We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem In the Desert”
Review of Casa Rancho

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Todos Santos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rancho
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem In the Desert”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our friends and I rented out most of Casa Rancho for a wedding we were attending in the area. Alec was incredibly accommodating of our various schedules and held the space for us for the long weekend. The space was perfect for our needs. We were a motley crew with one active toddler and a baby that wanted a place to hang out and catch up in between wedding events. We cooked several large meals in the well stocked communal kitchens, relaxed by the pool and read on the hammock deck. The location is a little far away from the middle of town, but in a quiet neighborhood and near an awesome cafe - La Esquina. We slept well there. Thanks to Alec for being an amazing host. Make sure to pick his brain for the best beach in the area. It was incredible too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingoaklandmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My family just returned from one week at Casa Rancho. I have to say that Alec's Casa is the best time I've had in Mexico. It is definitely off the beaten path but it was perfect for our family visit with a total of eleven people sharing the overall space. There was room in either of the kitchens or outdoors for us all to get together and there were plenty of space for us to find a little solitude when desired. Everything was extremely clean, well taken care of and comfortable. The pool was very pleasant when we got too hot and the various hammocks ensured we relaxed and recharged our batteries from our busy lives. The Casa is close to town with many great opportunities for dining and shopping. Although "interesting" to find the first time, once you get there it's easy to remember.

Room Tip: Two rooms share a bath which is fine for families but otherwise select from the rooms with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Casa Rancho provided my partner and I a glorious retreat from the hustle and bustle of life. Expect to unwind and read a good book while you take advantage of the stunning outdoor settings, pool and kitchen facilities. After a few days we had forgotten all about TV and internet access as these facilities prove only to distract you from the amazing scenery and sunsets. The room was spacious, cool and well decorated. While the location is about 2km from town, our host offered free mountain bikes which made for a quick trip in town and added to the experience. Beware of riding at night however as the dogs become more aggressive to passing riders but were no problems during the day. We also appreciated the free upgrade to a room with a bathroom despite only booking a standard room (shared WC). We would both like to extend our gratitude to our host at Casa Rancho and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathonhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The stay at Alec´s place was like a dream from another world. You could spend the whole day without leaving the area - wonderful stylish kitchen, nicely decorated rooms and patios, swimming pool, terrace and kind helpful Alec is absolutely perfect combination for absolutely perfect vacation:-) Forget all the sterile hotels in Todos Santos because Casa Rancho has a soul and remarkable atmosphere...we can really really recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Myself, my wife and mother in law stayed with Alec @ Casa Rancho for a week in mid May of this year.
The property and accommodations are far better than advertised - we stayed in the Octagon with 2 rooms and the kitchen / dining area.
The rooms are comfortable and the kitchen is a cooks dream. We ate most breakfasts and dinners there. Inca and Machu (house dogs) are polite and loving - the stay has a very comfortable feel.
Alec is very friendly, honest and helpful. A damn good guy - Thank You Alec
We will be back soon -
PS. DO NOT come to the area without visiting La Esquina! It is on the left after you pass the grove.
Cheers Alec

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tobin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todos Santos, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Perfect for groups or singles. Out of the hustle and bustle of town so quiet and secluded but town is 5 minutes away. Really great amenities and grounds. Layed back atmosphere. I recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have access to kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We booked a last minute trip to Todos Santos and did not really shop around for a place to stay, but we were blown away with Casa Rancho! We spent a full week living on this beautiful property and loved every second of it.

The accomodations are simple, but all you need in Baja. Stunning sunset views, comfortable private rooms, and the kitchen was so much fun! We cooked most of our meals from local ingredients (we did most of our grocery shopping in Cabo and just bought a few things in town, but you could get everything you need in Todos Santos) and enjoyed eating them on the patio.

The Rancho is about a mile from the beach, but note that it is not a swimmable beach. HUGE waves. Worth checking out, but you will want a car to get to Las Palmas and Cerritos for swimming. I would recommend arriving during daylight as the dirt road directions are a little out of town and without street lights, could be challenging to find in the dark.

There are two new resident dogs at the Rancho. Very well behaved and friendly. They came with us on a beach walk and were fun to have around.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Note that rooms do not have A/C but we were very comfortable. Alec provides drinking water on site b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattleturtle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.4 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#3 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#2 of 13 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rancho

Property: Casa Rancho
Address: Las Brisas, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Rancho is a peacefully property with 3 self contained units set in extensive gardens and paths with a sparkling salt water swimming pool and surrounded by beautiful open desert. The archtecture is Mexican Ranch style with shady palapas and hammocks and a a special rustic Maxican Charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing