We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A Gem”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is a little gem in the middle of the desert. The ambiance can't be beat. It's just beautiful and full of character. It makes you feel like you are in Mexican heaven! The rooms were unique, clean, and very comfortable! The outside terraces and pool were picture perfect.

Room Tip: Any room will do! But if you can, get the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    216
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
119
290
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were on a day trip from Cabo San Lucas. After the drive were looking for a hole in the wall to eat some good Mexican. We stumbled across the hotel and thought it would be fun to stay here overnight, next time we visited.

We decided to stay for a drink and ordered some ice cream for the little one.

The wait time was ridiculous. It was not busy. It was hot. The service was good but super slow and had to ask twice for the drinks/icecream.

The Margarita was nice and icecream looked delicious.

Food and drinks were pricey so we opted not to eat here.

Have to mention the toilets were awful and smelly, not pleasant at all to use after a big drive. Loved the courtyard and nick nacks around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanuatugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's not a "resort" - it's a small hotel with a lot of character. The food was delicious and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights on our way back down the coast to San Jose del Cabo and our room had an amazing terrace that overlooked the garden restaurant. Todos Santos itself is a small, quaint town and we enjoyed wandering around during the day. There is not a whole lot to do after checking out the shops so 2 nights was perfect for us. If I'm ever back in that area again I would definitely go back for another short stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the rooms with the terrace overlooking the garden restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaCinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsonville, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed there on an off season Wednesday night and pretty much had the hotel to ourselves. We booked the Penthouse Suite, well worth the extra money. We had the beautiful garden dining room all to ourselves, and the meal was excellent. My wife had the halibut in an orange saffron sauce that was incredible. I had the seafood stuffed chile relleno and it was every bit as good as my wife's halibut.
The real treat came the following morning with breakfast served on our private patio, beautifully decorated with potted cactus and palms. We left our order for an early breakfast with the night staff so we were a little unsure how it would work out. By 8:15 we had room service at our door with a beautiful spread of house made pastries, fresh fruit and juice and a large carafe of coffee. Exactly what we ordered, served on our private little oasis.
All in all a great, funky, artsy little hotel you have to try..

Room Tip: If you take the penthouse be prepared for the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is the place that put Todos Santos on the map. It is a beautifully restored older building with gorgeous local art everwhere. The restaurant serves excellent food and great drinks. The service is friendly. The place can get pretty packed at lunch but the service is still great. After 3, the day trippers from Los Cabos have mostly gone, the candles are lit at dusk and the hotel turns into even more of a fairy land of light and colour.The owner, Debbie Stewart, is the most charming and lovely of hostesses.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stopped here of lunch just to say we ate here but food not worth the price. Expensive for what we ate. Nice outdoor patio area though. Lobby very dark and visitors not allowed to wander around hotel.

Actually, had excellent fish and scrimp tacos from food truck named El Tacos and Mariscos in parking lot (they have a restaurant also in town) but we didn't eat there. Absolutely delicious and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Short and sweet of it......made reservation October 3, 2013 for January 25th, 2014 stay. Booked the 2 Queen bed suite with private balcony for my wife and I as well as her visiting cousin and husband for 1 night. Reconfirmed on January 3, 2014 with the owner of the hotel....talked for 4 to 5 minutes about where she grew up in Canada....she also thanked me for confirming reservation. We arrived to check in at 1pm and where told by the desk clerk they a 1 king bed room available....not our room...that would be difficult with 4 adults......talked to owner on the phone and she said maybe she could do something for me next year and gave some excuse why our room wasn't available. Everything was booked up in town because of a music festival so we were able to drive to another town 15 minutes away and got a room. We were lucky we knew the area since we stay for 3 months in the winter in San Jose....about 1 and a half hours away.
Everything worked out because we had a car, knowledge of the area and other people that supplied what they promised.
Better have a back up plan if you plan to make a reservation....if the room is gone, that is the way it goes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JeffBarb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing