We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”
Review of Posada La Poza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada La Poza
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently for eight nights and were so pleased that we will definitely be going back. This is a jewel of a place, decorated very invitingly, inside and out and comfortable in every way. The landscaped gardens make for pleasant pathways to and from the hotel in common areas, rooms and swimming pool.
The host, Juerg, and hostess, Libusche, are respectively, a talented chef and artist. The meals were delicious and Libusche's abstract art work is displayed throughout the hotel areas and in the rooms. Juerg and Libusche were both welcoming and helpful with all our needs. They went out of their way to make your stay pleasant.
The reason we think of Posada as a "Diamond in the Rough" is because it is at the end of a long twisting dirt road, out of the way on the ocean. The bumpy dirt trek is well worth the "adventure"!

Mundy's
Roanoke, VA

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monikamundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    18
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
53
217
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
153 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Posada is a fabulous place to stay to get a feeling of getting away from all the hustle of life!
The owners started from scratch and have created a private, artistic paradise. The desert gardens are amazing. The entire Posada is decorated with original art by one of the owners. The pool is just lovely and the food is great. We stayed for four nights and were sad to leave!

Room Tip: Even the least expensive rooms here are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Posada la Poza was a total pleasure! The setting is lovely with beautiful gardens and pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The hosts are hands on - attending to all requests promptly and providing any needed information.
The restaurant and upper deck are comfortable with fresh delicious food. And, they make the word's best margaritas!! Don't forget to try one!!
We look forward to returning next year. Don't miss this wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Sadly our itinerary only allowed 2nights in this paradise, not enough by far. Charming host and hostess, excellent food and cocktails, manicured desert/tropical gardens, everything tastefully designed. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, great views including whales breaching at sea! All our needs catered for by attentive staff. Cannot recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Todos Santos is a friendly, artsy, and relaxed place. Because it is two kilometers inland, I checked out Pozada La Poza, the only hotel right on the little sweet water laguna, just behind the beach.

As it turned out, I was very lucky that I got a room (the owners made a spare studio available as they were already fully booked). This place is a true gem, and the three days I spent there were a highlight of my Baja trip, accommodation wise.

La Poza is set in a beautiful, perfectly maintained garden of local plants. The hotel is modern and tastefully decorated.

Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, a small outdoor gym, table tennis, boats at the laguna, hammoks under palms; breezy roof terrace, shaded patio, lounge with a unique fireplace, a well-equipped bar, comfortable restaurant, good espresso: Although it is just a small hotel, it's got it all.

The owners take extraordinary care of every detail. They are very welcoming but unobtrusive. The personnel is friendly and helpful.

The food is truly excellent and based on very fresh ingredients. I loved their seafood, but since the owners are from Switzerland, you could also get a Cordon Bleu or Züri Gschnätzlets mit Röschti, should you crave for it.

Although there is already enough to explore on your own in walking distance from the hotel, Todos Santos Ecoadventures (tosea.net) have their base near the hotel.

Brief, Pozada La Poza would make for a destination on its own in Baja.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We don’t normally write up our travel experiences, but after returning from Todos Santos and spending six lovely days, we felt inclined to inform others of this veritable oasis along the Pacific Coast of the Baja peninsula. The hosts (Lili and Juerg) are as lovely and accommodating as others have noted, the gardens and tropical setting have been meticulously maintained, the rooms spacious and clean, and the food served at the El Gusto restaurant is terrific, often a fusion of European and Mexican tastes. The magic of Todos Santos (Pueblos Magicos) was most evident at Posada La Poza.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed a week in January 2014 at this exquisite paradise on the coast outside of Todos Santos. Lili and Jeurg are gracious and meticulous hosts who attend to your every wish. What a pleasure it was compared the main town. The grounds are gorgeous and exactly as shown on the website. The artful details everywhere delight the eye. From our upper terrace we overlooked the pool and beautiful palms and native plants with the ocean as backdrop. After various mini day trips to surf beaches and the surrounding ex pat neighborhoods we'd return to this oasis. Some days we didn't leave but just walked along the beach or around the immediate area and then lazed by the pool. We had several lunches and dinners - all were creative and delicious, much better than what we had anywhere else. Our stay here was unforgettable.

Room Tip: For an ocean view you must be on an upper floor but even on the lower you'll see beautiful groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
1.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#3 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#2 of 13 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Poza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Poza

Property: Posada La Poza
Address: Camino a la Poza 282 | Col La Poza, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada La Poza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet boutique hotel, restaurant El Gusto! on site with full bar and whale deck, heated saltwater pool and saltwater spa, beautiful tropical and desert gardens, the only hotel on the beach, birdwatching, retreat and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Posada La Poza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Poza Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing