We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hacienda”
Review of Todos Santos Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Todos Santos Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming Hacienda”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Intimate, romantic, grand old hacienda style inn located in the heart of Todos Santos' historic district. Former home of a sugar baron this 1800's hacienda has been sensitively restored as an historic inn. With antiques, high beamed ceilings and beds that were quite firm, but amazingly comfortable, it is a lovely oasis with a comfortable vibe. A few things that I did note that probably needs attention; lampshade in our suite needed to be replaced due to stains, and they could be more generous with the bathroom towels. If you want to be able to sleep late, plan on reserving the garden suites as the terrace suites had traffic at an ungodly hour for someone on vacation.....

The courtyard garden with lush plantings spill over a small pool that invokes the feeling of a lost era. Wonderful chaise lounges with bright red cushions feel like a trip back in time relaxing or reading a book. Numerous hummingbirds are busy feeding on the brightly colored trumpet vine and honeysuckle.

Rooms feature small french style double doors that open onto quite spacious rooms. Our hosts had thoughtfully provided a wonderful bottle of champagne for our 10th wedding anniversary which we consumed under the stars dipping our toes into the pool.

Made our way into the wine bar which is reminiscint of an old world gentleman's club in a Mexican rustic decor. Backgammon board and numerous books in the library were plentiful for guests. Double french doors opened onto a very small step out that overlooked the restaurant below. With guitar music wafting up to the wine bar, it was romantic indeed.

Complimentary breakfast the next morning at Landis restaurant was wonderful. The hostess and I had a small language barrier that was readily solved and we were the lucky recipients of a fabulous breakfast.....

The inn is within walking distance to many local galleries, which Todos Santo is famous for plus numerous restaurants. If you'd really like a special treat, try the Taco Stand across the street from the bank located on Alvaro Obregon; they only serve fish and shrimp tacos. Melt in your mouth, wonderful beyond belief tacos.

Would we return; in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    48
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
152
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This hotel is an absolute gem. I wrote about it in detail as part of an amazing Mexican adventure I recently went on: http://www.cyrusisboard.com/2010/02/great-baja-california-odisea.html

Highly recommend this hotel, even with the high prices. It's tough to find a more quaint location in Baja.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrus0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed at the Todos Santos Inn for six nights, had a wonderful stay and were reluctant to leave. The Inn is in the center of town and the experience is pure Baja Sur. John and Todd, the proprietors, have created a wonderful atmosphere that transports guests into another world, one with a unique and stylish sense of place. The central courtyard is a beautiful oasis and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We were enrolled in the one week Spanish course with Guillermo Bueron and highly recommend both the course and Profesor Bueron.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopersounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

a beautiful and charming place your feet up after a long day of traveling, beaching, sightseeing, shopping, or eating. upon arrival had an instant sense of understated, old town charm. great location just a block or two from the center of town, yet set away from any loud street noise.
the very friendly staff is eager to make your stay perfect.
the hacienda itself is stunning. the airy patios and landscaping provide for a laidback yet elegant atmosphere.
the bar is beautiful, complete with chess table and comfy leather chairs. they have a beautiful reading room full of books, with tv and dvd player as well. the patio/common area is peaceful and comfortable (the only place you can get a wifi signal). the pool is small but tranquil, and a nice overgrown spot to get your poolside lounge on.
the rooms are roomy: high ceilings, ceiling fan, couch, and a great bed and mattress. the mosquito net over the bed is more for the romantic effect over necessity. didn't hear or see one little bugger in this hotel. nice big bathtub.
landi's restaurant provides a great breakfast: huevos, granola, hot cakes etc.
loved the inn, and recommend it especially for people looking for a laid back, tranquil, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivegirlSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Great hotel, quiet, intimate, and has wifi. Nice cafe on site. Close to art galleries.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GrannyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I feel terribly embarassed that it has taken me this long to write a review of the Inn. While visiting Cabo San Lucas a year ago, my husband and I left our two year old in the care of my parents for a night and escaped to the Todos Santos Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not to be disappointed.

From the moment of our arrival it was as though we had been swept away from reality and were able to lose ourselves in another time and place. The Inn's decor is magnificent, every detail accounted for. I had read before arriving that the Inn had eight rooms but as we were walked through winding paths of tropical flowers, hidden archways, quiet fountains and a beautiful pool tucked into the lush fauna, it was easy to convince one's self that you were the only one present. Translation, if you are looking for peace and privacy, it is very easy to find here. Yet at the same time, you are steps away from all that the town of Todos Santos has to offer.

The wine bar, having just been rennovated prior to our arrival, was lovely and very elegant. My husband still talks about and attempts to replicate the green apple martini he enjoyed so much while we were there. Do take the advice of the proprietors and have dinner one night at Cafe Santa Fe, particularly if you are celebrating a special ocassion. The restaurant is not inexpensive but after dining there, it became very clear why people come from far and wide to eat at this restaurant. Very unassuming from the outside, you step through the front door and (much like the Inn) you find yourself in another world, in this case, a little bit of Italian paradise. And did I mention the food? Still thinking about it a year later!

In all honesty, I having nothing negative to add to this review. And trust me when I say that when it comes to hotels, I am not necessarily easy to please. Our stay at the Todos Santos Inn made our anniversary spectacular and I certainly hope to return in the future. On the morning of our departure, I decided to sit by the pool for an hour. I sat on a wonderfully comfortable lounge chair reading a book while listening to the trickling water-fall in the pool. I glanced up at the endless blue sky, watching a breeze catch the palm trees above me and I honestly could not remember a time in my life when I had been more relaxed. Fabulous feeling, fabulous Inn!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahpaul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My family and I were in Todos Santos for a wedding and we are so pleased we were given the suggestion to stay at the Todos Santos Inn. Everything was delightful from the first moment we contacted the Inn to make the arrangements, (John, one of the Innkeepers, is so gracious and accomodating), to the final day when we had our last delicious complimentary breakfast. It is everything it appears to be on the website and more, and it truly will "leave you with a real taste of Mexico."

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Todos Santos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Todos Santos Inn

Property: Todos Santos Inn
Address: Calle Legaspi #33, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Todos Santos Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic hacienda hotel in the center of town, walking distance to all the shops, art galleries and restaurants. Heated swimming pool and the best margaritas in Baja at our La Copa Bar. Restaurant La Copa Cocina serving phenomenal dishes 5-10 nightly except Wednesday. Free guest breakfast and free wifi. The only property in Todos Santos with 2 TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence: one for our hotel, and one for our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Todos Santos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Todos Santos Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing