We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went there on a voucher we had purchased a couple years ago. We asked for one of the bungalows (bungalow 3) with a semi private pool/jacuzzi. Since it was on the north side, we had the most amazing sunsets. Bungalow 4 (the one next to us) was slightly bigger but I liked 3 better! Now I absolutely love staying at out of the way places and frankly I hate crowds, though my husband loves being in the crowd. We were there for 4 nights and I loved waking up to the sound of the waves crashing below and being able to sleep either outside or with the sliding doors open. The air conditioning was loud and didn't work that well. The towels were not fluffy and soft but were like towel from home and the beach towels were not that great. Also the bed was not the most comfortable but again for me personally I didn't care. I was away from the crowds and basically had the semi private pool to myself except for the night that a family showed up with a bunch of kids. This hotel should be just for adults in my opinion. There isn't anything really in the way of amenities, there is no restaurant but a quick walk to the neighboring sister property is not far plus there is another restaurant in between. Prices are quite high but you could stop at either the walmart, costco, SAMs club, or other grocery store on your way and buy some groceries. We went to a market in Todos Santos and bought some chips, salsa, bread, peanut butter, jelly, coffee, creamer, soda, cookies, and wine. Now that we've been there we will stop and get some pizzas and lasagnas to cook in the oven. Since I went with the intention of doing NOTHING it was great for me. I explored the town one day, went horse back riding another day. I also had a massage on my patio that was wonderful, but $95. The girl told me to go down to the beach and she could do it there for $50, which I totally did (and it's an hour massage)! But mostly I sat on my patio reading, relaxing, and eating. Priscilla and Ariana were both absolutely wonderful. I'm hoping to go back again in September.

Room Tip: Bungalows 1,2,3,4 have semi private pools/jacuzzi. 1 and 4 are the bigger ones and 2 and 3 slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veronica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for the detailed review. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy the laid back atmosphere of our resort. We also appreciate the mention of staff members, it is nice to know specific team members that providing great customer service. Please come back and join us, it will be even better the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

First off I love this hotel . The views are amazing , the room we had was amazing and the weather was perfect. You do feel like you are living in a private mansion when you are there . We stayed for 5 nights and a few of those nights i think we were there by ourselves. There is a pool bar that is open during the day , I think til about 7 (?) . We were usually out touring so not sure. There is not much to do out in Cerritos beach area after dark. You are really pretty far from Cabo center of town where things are open later . Even Todos Santos closes at dinner time. The restaurants are open but not the shops. There is a sister hotel on the beach at Cerritos with 1 restaurant , kinda a far walk but it is on the beach so a nice walk. You will need a car !! The drive way to the Hacienda is long and unpaved, very dusty and bumpy.
We watched the surfers in the morning while getting ready for our day exploring . You can hear and see waves crashing against the rocks below. This is truly an amazing place .
So here is the bad ......
They are trying to be a five star boutique hotel. The nightly price will reflect that.
Some(most) rooms have no tvs. A couple who were there when we were left 2 days early because the air conditioning was not working in there room. There is a horizon pool on the second floor that had no water in it. We had 2 towels , no wash cloths or hand towels. The towels you do get have bleach marks on them, same with the sheets on the bed, bleach marks.
No phones in the rooms either. Kitchenette had a small fridge and a micro wave , ours didn't work. No ceiling light , just a lamp on the fridge that was not very bright. No utensils for the kitchen in our room , had to borrow from the main kitchen area.LADIES- lighting in the bathroom is not good, you will need a small hand mirror or compact to apply your makeup near the window. Bathroom is LARGE/GRANDE but the lighting is far above your head. They do have someone at the front office to try to help you but they really can't do much . They did however hire a new manager named Carlos . He was great , very helpful even though he was only there for 5 days when we arrived. I think he will try to turn things around here. Carlos made our visit very nice, I wish him the best.
Overall I would give this hotel a chance , it is storybook beautiful and very relaxing . With not much else to do around there you really don't have a choice but to relax . I will be going back again in Feb to whale watch.

Room Tip: we had the north side master suite , watched the surfers south side is the sunset side with no peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnamarieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

"Storybook beautiful" is a great description, thank you for that. We are please that our new staff are working hard to give the best service they van. New sheets and towels arrived this week, we apologize for anything that was not satisfactory during your stay. We are so appreciative that you were able to see the true beauty of our resort. Thank you for your tips :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have stayed many times, because we love the grandeur estate feel and marvel at the architectural style. Most times you feel like you are the only one there basking in the serenity of the warm ocean breeze. If that is all you want for your money, then it is worth it. IF you are looking for a professional ran establishments, then that will be the tipping point of not getting your money's worth. We showed up and our room was given away to someone who wanted to stay an extra night. Most hotels would of moved that guest to another room or the beach colony. The price does seem to flexuate. We made a reservation on a coupon one time, and then they wouldn't honor it. There is no real direction given about the services or amenities of the house. It is a house, so no room service. It is a shared kitchen if you want to make something, but stuff is slowly disappearing, so I think they are trying to discourage that. The bartenders always seem very personable and nice, but it is American prices for the drinks. It's worth a trip out to see, and it depends of what you expect on how worth it is to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank asharprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You should definitely grab a drink at the bar during your stay in Todos Santos, but that's all. The views are amazing but the amenities for the cost are sorely lackiing.

The Hacienda boasts luxury but its really anything but. There is no guest services at the hacienda. When we arrived, we had reserved 2 extra beds for our room for our kids. When we arrived despite confirming with them 3 times before arrival, we only had 1 extra twin bed for BOTH of my kids to sleep in. The bed was suppose to be $10 a day extra. However, at check in they informed me their policy had changed (with no notice to us!) to $50 a day.

The hotel manager showed us our room, but that was it. No information on how the place worked. We had to ask other guests to find out that there was coffee in the morning provided, that we could use the pool at the surf colony, where to order food (there is no restaurant at this hotel) and about the community frig.

The kitchen is sorely lacking in pots and pans, no cheese grader, to utensil. All the no stick pans were very scratched up so you are pretty much eating teflon with your food. Again there is no restaurant so people use this kitchen a lot.

Our sheets had holes in the them and our towels had bleach stains. For a hotel claiming luxury, I would expect more.

Also, 4 out of the 6 days all hot tubs were broken. The hotel manager did not seem very concerned or in a hurry to fix this for the guests.

For the cost of this hotel, I expect more attention to details and better information given to the guests. Whenever, I went to the office to gather some information they always seemed annoyed and put out.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Please contact us at 503-587-5034, we would like to speak with you about your stay. We did just order new sheets, towels, and supplies for the resort. We sincerely apologize for any lack of amenities you experienced during your stay. However, we are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the out of the world views and overall serenity of Hacienda. Thank you kindly for taking time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First off, this property is amazingly beautiful and way off the beaten path. The architecture and building layout is stunning and extremely well thought out providing numerous means of relaxing and enjoying the Baja sun and cool breezes whether chilling out by the pool, on the beach, on your room's balcony or terrace or swinging in the hammocks in the little grass covered hut next to the property (you have to check out the hand carved posts).

The rooms are beautiful with thick wooden doors and hand made wood furnishings including leather inlaid head boards and chairs. It seems like a step back in time to another era. The rooms are also spacious and the tiling in the bathrooms with open showers is phenomenal.

The main areas are extremely beautiful with colorful tiling, a wide open floor plan and really cool furnishings and art. A curved staircase with inlaid tile takes you up to the second floor rooms and the access stairway to the bell tower. There is a main great room, two common kitchens, a party room, a small exercise room and a couple of game rooms including one with a billiards table.

Half-way between Cabo and La Paz you drive off the main road and travel a bumpy dirt road for about 5 minutes to get to the hotel so this is a truly a place off the beaten path. You are in a location where you can really unplug so don't expect any TV although the rooms do have TV's but they are mainly for DVD watching which you can rent at the main office or bring your own. Wi-Fi is available but accessibility can be spotty so you may need to walk around to find a hot spot (if you really, really have to maintain contact with the outside world. My suggestion--take advantage of the opportunity to free yourself from the digital leash).

There is no restaurant on-site although there is one available just off the beach at the surf club. We viewed this as a positive since it gives you the opportunity to explore some fascinating local dining establishments in Pescadero and Todos Santos, especially Todos Santos. Both are within 5 to 10 minute drives once you hit the main highway and both have a preponderance of excellent restaurants from small places frequented by locals to fancy ones geared to tourists. My wife and I would drive in for breakfast and then again for dinner in the evening. The hotel has refrigerators either in-room or available in common areas if you want to load up on snacks for in-between meals or late night munchies. The hotel also served fresh fruit in the mornings but the frequency seemed spotty and something we learned not to depend on, at least the 4 nights we stayed back in February.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating as were the locals we came in contact with. Their recommendations for dining was spot on. We had several terrific meals and a lot of fun at a little open front restaurant in Todos Santos I believe was named Alma and Manny's. If you go, look it up. It's on a side street and a little difficult to find but very well worth it.

The beach is fine, on par with Florida beaches on the Gulf Coast, and is a good surfing location for surfing novices. There are also horses for rent for beach riding. The views are excellent, especially from the bell tower in the morning as the sun rises over the mountains.

Oh, yeah! I can't forget the cat! There are twin cats on the premises, one more friendly than the other and they enjoy spending time and even the night with guests. We had one stay with us one night and it was a real pleasure.

In summary, this is a beautiful, classy place to get away from it all and have time to yourself to unwind, decompress and let the world get by without you (and you, it) for just a little while.

Room Tip: The value is excellent if you get a deal through Groupon or other discount service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HabeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Understated elegance is the first description that comes to mind after our trip last week. This is not the “cookie cutter” JW Marriott or Hilton resort that so many people are used to from business travel. It should be renamed the real Hotel California. Only 10 rooms and we felt we were the only ones there. It’s like you are living in your own private mansion with two giant kitchens to use with countless dining rooms and endless views of the ocean and beach to match. We stayed in Bungalows 3 and 4 and saw beautiful sunsets each night sitting in our private hot tub/infinity pool. Ariianiitha and Priscilla made us feel at home and helped with any questions about the area we had. BTW … don’t forget to find the hided stair case to the tower. You will find a book case on the north side on the second floor. Just push on it to open and climb up the stairs. It’s a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you can appreciate the attraction of the Hacienda. Isn't it great that you are able to roam around and feel like it's your own private mansion. It never feel crowded. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Haccienda Cerritos, the views from all rooms are spectacular. From one side you see the beach & all the beach activity & check the surf, from the other side you get the beautiful rocky Pacific view of the crashing waves & spectacular sunsets. The architecture is beautiful, like and old Mexico haccienda, huge carved fireplaces ( non functioning) Mexican tile work, large open spaces yet quiet and you feel like your in a huge private home.
The rooms are huge, only 10 of them. We were in bungalow 2 with a large (shared with bungalow 1) patio, jacuzzi & sm pool.
It does appear the place could use a little attention, the linens were faded, railings very rusted (think ocean air) fans need replacing..but it was very clean.
I did wish they had a sm restaurant on sited, or have a chef come in and prepare limited meals from the huge beautiful communal kitchen. Otherwise it's a sandy beach road to town to lots of great restaurants.
The staff was very friendly & helpful...

Room Tip: Specify if you want beach or rocky coast view.. Bring some food with with, well equip communal kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickie94502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
8.5 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
372 reviews
8.9 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
277 reviews
8.9 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
476 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: £318 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive boutique hotel that is located on a private bluff right on Cerritos Beach. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach is world renowned for exceptional surfing and is the perfect destination for a family vacation or solo hiatus in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing