We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List #87”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've been wanting to stay at the Hotel California for a very long time. As we got engaged on the Baja is only seemed natural to celebrate in a classy and rememberable way. Glad we had this opportunity. Magnificent ambience. Great staff and the food is wonderful. Wondering around Todo Santos you'll find all sorts of artisans, crafts, amazing artists. The gift shop has everything you need to remember this place. Thanks Debbie!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IdealImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We rented a driver and a van and eight of us headed to see the Hotel California. Pretty cool place.The bar was great and the bartender was a kick. Made great drinks. Great place to hang out. The town is an art type town and has a lot of shops and ma and pa places to eat. You can really get a room here and stay.Not just a Eagles song myth, We headed back to Cabo and stopped at Cerritos to check the beach. Had a good swell and was good for surfing and just chilling. Had a nice little bar and place to eat. From there we went to a place called Art and Beer. You have to stop here. Looks closed down but this place it a hidden gem. The old dude who meets you tells you you have to buy a drink or water if you want to look around. Once inside we ordered drinks and let me tell you they were works of art. Fresh everything.I had a Clammato and wow. This is truly a one of a kind place and must do if in Cabo. Our van and driver for the whole day was $40 per person. We got him lunch and he never let us out of his sight.

Room Tip: We did not stay here.We visited it on our road trip but looks like a cool place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family and I had dinner here on New Years. This is a mature, nicely renovated property. The restaurant has ample dining indoor and out. It was a very nice evening, good food, not too loud entertainment and a night full of stars.

One employee did offer the "official" Eagles connection. Supposedly Don Felder either came through or spent the night in the 70's. The name and some notes went into his journal and were used later on the song. The band didn't stay there and the song isn't about the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Alaskanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

On the way to the airport from la Paz, we diverted to Todos Santos. Great road. Hotel California for lunch was ideal. Try the enchiladas. Chicken and roasted peppers with a great margarita. Great service and a solid menu. We will be back to enjoy dinner, which i think will be great. Charming town. Shopping was no deal, but the charm of this little town was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank drakeduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Susan and I just got back last week from a 3 week vacation in Los Cabos. Rented a car drove up thru La Paz and the onto Todos Santos.We wasted time driving to La Paz. Never go there again.So we carried on to Todos Santos in the late afternoon.
Up ahead in the Distance, I saw a shimmering light.My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim.
I had to stop for the night.
No TV, NO PHONE, NO CLOCK......... We loved it!!! walked up the street to a taco stand.
great and authentic. cheap too.
Our room was on the corner overlooking main street. Todos Santos is what we like about
Mexico.Laid back and authentic. Should be better when the highway bypass is completed.

Thank you
Will be back.
Happy festivus from sue and dave.
P.R. BC, Canada

Room Tip: Every room is good!!!. You're not here to hang out in the room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We just spent a night at the Hotel California in Todos Santos. Last I was here was 1989 so much has changed but the romantic aura still envies the hotel with life and warmth. a charming hotel with generous hospitality, rustic Mexican style and a haven within the cosy village life of Todos Santos. This is a definite must if you are holidaying on the Baja peninsula.
The grounds are elegant and lush with palms and a lovely tranquil swimming pool. The Rooms are old style charming with every one exuding individual style and flare.
We had one with a patio overlooking the ocean a few kilometers away. The sea breeze wafting through the curtains. The walls are painted transitional Mexican colors and the place gives you a feel for the Mexican charm and magic of days gone by.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but I am told it is excellent.
Thank you for a delightful stay at your special place. We will return no doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevercominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This is a review of the bar at the hotel. It is beautifully decorated and you did feel cool sitting in the courtyard (irrespective of whether or not the song was actually written about this place). But that's about where the positives end. We had decent margaritas, and mediocre guacamole, but the fajitas were terrible.... Have you ever had broccoli in a fajita? And no, it wasn't some avantgarde preparation, it was bad. The tortilla soup had zucchini and no tomatoe and was bland. I appreciate most foods from authentic to fusion and this got lost in between.

Visit to see the place, then wander down the street to el ziguans or something for your food.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: £110 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing