We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Mexican experience”
Review of Casa Bentley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Bentley
Ranked #8 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful Mexican experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

If you are looking for a truly wonderful (and affordable) experience in a smaller Mexican town (Todos Santos on the Baja, one hour north of Cabo San Lucas on the Pacific Ocean), this is it. The owner of Casa Bentley, Dr. Bob Bentley, is a retired geology professor from Central Washington University in WA. He has lived in Todos Santos for many years. And has built -- and lives in -- a traditional Mexican casa "boutique" hotel. Each suite in this small haven in a mango grove is uniquely furnished in traditional Mexican decor. The pool is grand. The hosts are wonderful. The town of Todos Santos is more than charming. If you feel the need for more people and excitement, Cabo San Lucas is only an hour's drive away. But, truly, once you arrive at Casa Bentley, you may not want to leave Todos Santos -- or Casa Bentley -- at all. Both are grand!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
82
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Todos Santos was a bit of culture shock for me. It's a very small, dusty and sometimes very noisy little town, but Casa Bentley was a very nice escape from almost all of that. Yes it is occasionally noisy there, because it is right against the road. (Not the busiest road in town, though, by a long shot.) Also, the town is so small that if there is anything going on in the plaza, you're going to hear it no matter where you're staying. But overall, Casa Bentley is just beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious, and you get a lot of bang for your buck. You'd better like dogs, and be okay with some eccentricities. If not, I guess go stay at the Westin in Cabo. This is Todos Santos, baby! Go with the flow!

Bob and Beatrice are good people, who made me feel very welcome. I'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The Fountain Suite is magnificent, and probably the quietest since it's farthest from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Gracious hosts and friendly canine companions shared their enchanting space with us and we were completely amazed. We loved our suite with private garden and cicular brick shower area with bench, iron and gem accents built around a growing tree! The shared kitchen area and upper pool would be great for entertaining. This gem can be barely found, behind big gates - please ring bell, within 2 blocks of Hotel California on the first back street. Beatrice is a doll and Bob is the gracious king of his castle - thanks for sharing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We've had the pleasure of staying at the Casa Bentley twice. The 1st time, in May, 2009, one of our parents chose this hotel for us to stay in when we came to visit him. The website looked intriguing and we weren't disappointed when we arrived in the least. In fact, it is impossible to capture the beauty of the rooms and grounds in photos. It is simply stunning here. The rooms are very spacious, each with it's own unique decor and features. They all have huge windows with great views and it feels more like staying in a castle than a hotel. We met Bob and Beatrice and after just a few minutes with them it felt like we were with old friends. The dogs are very friendly and sociable and made us feel like part of the family. Throw a tennis ball as far as you can into the orchards and Jacques will somehow find it and proudly bring it back. We only stayed a week, but wished we could have stayed longer! We came to Todos Santos again in September, 2011 and of course we stayed at Casa Bentley. This time was due to the death of my wife's father, who lived in Todos Santos, so emotionally it was a very difficult time for us. Beatrice and Alvaro went out of their way to help us. If it wasn't for their help and assistance we never would have accomplished what we needed to do. They are very kind, caring, and generous. We stayed in the Mango suite this time around and loved it. Beatrice would bring us fresh mangos and avocados right from the trees. It is quiet and peaceful with gorgeous rooms and grounds. As far as we are concerned, there is no place else to stay in Todos Santos!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! We are partial to the Mango suite since it is right off of the pool deck an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandMikeOfferdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

While on a quick expedition around the southern Baja I stopped in at the village of Todos Santos and discovered enchantment in the magical architecture of Casa Bentley. Not only did the seamless flow of thoughtful rock walls expanding and contracting from open to intimate spaces inspire awe and reflection, but also the generosity of hosts Bob and Beatrice and their friendly dog companions extended much ease and comfort.
The rooms are gracious and serene with tall windows that look towards beautiful gardens and the rambling casa boasts outdoor kitchens, waterfalls, and a beautiful tiled pool. It's located an easy stroll to the centre of town, and a quick drive to one of the most stunning beaches I have seen.
It was a true delight to stumble upon the Casa Bentley. I hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: The Avocado room is a tucked-away secret abode. Quiet, private and fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Casa Bentley is an enchanting paradise. Consisting of magnificent stonework inlaid with semiprecious gems and gorgeous flowering gardens alive with hummingbirds you will feel you have entered a magical kingdom. I loved everything about Casa Bentley:congenial Prof Bob whose dream is reality,competent Beatrice who sees to every detail, the kind and courteous staff. If you wish to go outside the gates there is no lack of activities and delights: geology tours courtesy of Prof Bob, yoga class, superb dining, whale watching, a thriving art scene, to name a few....all within walking distance.
The rooms are spacious, inviting,comfortable and clean. There is a well appointed large kitchen with coffee beans and spices. The courtyard is conducive to socializing under the giant hule tree or taking a dip in the pool if you wish.
This amazing place will delight you in every way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

From the time I opened the Charles Stewart hand carved door this amazing gem surprized me.
Geology Professor Bob Bentley has designed and build a stone castle with gemstones embedded in the walls. The fountain cascading into the pool and one in the dolphin and fountain suites make this a quiet retreat with abundant flowers an urban sanctuary. 2 blocks from the town center. Massage is available. Beatrice the manager keeps each room spotless and well appointed. Shared kitchens have coffee and tea.

Bob will give you a geology tour around Casa Bentley or out in the high desert of the Sierra de laguna mountains. Terrific restaurants, galleries and yoga are within walking distance. It's a 25 minute walk to the beach and bird estuary.

Welcoming warm hosts, great value for the money.

Room Tip: Mango is the sunniest. The Fountain is a romantic suite with room to entertain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bentley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bentley

Property: Casa Bentley
Address: Calle Del Pilar 99 | Colonia Centro, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bentley 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bentley Boutique Hotel is a small luxury hotel unlike any other one in Mexico, located in historical center of town. Large (up to 1000 sq ft), comfortable and uniquely furnished suites, have private patios, unique tranquil lush garden settings, relaxing atmosphere, secure, peaceful and quiet environment and private parking. 40' heated pool, open-air kitchen, walking distance to fine restaurants, galleries, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Bentley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing