We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and I had a very peaceful and relaxing time at the Hacienda Cerritos. Our bungalow had a semi private pool and Jacuzzi out on the patio which we had all to ourselves for the first three nights (it’s shared with one other bungalow). We were in the north facing bungalow with views of rocky ocean coastline which was amazing! The sound of the waves crashing on the rocks, the heat and the quietness made for the most tranquil and beautiful getaway we have been on yet.

The sister resort Cerritos Beach Surf Colony was just a short walk away and had very delicious food, I tried their coconut shrimp and coconut lobster and it was the best coconut shrimp I’ve had yet, the lobster was a first. We ate there our first night by candlelight by the pool and the next time we ate there we had it ordered and delivered to us up at the Hacienda.
Vincent the bartender at the onsite palapa bar was great! He was very friendly and made some yummy margaritas and pina coladas that I loved. It was nice to be able to lounge about the pool or swim up to the bar and have drinks while relaxing and enjoying the sunset. The view from the Hacienda of the sunset was unmatched.

The hotel overall was very beautiful, the architecture was very unique, it does need some better upkeep, anything made of metal was rusty, railings, patio chairs and tables, even workout equipment in the gym, ocean air does that but to let it all go completely rusty?

There were only a handful of things I didn’t like during our stay:

• Initially I was not impressed with the cleanliness of the room since the floor had not been swept and there was broken glass on the countertop, it seems that they had not cleaned the room prior to our arrival, just made the bed and cleaned the bathroom. The next day I let the house cleaning woman know about the glass when she came to clean the room and she cleaned it up and swept the floor. I left her a tip the next day and she added a small flower arrangement to the room which was a very nice touch. The next day again I left a tip but it seems she only cleaned the bathroom because the floor was not cleaned at all.
• The pool and Jacuzzi on our patio were not quite clean, there was a lot of debris in both when we arrived on Saturday and I didn’t want to swim in either because of this. The main pool was very clean by contrast. Monday a guy came out and installed a new pump and cleaned the pool and then it was finally working properly with the filter going and the water filled all the way pouring into the pool from the Jacuzzi and chlorine put in the water, only then were we able to swim in it safely.
• The patio to the bungalows pool and jacuzzi is accessible via a hallway that runs between the two bungalows, so not just via the bungalow rooms, this is fine except it was a little annoying when random people come out to our patio to look at the view while we were relaxing out there (happened at least 4 times while we were there. It’s not that private in other words.

Also, there’s massages offered but they were expensive compared to the masseuse’s that set up right on the beach in front of the Cerritos Surf Club, I got a 1 hr deep tissue for $40 USD and she was very good. The food at the Surf club was very good too, we tried their fish and shrimp tacos and nachos and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Get the North bungalow it has an amazing view! Bring mosquito repellant for your room, they get ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilina808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    64
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
28
113
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The layout and design are wonderful. Unfortunately, the maintenance is seriously deficient. The Jacuzzi did not work in our bungalow for the entire 8 days we were there. We actually rented both of them on the north west side of the hotel. The air conditioner in our main room was broken for the entire time. The pool was only cleaned once, and was constantly under filled. The owner had the power turned off at midnight until 6 AM to save money... We were there during a tropical storm and it rained almost as hard in our rooms as it did outside. It is a shame that such a lovely place with such incredible views is falling apart. This is a relatively newly constructed building. I was told it was around 6 years old. What a shame!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and i, along with our best friends, went here for their 2nd annual food and wine festival. What an amazing treat !!! A few things to note here, the room we enjoyed was a huge suite that you could easily live in. We cannot wait to go back to this wonderful resort. The views from the drive in are great, but thenthe views from the entrance and the bedrooms are an absolute delight!! Along with 4 season maui, these 2 places exceed all others for the 2 of us. The rooms manager at Hacienda was a great man who upgraded us to a beautiful and roomy suite, and it was like paradise!! We never wanted to leave. On top of that, the food and wine and art was wonderful. Their food was a dream. The audience were all foodies and wine lovers with discerning taste, and the chefs came to delight. Thanks for such an amazing time. This will be on our to do list for each year. Todos Santos and Hacienda, we love you!!

Room Tip: We would live in our north suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We recently traveled to Todos Santos on a group trip and fell in love with the place! Our stay a this resort was absolutely a dream come true and my husband and I loved it! The hotel is an escape from the real world and had so much culture. The details of the resort were high end and the location was AMAZING. The beach at Cerritos was perfect and all I can say is, we will be back. This was our best trip yet.

Room Tip: Each of our friends had a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our first trip to Todos Santos and The Hacienda Cerritos on the ocean.We just returned from a 1 week stay for a group retreat with a group of our retired friends. First of all this is not a B & B as it has been misclassified. It is however an absolutely beautiful boutique resort operated by a charming staff. The decorations, and furnishing our absolutely charming and luxurious--authentic feel! If you are looking for non stop action with wild night life, casino, flat screen TV's and non stop fast paced action ----- this is not the place for you. It is authentic and off the main grid, it feels like a total getaway, which was perfect for our group of retirees.
Situated oceanfront overlooking the oceanscape from any way-- you will awake to sea birds fishing for their breakfast in the crashing waves. The afternoon was filled with watching surfers and people swimming & playing on the beach. The evenings, we spent cooking ad a group in the kitchen and dining with a perfect sunset.
Although ocean swimming in front of the resort is not recommended due to the cliff you are situated on, there is a pathway that leads directly to the sandy beach where they rent any supply to play in the water. We hear it is excellent whale watching (due to the severe and immediate drop off of the ocean's floor whales can be seen as close as 50 meters from the beach) and remarkable sunsets, but that is more in August.

Food at the resort was superb.Utilizing the freshest of local ingredients daily eliminates the need of of overdressing or saucing their simple but elegant culinary presentations. Perhaps the biggest surprise was the offering of excellent quality Mexican wines at a local shop. My wife and I enjoy wine daily with dinner and having no knowledge of Mexican wine-- we brought 6 bottles home to share with other friends who didn't make the trip.

Todos Santos is an art town and this was amazing, it is filled with galleries in town and beautiful art work is displayed around the resort. Rooms, restaurant and sunset deck are tastefully decorated with great pieces. The beautifully landscaped grounds additionally reflect the eye pleasing creation of this resort.

I could go on and on but I will simply say.. "If you are looking for tranquility in paradise with understated elegance and amenities provided by nature and an escape from the ordinary ----- this is the place for you"!

Room Tip: Each of our friends had a fun room , each tastefully decorated. I think every room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Please let me start saying that the Villa and the view are worth a visit alone (there is people driving from San Jose to do it...)
Unfortunately, as you will read on other reviews, there is practically no maintenance and this elegant building is falling apart.
The property is remote, accessible only by a dirt road, therefore you'll need a car and don't get it too nice; you'll be on the best beach of the whole Baja Pacific coast, sometimes swimmable, but usually freezing cold and hosting surfers more than swimmers...
There is no water duct nor electric and everything is on the spot, served daily by water trucks and energized by an old Diesel engine; the life of the bulbs is ridiculous and ... just stop replacing them, it won't help.
The rooms (Suites, 10 in total) are huge and sunny, with high ceilings, but poorly furnished and just fairly cleaned; we have not experienced bugs nor bad smells nor clogs, but they are promoting this place as a 5 star boutique resort and no offense, we are barely at 3 stars with no boutique...
You'll have to pay for the Wi-Fi which speed will be barely enough for reading e-mails and it is limited to 1 PC only.
Besides that, if you go on a groupon and pay 400 USD for 5 nights as we did...well that is what you'll get.
We came back after a great experience in 2012 at the surf colony, we were expecting them to have completed the project but we were absolutely disappointed; the potential is still great but they are not going in the right direction, sorry...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ccavaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
On behalf of Cerritos Beach Resorts I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are happy that you agree that the view ALONE is enough to make it worth your trip. We would have to agree with you that this is the best stretch of beach in all of Baja Pacific Coastline and are pleased you have visited us before in 2012 and liked it enough to return! However, we apologize for the unmatched satisfaction of your most recent trip. Your comments will be taken in high regard, as we are constantly striving to make our resorts the best experience for each and every guest that walks through our doors. Please feel free to reach us through our website for further correspondence. We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope you may reconsider and join us again on a future vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a remote location to relax and rejuvenate then this place is for you. It is so gorgeous. There are kitchens so you can prepare your own food or you can drive 15 min north and find restaurants in town. There is also a small restaurant next to it on the beach and another one at the Surf Colony next to it. There will not be anyone to wait on you hand and foot because this is a large house. It is well worth the stay if you like to be away from the crowds. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDSC0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
8.5 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
8.9 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
8.9 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Property: Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive luxury boutique hotel. Located on a private bluff, this peaceful and private destination is sure to make your visit magical. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach (world renown for exceptional surfing) is the perfect family vacation or solo hiatus paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing