, NO CLOCK......... We loved it!!! walked up the street to a taco stand.
great and authentic. cheap too.
Our room was on the corner overlooking main street. Todos Santos is what we like about
Mexico.Laid back and authentic. Should be better when the highway bypass is completed.

Thank you
Will be back.
Happy festivus from sue and dave.
P.R. BC, Canada

Room Tip: Every room is good!!!. You're not here to hang out in the room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    216
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
120
290
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We just spent a night at the Hotel California in Todos Santos. Last I was here was 1989 so much has changed but the romantic aura still envies the hotel with life and warmth. a charming hotel with generous hospitality, rustic Mexican style and a haven within the cosy village life of Todos Santos. This is a definite must if you are holidaying on the Baja peninsula.
The grounds are elegant and lush with palms and a lovely tranquil swimming pool. The Rooms are old style charming with every one exuding individual style and flare.
We had one with a patio overlooking the ocean a few kilometers away. The sea breeze wafting through the curtains. The walls are painted transitional Mexican colors and the place gives you a feel for the Mexican charm and magic of days gone by.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but I am told it is excellent.
Thank you for a delightful stay at your special place. We will return no doubt!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevercominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This is a review of the bar at the hotel. It is beautifully decorated and you did feel cool sitting in the courtyard (irrespective of whether or not the song was actually written about this place). But that's about where the positives end. We had decent margaritas, and mediocre guacamole, but the fajitas were terrible.... Have you ever had broccoli in a fajita? And no, it wasn't some avantgarde preparation, it was bad. The tortilla soup had zucchini and no tomatoe and was bland. I appreciate most foods from authentic to fusion and this got lost in between.

Visit to see the place, then wander down the street to el ziguans or something for your food.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Went here for dinner one our days in Todos Santos. We had a great meal and experienced great service. The atmosphere is very nice as well.

You can tell though the place is a little to 'corporate' rather than having a local owner feel. You can tell by their HUGE, too big, menu. Pricing is a litte too high for being in this little quaint town.

If you have multiple dinner nights in Todos Santos definitely go here. If you only have 1 night for dinner in Todos Santos go to La Casita Tapas & Wine Bar. Much better local mexican feel, service, food and drinks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After making the yearly day pilgrimage to Totos Santos we decided to make reservations for two nights at Hotel California . And what a great decision for us. We had two second floor rooms side by side that had large private outside balconies that we could connect together. Lovely!
The rooms in accordance with the hotel detour supplied unique, nostalgic atmosphere, but provides the expected creature comforts. A great restaurant and bar set within the hotel allows you the choice to stay close or wonder around the quaint little village of Totos Santos! With the wonderful restaurants and bars around you can choose to party hardy and return to your welcoming hotel room...or enjoy one more from the Hotel California Bar listening to the music from the Eagles.. Or just extend those two days into more for remembering or making new ones!!!

Room Tip: We loved the two rooms on second floor with connecting patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456Sandy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to go and sit in the barand listen to The Eagles music. They have a restaraunt that is quite good. Tosos Santos is about an hour drive north of Cabo. A new highway makes the drive easy. There are small shops in town to enjoy. If yiu go at theright time there are turtles hatching on the beaches. If you need the bathroom while at Hotel California you will know which is which.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Somewhat out of the way. It is located about 50 miles north of Cabo San Lucas. This was our second trip and we were pleased to find that the highway from Cabo is about 90% complete and almost freeway quality.
Not a lot to do in town but the experience and peacefulness are second to none.
This is the Hotel that the Eagles refer to in their hit song.
I know, I thought it was near LA too.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalW4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 12 in Todos Santos
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing