We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could move there, I would!”
Review of Villa Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Santa Cruz
Ranked #1 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I'm not sure which is more compelling: the incredible proprietors, the exquisite care they take with each detail to ensure your utmost comfort, the impeccable design choices, or the unparalleled setting. Bottom line: this is exactly the kind of place that meets your every wish and vastly exceeds your every expectation. I traveled to the villa with 6 of my nearest and dearest girlfriends and the entire experience felt like a coconut-fueled dream. We even loved the pack of 6 dogs and the house turtle who graces the open air, fountain-festooned main floor. Knowing that Matt built every inch of this place for low environmental impact only makes it all feel guiltlessly chic. I'm a glutton for new when it comes to my holiday adventures, but this is a place to which I'll become a repeat offender. As its solitude and remoteness only lend to its charm, I'll be happy to see folks fail to read this review and race to the airport.

Room Tip: The sea-side suites have better showers/tubs due to their awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe_Trotting_Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Without a doubt, time spent at Villa Santa Cruz will be a wonderful vacation experience for those looking for a genuine, non-Cabo, 'Inn' experience. We traveled there after spending a few nights at various inns in Todos Santos, La Paz and Loreto. Villa Santa Cruz offers an incredible setting on the beach, well designed grounds, and sincere hospitality, making it THE BEST of options for Southern Baja.

Everyone has raved about this place and for good reason. The Pacific coast of Baja truly is beautiful and the Villa Santa Cruz is the best way to soak it all in. Matt and Jessica are great, genuine people, and understand hospitality in the 'family' sense.

With good luck we will continue to visit the Villa Santa Cruz many times in the future. If you are looking for a one of a kind vacation experience, you've found it...just don't drink all the Tequilla!

Room Tip: Bring a surf board...;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mszymano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Villa Santa Cruz looks and feels like someplace you'd find in a Garcia Marquez book. The villa itself is gorgeous in an idiosyncratic way: great design, furniture, etc. The location is far enough away from Todos Santos to get you no neighbors and a beach to yourself, but close enough that nights out in town are convenient. Because the villa has so much going for it, and because Matt the owner makes great breakfast and lunch as part of the room rate, we didn't want to leave much. I generally don't like B&B's because you can't avoid the other guests. But the set up at the Villa allowed for plenty of privacy while also giving an opportunity to hang with the kinds of people who would drive to the end of a long dirt road to get some remote beauty. I rarely find a place so great I urge my friends to go, as I am doing with Villa Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbarnicle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

...before this place is booked up years in advance. I am notorious for wanting to go someplace new every time we head out of town and I don't want to ever go anyplace else again. I can't imagine what more anyone could want. In today's busy world it is almost impossible to find true quiet. This place has it abounding. My husband and I arrived from Portland and were stunned by all the attention to detail in this incredible replica of a 150 year old hacienda. Beautiful flowers, antiques, art, glass and ironwork, colorful tiles and good taste in every last corner. We stepped out of our rental car to a warm welcome from Mateo, a welcome margarita with fresh-squeezed orange and lime, good recommendations for everything in the area from restaurants to hikes to beaches, slept in a comfortable bed in a beautifully appointed room with a clawfoot tub and a heart-stopping view of the ocean from our charming balcony. We awakened to coffee at our door at 7:30. Breakfast at 8 was filling and delicious - the first day was zucchini fritters with farm fresh poached eggs and lime zest creme fraiche - local fruits and vegetables and gallons of fresh squeezed orange juice. With only four rooms there are but a few people with whom to mingle and everyone seemed to have the same like-minded appreciation for the deserted oceanside beach; the gorgeous, warm, tiled pool and jacuzzi; the sweet dogs wandering about the property; the roof deck with fire pit and sunset/star gazing opportunities; the yoga mats available for stretching wherever the mood strikes; the fact that it's "off-the-grid" and solar powered. And to top it off, it's not just a bed and breakfast. The included lunch is always something healthy and delicious and means there is no need to go the four miles into town and deal with choosing a restaurant until evening. Truly relaxing. The hardest thing to do is choose between reclining in the cushy crow's nest at the palapa on the ocean, sitting on the balcony, the patio or swaying in one of the hammocks at the pool. All have incredible views of the pacific and the surrounding cacti (and nothing else. No development in sight. Period.) And if you really need to be connected (I recommend you don't) you can be - wifi is available and there is a flat screen if that's your fancy. Most of all, Villa Santa Cruz's hosts are wonderful, friendly people who reminded me that often the best trips include feeling like you've made a real connection with someone new. We will return as many times as we can bringing friends and our kids to discover more of the gems available in the charming town of Todos Santos and again savor the peace of Villa Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Villa Santa Cruz. Where to begin? The house, the grounds, the ocean, the food, the gorgeous rooms! My husband, 4-year-old daughter and I spent a week at Villa Santa Cruz in December and it was the best vacation we've ever had as a family. To wake up to freshly brewed coffee outside our door and see the sunrise over the ocean, watch the colors change, hear the waves...a great beginning to each day. We'd planned to do a lot, but ended up doing very little, and loving it. Our daughter played in the sand, made watercolors, and performed a dance around the fountain with a turtle (!) in the hallway. She didn't have a dull minute. The turtle release was lovely and moving.

The villa is so peaceful and beautiful, the rooms so comfortable. We swam in the pool, walked on the beach, and watched the whales breech from the top of the palapa. Enjoyed delicious breakfasts and lunches cooked by Mateo, and it was so easy to find great dinners in charming Todos Santos. At night, the hot tub under the stars was wonderful. Mateo lit torches, very memorable! We ended up so rejuvenated and relaxed it was hard to leave. We just fell in love with everything about Villa Santa Cruz and the area. My only advice to the amazing owners (whom you'll also love) would be: get rid of the TV in the living room. No one will need it at Villa Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: All four rooms are wonderful, but the larger ones with views of the ocean are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_H32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Even though we own a lovely home in Todos Santos,
we have wanted to stay at Villa Santa Cruz since it opened, but it was always booked and for good reason. Entering the property is a treat in itself. Only a 15 minute drive from town the gorgeous villa appears to have been there for a hundred years. The rooms are very comfortable and the house is basically yours with a gorgeous swimming pool and a two story palapa by the beach with sweeping views of the Pacific . There are many thoughtful and convenient amenities such as free wifi, DVD library, coffee or tea waiting outside your door in the morning. Not only is an exceptional breakfast included (hen house just having been raided), but also a "light" lunch which refers to items such as tandoori chicken. Recipes available on request. And did I mention Matt and Jessica? They are the hosts and main reason this place is so special.
Check Jessica's blog about the history of this magical place. Blog Post #1: The Journey Begins! Buying the Property (2001 - 2002)

http://www.villasantacruzbaja.com/_blog/Villa_Santa_Cruz

Room Tip: There are four rooms, all have excellent views and are quiet ,however, I recommend the deluxe suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed a week at Villa Santa Cruz, and honestly, it was beyond belief great. Matt and Jessica were wonderful hosts. The house is spectacular. For great bedrooms, great common space, and landscaping comparable to a Four Seasons. Just saying-- taking a nap on top of the beach palapa is paradise. Todos Santos is a great town to boot. We will come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
4.4 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
372 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
4.4 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
76 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
672 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotelito
The Hotelito
#2 of 16 in Todos Santos
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santa Cruz

Address: Camino a las Playitas | La Pastora, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: £177 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply fabulous retreat. This spectacular hacienda-style beach front villa evokes the feel of authentic Mexico. Set on 20 acres with expansive beach front, it is an ideal getaway for rest and relaxation. All four bedrooms have their own en suite bathroom, balcony, and ocean view. Enormous pool, jacuzzi, and swim up bar. Spacious roof terrace for whale watching and romantic sunsets. Perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Cruz Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing