We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location, historical building, good service, close to Macroplaza, next to museums, food venues and about 4 blocks from Barrio Antiguo where you can find food, drinks, pubs, discos and more. Close to a metro station as well, in case you are traveling in business. Rooms are really spacious and beds are super comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 at room 325. Even if there wasn't the greatest street views, it was such a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaJoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    116
    79
    25
    25
See reviews for
61
81
20
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We chose this hotel because we had been there before a few years back. Alot has changed, the lobby mangement was NOT very accomodating. We also had the 5th floor which is the executive the room was nice, but the service was not what was promised. We are not planning to return, Monterrey has alot of better hotels.

Room Tip: executive level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I spent three nights in this 102 year old hotel and found that its faded glory and pleasant staff made up for its few drawbacks. The pros: a stunning lobby, helpful staff, comfortable bed and convenient location near Macro Plaza and the Contemporary Art Museum. After leaving Monterrey I discovered that I had left some things in the room and the hotel staff was very quick to help me get these items back. The cons: the room decor is pretty tired, each room's wireless connection allows only one device to connect and the water pressure is weak.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My parents and I had adjoining rooms on 30 and 31 December. Our stay was a frustrating mix of good and bad.
Bad: 1) their room had one armchair (which the hotel, oddly, calls a ‘sofa’), mine had none at all, so we were forced to wheel the desk chairs from one room to another. Not in itself a big deal, but we were not impressed that our request for at least one more chair was flatly denied, which seemed strange given that the hotel was so empty that many facilities were closed, which brings me to point 2) we had rooms on the Executive Floor, which apparently includes a dedicated lounge with ‘butler’ and other amenities – but not between 21 December and 7 January, when it is firmly closed, as is 3) the hotel bar. My observations about the unfairness of paying full price for partial amenities/facilities, and the fact that nowhere on the website did it advise would-be customers that various parts of the hotel would be closed on those dates, were met with indifference.
Good: 1) the staff were largely excellent, helpful and friendly. 2) the breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had. 3) the ground floor space (lobby, restaurant, bar, etc) is lovely.
In summary: don’t expect 5-star amenities or service, but if you have an open mind and fairly low expectations, you’ll enjoy the faded glory and history of this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect Executive Floor amenities over Christmas/New Year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank name-not-allowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel has a little museum in the lobby. The rooms were clean and the chirping birds in the lobby were a pleasant surprise. I was disappointed that the gym did not open until 7:00 a.m. and it was not possible to get breakfast for an early departure. The computers were accessible early in the morning and late at night so I was able to print my boarding pass.

Room Tip: I had not rooms to compare with my own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lanatomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I used to be a frequent guest at this hotel 1n the 1990s, early 2000s and I always enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The property was built in 1912 evoking memories of days gone by, a USS Titanic contemporary. Because of my connections I was always upgraded during my earlier stays but did not have any connections to think of on my most recent stay. The room was somewhat small but functional and I kept getting thrown off the free Wi-Fi. I was also on an inside room on the second floor which has a generator right outside the window. The noise woke me up as if it were from the engine room of the Titanic. For a city so close to the US border as Monterrey, there are simply not enough US TV stations. The hotel has a glorious past but needs some upgrading and they need to do something about that noise. I will not be running back to this hotel anytime soon.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Executive fifth floor. This way you stand a chance of not hearing the generator n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was there, recommended by a friend. The good thing of the hotel is its history, and all the old time stories. But now it's getting obsolete. There are leaks in many rooms, a lot of humidity (and smells a lot when you go into the room). The pool was not working (I choose this one because of the pool, and I couldn't use it). But the rest is nice. The service is nice. The people is smiley and very good service. The food is very good., and it´s in a good place, next to the macroplaza and morelos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shixinhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.7 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#16 of 96 in Monterrey
382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ambassador
Sheraton Ambassador
#39 of 96 in Monterrey
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Fundidora
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Monterrey Pabellon M
0.3 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Property: Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
Address: Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma is a new hotel concept that gives you the best of both worlds – the charm of a small local hotel and the backing of the trusted Fiesta Inn national chain. Feel the warmth of our service, the uniqueness of our spaces, and enjoy the thrill of being in a destination that celebrates the best that Mexico's northern region has to offer. Cherish many unforgettable moments at Gamma by Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira. The hotel, recognized as a National Historic and Cultural Treasure, has been an icon for more than 100 years. Artists, political and intellectual figures, and other notable personalities have inhabited its rooms throughout its existence. It is located in the Historic Downtown District, near Cintermex and the city's most important tourist destinations. The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a Business Center, pool, restaurant, bar, and fully equipped meeting rooms for work groups and special events. Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira is an Eco-friendly hotel, so it is a 100% smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing