We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Mexico charm in an arts and crafts town”
Review of Todos Santos Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Todos Santos Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Mexico charm in an arts and crafts town”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Four days here in April weren't nearly enough. The Inn, built in the mid-19th century by a local grandee (and Mexican freedom fighter) is reminiscent I'm sure of the original residence: high beamed ceilings, spacious and well-appointed rooms filled with traditional Mexican furnishings, an interior arcade made for comfortable relaxing, a "hidden" garden area surrounding a small pool, charming little restaurant and bar and patio dining area (breakfast is included in the room price).
Most of all, it's the details and the fidelity to tradition which impressed me most... And the warmth of the hotel staff.... And the afternoons passed reading and bathing in the garden pool. And a small European-style restaurant where I ate and ate....
Todos Santos is often a "day trip...and night" for visitors and tourists. It is scattered with galleries, many of which show surprisingly-accomplished artists; it put me in mind of what the feeling of the mid-coast and northern California art communities would have been years ago.
It- and the Inn- are very much more deserving of longer than a day trip.

Room Tip: Because of the high and wide exterior walls of the inn, and it's "off-Main-Street" loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesgoodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    48
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
152
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

...the best margaritas in Baja - well, anywhere really. Not according to just me, but Travel + Liesure as well. My wife and I got married in Todos Santos and had our rehearsal dinner here. They did a very good job.

We picked Todos Santos in the first place because of our first visit there we both fell in love with it. On that first visit we stayed at the Todos Santos Inn. It was a lovely, quiet, and very hands off experience. The staff here is friendly, but there is really only one person working at any given time.

The only reason I give it four stars is because hotel wise the hotel across the street, Hotel Guaycura set my hotel bar for Todos Santos.

Room Tip: There are 3-4 rooms along the road, on the south side of the building - don't stay stay in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Honestly, I don't know how this place could have been better. I wanted to relax, stay in a quality, clean, and tranquil hotel, and just enjoy some solitude for a few days. I got one of the cheaper rooms, and thought it was great value. The staff are super-friendly and helpful (they gave me a bunch of good tips on local places to go), the breakfast is very good, and the location is a big plus (it's near the art galleries if you care about that, and right by a bunch of restaurants).

I'll be coming back within a year. Great place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Have been to Todos Santos many times. This hotel is charming and located downtown. Superior to Hotel California in my opinion. Nice breakfast included. Very cool bar!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0wnhillSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Wow! What an amazing place! We took the short drive from Cabo up to Todos Santos and were very impressed with the town and the Inn. We were greeted by Pepe at check in and he showed us the beautiful property. We were actually the only ones staying that night and they still took awesome care of us. Our room was comfortable and complete with plush bedding and robes. We sat up and listened to the fountain outside our room and looked at the stars. Very wonderful and romantic. Breakfast the next morning was great as well. We will be back! Love this place!

Room Tip: For extra privacy upgrade to the junior suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My brother and I, both in our early 60’s, stayed at the Todos Santos Inn in Todos Santos, Baja California Sur, in April 2012 for one night. We had rented a car at the Cabo airport and were on our way via Todos Santos (because it is a picturesque small town on the Pacific side of the Baja peninsula) to La Paz, where we had lived for three years as children.

I had visited Todos Santos before, but my brother had not traveled in southern Baja since we had lived there eons ago. I always had stayed at the famed Hotel California, but this time decided to take a chance on something different. I found the T.S. Inn on Google, and it seemed like a pleasant alternative. It is historic-- a brick mansion built in the late 1800’s by a sugar cane baron. Now, converted into a small hotel with rooms and suites, it is a charming hideaway with lush gardens, shaded courtyards, and a small pool.

We were greeted by a young American man, who showed us around in a leisurely manner. We saw a couple sitting down by the pool, reading, and a woman on the upper patio—also reading. Our spacious junior suite (we were upgraded for free) had two double beds dressed in white and draped with mosquito nets. (The beds proved quite comfortable, the linens were high quality, and there were no mosquitos.) The other furnishings were antique—very solid wood: an armoire, a table/desk, night stands. There was also a comfy leather sofa. Drinking water in a decanter was provided. There was a ceiling fan as well as an air conditioner (we needed neither as a cool breeze blew in through the window from the sea). The floors were nicely polished Mexican tile. It was a very appealing room.

The spotless bathroom offered a large bath tub as well as a separate tiled shower. The water pressure and temperature were both excellent. Plenty of luxurious towels were provided, and European toiletries sat above the sink.

The Inn is located adjacent to a small restaurant, Londi’s, and breakfast is served there—included in the price of the night’s stay. In addition, coffee and tea are served on the main patio throughout the morning.For breakfast, I sat in the patio surrounded by bougainvilla, and ordered huevos rancheros, which were quite satisfying. (One of the other guests told me that she and husband had dined there three times and were so pleased with the menu and cuisine that they had not ventured to the other nearby restaurants.)

Our brief stay was enjoyable and inexpensive--$125 for both of us.
The Inn is only two blocks from the main road through town—just far enough to ensure quiet and close enough for an evening stroll. If I return to Todos Santos, I will return to the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliseM552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a beautiful hotel! The staff and the owner were so kind and helpful. It was very clean and maintained beautifully. Nice pool, fabulous garden. Yummy breakfast. Historic--a real architectural gem.

Room Tip: We loved #3, a suite.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 12 in Todos Santos
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Bohemia Baja Hotel Pequeno
La Bohemia Baja Hotel Pequeno
#4 of 16 in Todos Santos
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Todos Santos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Todos Santos Inn

Property: Todos Santos Inn
Address: Calle Legaspi #33, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Todos Santos Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic hacienda hotel in the center of town, walking distance to all the shops, art galleries and restaurants. Heated swimming pool and the best margaritas in Baja at our La Copa Bar. Restaurant La Copa Cocina serving phenomenal dishes 5-10 nightly except Wednesday. Free guest breakfast and free wifi. The only property in Todos Santos with 2 TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence: one for our hotel, and one for our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Todos Santos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Todos Santos Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing