We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming with Whale Sharks”

La Sirena Eco-Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco-Adventures of a Lifetime!, Swim with Whale Sharks, Kayak n Snorkel Tours, Fishing Charters, Sea Turtle Voluntourism, Whale Watching and guided hikes into the Sierra de la Laguna Biosphere Reserve. Contact us to plan your next Baja adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swimming with Whale Sharks”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When I returned to work after visiting Todos Santos, I was most excited to tell my friends and co-workers about the whale sharks I saw. When we went to La Paz I knew it was going to be an experience, but I wasn't prepared for their beauty, grace, and breathtaking size. The whole day was a blast! Even those who didn't get into the water had a great time and good views of the gorgeous white speckled red creatures. Those 30 feet long gentle sharks are certainly worth seeing. The trip was arranged by Francesca; she and her friend Ira, were a wealth of information about the marine life and area, and took good care of us.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An animal lovers delight!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic time swimming with whale sharks- watching them feed and staring in awe at their sheer size. The trip was well organized, affordable, and the most memorable part of our trip to Todos Santos. Unlike other operators we saw chasing down the whale sharks, they put the health and safety of these amazing creatures first. The animals seemed to respond by swimming toward us and giving us a thrilling experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Nice People”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a whale watching trip through La Sirena and were not able to complete it during our visit because of high surf, but we did want to offer a review because the owner, Francesca, went over and above in helping us. On the eve of the first postponement she emailed us at our house in Todos Santos to let us know about the situation and that we would need to change dates. We met her at her house and she led us to Punta Lobo and introduced us to our guides. Following the second postponement we couldn't reschedule because half of our party was leaving town the following morning. She willingly refunded our money. We appreciated working with her and will definitely book through her again when we return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IowaTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hiking in the Sierra de la Laguna”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We called Francesca at La Sirena Eco-Adventures to arrange for a hike in the Sierra de la Laguna biosphere reserve. Normally we would plan hikes on our own but this area was far enough from main roads that we weren't confident of being able to get in and out without a local guide.

Francesca set us up with Ira Nevious, who turned out to be an excellent guide. He took us into the reserve in his four wheel drive truck over unmarked, rutted, rocky, dirt roads that our rental car could never have negotiated and then led us on a delightful hike through the mountains, stopping to talk to old and hospitable friends of his among the scattered rancheros who live in the reserve. The trail wound up and down, scrambling over rocks while Ira pointed out and identified the local plants and animals.

We had a great time and, on our way out, picked up some of the litter that thoughtless visitors had left, leaving the park a better place than when we came in. Ira and Francesca also invited us to a baby turtle release and we followed them to the beach where turtle nests had been collected and protected from the gulls and other predators and where a batch of newly hatched turtles were released on the shore to crawl into the sea. On one level, watching baby turtles slowly crawl towards the sea on a dark beach is not a dynamic sight. But on another level we were witnessing and participating in a rather remarkable biological event.

We had a great time and heartily recommend this outing to those who like hiking and want to experience the natural beauty of Baja California.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour group in baja”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Well worth a trip to Todos Santos just to tour with this group. Much better than anything else around, all tours are scheduled whenever fits your schedule. The tour guides are locals and experts on the area, and will take you just about anywhere you want to go! I did a kayak tour, jumped off the kayaks for a snorkel, went to swim up close and personal with some whale sharks, and went on a hike through the mountains to get a great view of the coast, and took a surfing lesson- all with this tour group. They provide all they equipment you need, and are the best and cheapest way to see the area and make some new friends! You could spend a week just taking all the trips this group has to offer and there would still be more to do! So if your in the area, or need a break from Cabo, definitely take a tour with this group!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sirena Eco-Adventures also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to La Sirena Eco-Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing