We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest part of our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortugueros Las Playitas

Tortugueros Las Playitas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We welcome tourist participation in Sea Turtle conservation activities throughout the year in Todos Santos. Our program includes: Sea Turtle habitat protection, hatchling release, nest rescue and incubation, environmental education and community outreach. There are Volunteer opportunities for all ages! Individuals, families and school groups are invited to participate. We thank you for participating in our Eco-Tours which help improve sustainable fisheries in Baja!
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Coolest part of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was so beautiful to watch, I cried. I love turtles and this was by far the coolest part of our trip. My husband, who doesn't care about turtles as much, also loved it. It made our long trip to Todos Santos completely worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    15
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have fun and Help Save the Turtles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Tortugueros Las Playitas (TLP) is a small nonprofit working to help the Turtles survive, specially the Leatherback.

They offer ecotours: sea kayaking, hiking, etc. and especially volunteer opportunities for people interested in helping protect and preserve the local Sea Turtle populations.

Visit Todos Santos and stay with TLP at their cozy La Sirena casitas and participate in a once in lifetime, or more, opportunity to help the turtles.

The large and giant sea turtles are an integral part of the Earth. We cannot afford to let them go extinct.

Working with TLP is a lovely, exciting and beautiful experience for children of ALL AGES... a "must do" when visiting Todos Santos, Baja CA Sur.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Coolest thing I did in Baja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great organization and one of the coolest things I did while in Baja. Amazing opportunity for photos also. The beach this place is located on is really lovely and makes for a wonderful activity overall. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CatM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Organization, Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This group does truly amazing work. They relocate and protect the turtle nests. When the turtles hatch, the public is invited to help release the turtles to the sea. Incredible experience for small children (and adults alike) to learn about and hold a baby sea turtle. Follow them on Facebook to learn when they do the releases. The experience is free, but consider donating or buying a t-shirt to help keep this group going. They deserve it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VagabondingWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Turtle release”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We learned about the turtle conservation program, watched a beautiful sunset together, and then released our babies into the sea. Educational and fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tortugueros Las Playitas also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tortugueros Las Playitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing