We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful Escape from Reality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful Escape from Reality!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hacienda Cerritos in mid October of 2013. We were blown away by the beauty and tranquility of this establishment. Although the hotel is only five years old, the decor and the craftsmanship of the building made us feel as if we were vacationing in a secluded castle from the early 1900's. We purchased a deal online two years ago that cut the cost of our four night stay into pennies. Honestly, half the guests at this establishment paid full price and were more than happy to do so. We paid a fraction of what these other individuals paid and that made us even happier!

We stayed in a bungalow that overlooked the surf colony. We had a semi-private pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves. You share your pool/Jacuzzi with your neighbors, but we rarely ran into them. For the first couple of days, our Jacuzzi wasn't working, but it really didn't bother us much. Our A/C was ridiculously cold, but we loved it. Our room was comprised of three separate sections: the entry room or living room area, bedroom and bathroom.
The mattress on our King-size bed in our room was a little too hard for our liking.
The view is outstanding! !We were able to sit in our own personal pool and look over the cliff to watch the surfers. We experienced some of the best sunsets in our entire lives while staying here.
Disclaimer: If you are scared of June bugs, don't stay at the Hacienda Cerritos! They are everywhere and they will make their way into your room. We swept them out daily, but they always seemed to reappear the following day. Definitely not a deal-breaker for us though!

We will definitely be back!
Thanks Hacienda Cerritos for magical memories!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissalovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for sharing the photos, those are some great shots, it looks like you had a great time! We appreciate your review and thoughts on our resort. It sounds like you two were a great fit for our "off the grid" location. Please come back and join us again, or feel free to stay at one of other also located on Cerritos Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    64
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
28
113
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Cerritos Surf Colony one night, and the Hacienda the next....The villas at the Surf Colony were so close to the beach and I initially didn't want to leave the sand, but staying at the Hacienda just blew me away. It was grand and rustic, situated on the top of the cliffs, with such gorgeous decor that made me feel like royalty from ages ago. Huge living areas, kitchen, verandas, courtyard, etc with breathtaking views of the ocean made it the most unique hotel I've ever stayed at. We stayed in Bungalow 1 and 2 (huge, with a living area, huge bathroom with walk-in tile shower, kitchenette), which faced Cerritos Beach and we spent hours watching the surfers and rolling waves. We had a semi private pool (infiniti pool with jacuzzi) and I mean semi-private because it was on our patio but it was not blocked off to other sightseers who were touring the facility. Sitting in the infiniti pool and gazing onto the beach was one of most zen moments I've ever had! The main pool was gorgeous and well-kept, and has side "wings" so I was able to swim long laps from one end to another, getting a great workout.

The icing on the cake was that this hotel has a bookcase that opens up to a "secret" staircase which leads you to the top of the tower for an incredible panoramic view of the beach and cliffs. Be careful if you bring little kids up here as there is not a gate that surrounds the top of the spiral staircase. This hotel is better suited for older kids, not toddlers (I left my little ones home).

I agree that this hotel has minor maintenance issues but being on the cliffs and being constantly exposed to the elements, ongoing repairs are neccessary. It is definitely not a touristy resort with around the clock service and wild entertainment, but that's what I expected from a hotel that was very private and tranquil. The hotel provided fruits and coffee in the morning, but a quick hike down to the Cerritos Surf colony provided delicious meals, 3 x a day. Guests can use the main kitchen to cook (or arrange to hire a cook for your family/friends during your stay as I was told by the owner).

My one inexpensive upgrade request is to have the hotel provide white towels. Currently they are dark brown, and being very concerned about cleanliness, I thought white would be a better means of convincing the guests that they are clean.

I can't wait to come back! It is pure paradise (there is even a hut with 2 hammocks that provide awesome naps) .Forewarning: there is a unkempt, dirt road to get to the Hacienda so get ready for a little bumpy ride and try to drive in daylight on your initial drive there (we drove in the dark and kept thinking we were going the wrong way as some of the turnouts were unmarked).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are do pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like to were able to explore the Hacienda and find the unique attributes it offers..the hidden staircase it fun! We appreciate your understanding the elements of our location can be difficult to keep up with and can be unforeseen. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

and as the reviewer prior to mine said that it COULD be much nicer if kept up, had TVs, internet, a warm Jacuzzi and pool, and maybe some night time entertainment.

What a great view. HUGE rooms along with HUGE bathrooms and walk-in closets. A gem on the cast but you need a car to get across the couple miles of washboard dirt roads and take food with you. Bar is open with limited hours. Coffee and fruit were provided in the AM. Purchase through groupon or one of the other similar coupon sites. Would not pay full rate at all. Take reading material or go surfing just off the cliffs. A bar was located close and on the beach and within walking distance with a good menu, TVs, and internet access. They close at 6:30P though so anything after that was by car.

Room Tip: We had the South Suite which had a view towards the surf colony. I doubt you could go wrong with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I agree with several of the reviews. We were also walking into it wondering what we were getting ourselves into. However, we loved it. Better than any hotel I have ever stayed at! This is not for anyone who expects a five star resort. It is not. It is a 4.5 star resort that needs a little polishing. We loved our room, clean, kitchenette inside, huge shower and easy access to the kitchen). Our view was amazing! We had a bungalow room ( own pool and hot tub). The pool wasn't working when our neighbours arrived ( shared pool/tub) but they quickly had the hotel fix and get it running. The pool quickly became a hot tub as well:). We made due:). We utilized the Cerritos Surf Colony's pool most of the time. Great food there as well!
La Paz is ok. Stinky! Smells like exhaust. I would, when we return, spend most days ... All days ... Between Todo Santos and Cerritos! Why leave paradise? Oh... And the hammocks! A must sleep on! Check out the beach that no one ever uses on the right side of the resort! Super beautiful to watch the sunset ( happens in 5 mins ) with your honey:D.
All in all... Hacienda Cerritos is rustic... Beautiful.. Alive... Come live and experience a once in a lifetime resort! You won't regret it! PS... Don't venture to the time share beside Cerritos Surf Colony... They are a bunch of clowns!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirtyGirlQB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really want to give this place 5 stars but it is not quite there. The location and views are outstanding and with a few extra touches and some major maintenance it would be perfect.

I understand that major maintenance is costly and they have had to drop their prices significantly since we first looked at this property several years ago. However some minor relatively cheap updates would go a long way. All the bed linens and towels were dark brown. I prefer white linens so I can see that they are clean. In addition the sheets were stained with bleach and even had holes in places. It would have been nice for beach towels to be provided without asking ( the ones we did get where old and stained ). Our room had a kitchenette but it was not stocked with glasses or utensils. We had to raid one of the main kitchens which was not a big deal, but it would be nice to have the basics in your room. Mosquito nets would be nice as they get in to the rooms easily with the gaps around the doors and we were badly bitten despite trying to use repellent. We had a table and chairs on our patio but it was not until the last night that they gave us cushions and a candle. The jacuzzi was not working.

Some information in the rooms about the local area/restaurants would have been nice as you find often have in hotels.

There was a problem with air conditioning when we arrived and we had to stay in a terrace suite on our first night. These rooms are much warmer because they are upstairs and the tops of the windows are not covered so beware if you like to sleep in the dark.

For the rest of our stay we were in Bungalow 3 on the North Side. The view is spectacular and the patio shaded most of the day if you like to get out of the sun. One thing to be aware of is that although the website lists each Bungalow as having a 'Private' pool and Jacuzzi that it not the case.You do share with the adjacent Bungalow.Not what I would consider 'Private'. Not necessarily an issue but it does depend on your neighbors. Unfortunately we had some young surfers who were partying until 1am and the sound really carries from the patio in to the rooms.Not what we expected here but maybe a consequence of having to drop their prices so low ?

On the whole we had a wonderful time. I loved the remoteness of it and the views and beach are amazing. We even saw some whales from our patio !

It's just those little touches that would make it perfect ( and some major maintenance down the road )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoogirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our third stay at the Hacienda and yes, there will be a fourth !!!! On this trip, we stayed at the Cerritos Surf Colony the first week and the Hacienda the second week. I have to admit that the last couple of days of our stay at the Surf Colony (beach fron unit) I was a bit bummed about "havimg to move" up to the Hacienda for the final week. Once at the Hacienda, it did not take long for that all to disappear. The granduer and the charm of this house dispel all concerns.

Yes as with the Surf Colony, there are things that are not perfect. There are bugs (and unfortunately no screens on the sliding doors, this would be a recommended improvement), the pool had some filtration issues that were being fixed and the electricity and water occasionally go out. Annoyances, but not show stoppers. Nicki is now the new manager of the facility and as she did at the Surf Colony, you can already she her working to improve any issues. Remembering that it is Mexico and problems are dealt with "tomorrow" while today is being enjoyed is a must and once you take on that approach things appear much better.

Our stay turned out to be wonderful once again. The openness of the house, grounds and amazing pool area view allowed us to meet and befriend many other visitors, but avoid them if solitude was desired. Most folks had the same opinions of the negatives and simply went with the flow as did we. The payback for the cost is far superior. I am so very happy that we found this place a couple years ago and will most certainly return again and again.

Room Tip: We prefer the south side with views of Cerritos Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for all the great photos you added! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and have continued to a loyal guest…we will see you for trip #5 !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

It is truly stunning. 180 degree ocean views and one amazing Margarita. I'd love to try staying here sometime, as the architecture and views were unbelievable and it had great proximity to one of the best swimmable beaches in Baja Sur. a must see!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AddySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
8.5 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
8.9 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
8.9 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Property: Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive luxury boutique hotel. Located on a private bluff, this peaceful and private destination is sure to make your visit magical. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach (world renown for exceptional surfing) is the perfect family vacation or solo hiatus paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing