We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Todos Santos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Pedrito Surf Hotel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing spot”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I ventured down to Mexico solo to learn how to surf so was looking for something economical but also on the beach. A hard find most of the time. But the second I saw the website i knew I had found my spot!

This place is EXACTLY as the website portrays it. Laid back, right on the beach, friendly dogs, outdoor bbq space, amazing sunsets. It had it all. I also happen to hit it on the shoulder of peak season so got my room for $40/night. Yes, that is not a misprint!!

Since I was staying alone I was a little weery but the manager was usually around and I always felt safe. There is a surf break walking distance from the hotel but it is more advanced. The beach is steep so swimming can be a bit dodgy...I would recommend heading south to some more tame spots. Regardless, it was amazing and you can walk/run on the beach for miles.

There is a full kitchen in each unit which also allows for more cost savings. I went to the local fishing beach on Day 2 and got enough fish for a week for $8!

A really magical spot.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zeusdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This little group of casitas on the relatively undeveloped stretch of beach south of Todos Santos is a tiny bit of backpacker heaven. Our host, Avi, was very helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area. We had an itty-bitty studio, which was just perfect for our needs. Comfortable bed to crash in when we weren't out wandering the landscape. We got adopted by the small group of dogs that live at the hotel: Chico Bandito, Izzy, and Tom. Chico (so named because of his tendency to hide favorite guests shoes to keep them from leaving) would lay outside our door at night, and the gang would join us for our meals overlooking the beach. We really miss you, Chico! Only one day back in the US, and we really miss the whole experience. El Pescador is a little slice of heaven, and we hope to return soon. This is a place for travelers, not tourists. It's just the bare necessities one needs to feel at home away from home (well, it has a pool table, too... so that's pretty cool). So, pack your bags, grab some grub to cook and tequila to sip, and prepare to relax at SPSH.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFrantasticTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My Fiance, myself and two friends stayed at San Pedrito Apr 28 to May 4. Our original intention was to stay for three nights and then move onto Los Barriles. After day two, we decided to extend our stay for 6 nights.

A couple of things about this place -
1. You must book online two weeks prior. If not, you are subject to drive up rates, which are different from the online rates. You can not call the hotel to confirm what the rates are. This is all very clearly explained on their website.
2. Signage is scarce in Baja. There is only one sign off the highway, south of Pemex Gas Station. Once you turn off here its a zig-zag dirt road with maybe 2 more signs showing you where to go. We got lost trying to find it the first time. Also the approach for the road of the highway is not paved. Expect a drop off. (We suggested to the manager that the sign should be moved to the Baja Beans turnoff, as its safer and a better road)
3. During the off/low season the manager does not stay on site. He doesnt live far, and walks to the hotelito at least a half dozen times a day to check on everything/body. However it is kind of disconcerning when you show up to check in and there is no one there. They do provide a two-way radio for you to contact him, with direction on how to use the radio.
4. There are number of different type of rooms. Two rooms are for groups/families and Five rooms are for single/double occupany. All rooms come with a working kitchen and bathroom. We stayed in Casita #7, which sleeps up to 7 people.

We arrived during the low season, and therefore the hotelito was not full, nor were the surrounding properties. The beach was practically deserted, except for the few people who run along the beach and surfers. The beach is clean; the surf is a little rough. This beach known for surfing more than swimming. There are beaches that are not hard to get to that have better swimming such as Cerritos and Las Palmas. Supposedly you can also swim at Punta Lobos, but I wouldnt recommend it because it is where the local fishermen go for commercial fishing and the sand is very deep, making even walking to the water a challenge.

The low season manager, Avi, is all about customer service. He went above and beyond from the first ten minutes of us being there for one of our friends, working out a solution to a major problem. It definately caused him some headache to do it, but we are all grateful to him. Avi is a honest and caring employee, making sure we had everything we needed and running to get us anything we requested. He was also able to connect us with a fishing tour operator that took us out of Punta Lobos instead of us travelling across the peninsula to SL/SJ or Los Barriles. He introduced us to Baja Beans and gave us directions to find mercados (grocery stores) in Todos Santos. The whole time we were there we kept saying to ourselves, "wow, Avi is awesome." All in all, he was a rockstar!

The hotel is 3km from the highway in El Pescadero. There are no restaurants or shopping within walking distance. (unless you think 3km is walking distance) We stopped in San Lucas for groceries the first night before arriving and then did the rest of our shopping in Todos Santos over the course of the week. Note that all of the meat sold in the mercados in El Pescadero & Todos Santos is frozen. But there is a little mercado on Obregon and Rangel in Todos Santos that makes its own tortillas. mmm mmm mmm. I miss them already. (PS - the famed Hotel California is in Todos Santos)

Room Tip: Book online on their website for the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiannakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

San Pedrito's location is great if you have a car and the swell is good at the surf break right in front of it. It is right on the beach and has beautiful views. That said there are other newer similarly priced places close by I would go to if I went back. Our room was really clean for being in bad need of updating. We didn't get clean towels, made up beds, or any sort of room straightening in our 3 day stay, which when you are right on the beach tracking in sand, is a nice thing. There are no restaurants or groceries close by, so if you don't have a car you could be pretty hard up. Andy, the manager, was super nice though and the proximity to the beach is great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennypn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPSHotelOwner, Owner at San Pedrito Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
It is disappointing when a guest does not take the opportunity to read the information that we send to them. Also, our website has well organized, current information about our hotel and our area of Baja California Sur.

We feel that this review is unfair, because this reviewer did not inform themselves using the information that we provided.

Each email, along with our "Policies" page on our website states: Our hotel is "Condo Style" there is an extra charge of $20.00 per day for daily maid service; otherwise linens will be changed on the forth day of your stay.

I have checked with our Manager and no recent guests made any request for daily maid service and made no complaints to him. This reviewer stated that they stayed for three days.

Our prices are lower than any of the other beachfront accommodations in our area. Sure, there are others who are "NOT" beachfront that may be less expensive. But then, you will not be staying on the beach. Every guest must make that determination for themselves.

It is also obvious that this reviewer is comparing us to a much more expensive property close by. It is an unrealistic expectation to require our hotel to compare with one that charges a heck of a lot more. Our home page states: We are genuinely a retreat hotel with simple, safe, clean rooms and comfy beds!

We do have current and accurate picture slide shows for each room, so that our guests know what our room interiors look like.

We also have multiple maps to show where we are located and how far we are from restaurants and other services like grocery stores & gas stations. Our "Car Rental Information" web page States: Virtually all of our San Pedrito Surf Hotel guests rent a car in either San Jose del Cabo or La Paz, Mexico to travel to our hotel. There are no taxis waiting at the bus stop in the tiny town of El Pescadero and it would be approximately a mile and a quarter to our hotel from there. We are located down the dirt road toward the beach; please use the navigation links to see the map to our hotel on our web site.

This reviewer did state that their room was "really clean" and they stated that it was "in bad need of updating", however this is very subjective! We want to keep our prices as affordable as possible and still provide a simple, clean and comfortable place to stay as an alternative to the much higher priced properties close by.

And we do have the best Manager in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Awesome stay!! It was interesting getting to the place because of the long dirt road, most roads in that area are dirt, but the signs made it simple to navigate to the surf hotel. It was warm and sunny when we got there and the surf was pumping. The rooms were clean and comfy, i loved the old school cozy look of the cabinas. They cool in the day and warm at night. The small staff was real friendly and the place was well kept. I bought a great board from Andy (Hotel Manager) and was able to get some solid surf in between relaxing on the giant sandy beach of san pedrito. It was nice and quiet around the hotel at night with local events in the towns nearby. Pool and barbecue at night within view and ear shot of the ocean. Got fresh coconuts from trees in the yard, fresh fish from the guy in the red truck, fresh veggies and fruits from the local market nearby, all within easy access from the hotel, Andy knows all!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samwelltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This place is hands down awesome - for the money, I can't imagine a better place to stay. My girlfriend and I spent a week at SPSH in mid December, and it totally exceeded our expectations. It's got to be the most bang for your buck if you're looking to chill, eat some chronic local food, and drink beers by the beach (which is only 20 steps or so from your casita). This IS NOT the place to be if you're looking to party all night, etc., but then again, if you're looking for a vacation in Todos Santos/Pescadero, I imagine that's not high on your priority list.

There's something in the area for everyone too - from all levels of surf break to beachside pampering at Cerritos, to the "bohemian" town of Todos Santos just 10 km north (gotta get tacos and churros from the stands there), you could spend a month here and never get bored. Having said that, my favorite moments were spent at the surf hotel - waking up with the sun, making coffee in our kitchenette, and having breakfast on the patio overlooking the beach at SPSH; bodysurfing in the break right outside; playing pool in La Oficina; hangin with Tomas, Chico and "Monkey" (the hotel's three resident dogs); watching the sunset from the patio just before making dinner; and making friends with the various characters that stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crushnitdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Spent 10 days mid December with my wife for a surf trip to San pedrito. The Waves showed up for only half the trip bt it was amazing nonetheless. Andy is a great host and his three adorable dogs are there day and night to keep you company. The Hotel is clean and perfect for a couple or a family getaway. Help was always available with where to shop for food, eat out and anything else you might need. The nightlife is non existant with the exception of a few small local bars in Todos Santos and just about everything else is closed just after sundown. Opening hours for stores and restorants are a crapshoot at best and closing hours are even more confusing. The general rule of thumb is as soon as it's dark shops close to save on electricity.Make sure to try the taco stands where the locals eat, those tend to be the least expensive and from our experience ussually the best food.

As for surfing; The surf lineup is empty most days and the few people out there are locals and expats that tend to be in their retirement years and are only too happy share the waves. When the point is going off and serious swell hits look for most of the young local tallent to show up early, but just about everyone out there welcome a new face and even beginners were welcomed with no complaints. Bring your own boards and don't expect to see much in the way or surf shops as Todos santos is too far out and has nothing other than a few small trailer shops that they have on the nearby beach of Cerritos. Renting is not a problem for beginners but more advanced surfers won't find much in the way of boards. That being said Andy has now ammased a nice little collection of 12+ boards and bags (second hand )that he sells right in the hotel. Anywhere from $50 to $200 for some nice if slightly used boards.

If you're looking for the craziness of the Cabo nightlife and all night drinking, look elsewhere. San pedrito is an amazing spot to surf, kick back, enjoy a beer and an epic sunset and then fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. Definitely one of the best places I've stayed, and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

If one recommendation, make sure to drive there during daylight as finding the place at night is not fun. The signs on the highway are hard to see (along with the cows and donkeys that seem to congregate in the middle of the road ) after sun-down and the highway itself was under major construction. Sections ranged from 4 lane highway to single lane gravel roads, to some interesting lane changes into oncoming traffic for sections at time. Again daylight will make this a million times easier.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackandBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pedrito Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedrito Surf Hotel

Property: San Pedrito Surf Hotel
Address: Todos Santos, Mexico (Formerly Casa Cyrene)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Pedrito Surf Hotel, formerly Casa Cyrene on playa San Pedrito, Ocean Front vacation rentals at the world famous San Pedrito surf break Located 40 minutes north of Los Cabos and 10 minutes from Todos Santos art community. The only ocean front hotel in the area! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing