We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay. Extraordinary place. Amazing people.”
Review of Villa Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Santa Cruz
Ranked #1 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is simply amazing and so special. We first visited Villa Santa Cruz two years ago and returned again in April specifically to stay here. Jessica and Matt are the most gracious, welcoming people, and it's amazing how their kindness and hospitality truly enhanced our stay. Their casual yet amazingly attentive service couldn't be more fitting. It's as though you're walking into your own home, but everything is beautiful, and you're in Mexico, and there's a pristine beach in your backyard, and every little detail is taken care of before you think of it.

The place itself is beautiful. So beautiful. In the main space is a huge fountain where a turtle named Owen lives. The ground level doors can remain open or closed, and when open, the entire space becomes an open air breezeway, making it feel as though you are living right on the beach. The second story has four rooms, all immaculate and vibrant with colors. Every room is unique and has its own private bath and patio. The third story of the villa is designed as a rooftop patio, including a sand-lit fireplace, places to sunbath and a stunning view. Other amenities include a pool, which is always the perfect temperature, and a palapa on the beach, perfect for reading, lounging or sipping a margarita. You're a short drive from town, where there are ample restaurants, shops and little boutiques. However, the town of Todos Santos is certainly not touristy, but feels very authentic with many locals kind enough to speak English.

Again, this place is simply amazing. We even hope to book our wedding at Villa Santa Cruz so we can invite all our family and friends to share in this experience with us. Enough great things cannot be said about it's beauty, attention to detail, and the lovely people who help to make your stay more than perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Villa Santa Cruz in April and it was perfect. Our pre arranged accommodation fell through and I called in somewhat of a panic. Jessica said they could accommodate us last minute and they went out of their way to get the beds we needed in the proper rooms. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, it's located on (yes on) Pastora beach (world class surf spot), is surrounded by their impeccably maintained agave and palm farm, and is peaceful and relaxing. Jessica and Matt made us feel welcome without intruding on our privacy. The included breakfast served hot every day was a treat and their house tequila is nectar! Highly recommend by the Hensley clan!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is a few(10or15minutes not really sure) minutes drive out of town
Location is on the beach with one of the only heated pools on Baja the views are grand both inside and outside. We had tea every morning on the balcony of our room and enjoyed the birds and the ocean breakfast is delicious. Our host were around enough to make you feel cared for and gone enough to let you feel at home. The kids loved the pool The location is great for short trips to town or other beaches. I don't think you can find another hotel of this quality in Baja. It is small and private but with all the amenities you need We will certainly be back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I want to tell you how awful this place is so I will never struggle to book it again, but that would be cruel to the owners who are the most gracious hosts of this magnificent and peaceful estate. Deep relaxation was needed and what this home delivers in spades. Where else can you marry such solitude with world class amenities (a pool large enough to do laps!) and a quiet pueblo with shockingly great culinary options...! This was a wow all around. Thank you also to Jessica and Matt!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Spent 4 days at Villa Santa Cruz this April with 3 girlfriends. The Villa is beautiful and Matt and Jessica run it with care and lots of attention to detail. Breakfast and lunch are delicious and it's nice not to have to drive into town for every meal. The rooms are comfortable and clean and all have great views which include the ocean either directly or indirectly, but you can hear the waves from all 4. While the Villa is a ways out of town, it's a great spot to feel like you are getting away from it all and makes it really easy to just relax by the pool or beach. Todos Santos is a lovely little town with lots of great restaurant options. It's a little sleepy though so don't expect to be partying the night away there!
Can't wait to go back and introduce others to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zims01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Matt and Jessica's care and attention to detail is evident in everything from the unique decor to the delicious meals. Their hospitality has left a lasting impression and was a highlight of our trip to Baja Sur. We loved the spectacular rooftop fire pit, the Northern hemisphere stars and the somnolent effect of the waves crashing on the shore, while our kids loved hanging out with the villa's pets including the resident turtle Owen - leaving us to relax by the pool! Thanks again to Matt and Jessica for a truly memorable stay at Villa Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. The rooms at the rear of the property directly overlook the beach and have lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Villa Santa Cruz is not only stunningly beautiful, but so utterly unique, you'll feel transported to another world! By the time we arrived in Todos Santos ( which FYI- expect it will take longer than you think to rent a car, and drive up the coast from Los Cabos airport), it was well past sunset and we began to make our way down a little dirt road which seemed to be headed to the middle of nowhere- luckily Jess had provided us with first rate directions, and when we pulled into the Villa, it was hard to believe our eyes. The entire property seems to have been conjured out of some type of fairytale. The design of the villa, the antique fittings, glass staircase, golden lighting, and beautiful outdoor landscaping are a testament to Matt and Jessica's impeccable taste. We were graciously greeted with delicious homemade margaritas, and quickly felt right at home. Breakfast and Lunch were equally wonderful, and the convenience of having these meals both available and included in your room rate is another wonderful selling point! One of the highlights of our vacation was a day trip over to La Paz for a incredible snorkeling and boat tour of Espiritu Santo island national park ( if you get a chance -GO! ) Matt provided us with some excellent recommendations and directions which helped us avoid some of the costlier snorkeling trips, and having to drive through La Paz itself. The beauty of the (almost) private white sand beach and luxury of the Villa make this a true Mexican paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
4.4 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
366 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
4.4 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
33 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
649 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santa Cruz

Address: Camino a las Playitas | La Pastora, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: £185 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply fabulous retreat. This spectacular hacienda-style beach front villa evokes the feel of authentic Mexico. Set on 20 acres with expansive beach front, it is an ideal getaway for rest and relaxation. All four bedrooms have their own en suite bathroom, balcony, and ocean view. Enormous pool, jacuzzi, and swim up bar. Spacious roof terrace for whale watching and romantic sunsets. Perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Cruz Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing