We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Collection Monterrey(San Pedro Garza Garcia)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safi Royal Luxury Valle(San Pedro Garza Garcia)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Safi Royal Luxury
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Staybridge.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle(San Pedro Garza Garcia)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
QualityInns.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Camino Real Monterrey(San Pedro Garza Garcia)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveller rating
413
560
338
132
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
560
338
132
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee makerwalking distancebusiness tripchannelstoilet
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed there for three nights because that is where our son's professional basketball team stays. The hotel was relatively inexpensive, but not well maintained. Our small room had a small bathroom and closet, and not much else. The carpet needed shampooing, the windows were dirty, the sink was cracked and poorly repaired, and we had two paintings in the room which were identical! The room was otherwise cleaned well and seemed hygienic. It had a nice flat screen TV. The walls seemed a little thin since we were woken up by the moans and groans of a woman in an adjacent room late one night. The hotel seemed a little run down. The staff was friendly to us. The attached Montana Restaurant was alright for the self-serve buffet breakfast, but had slow service for lunch. The hotel was a short walk to many points of interest in the downtown, like the cathedral. We made the mistake of using the unmarked taxis that the hotel recommends; they cost literally twice as much as the green marked taxis that can be easily hailed from the street outside. The parking was free, which was nice because we had a rental car for excursions out of Monterrey. Overall, this hotel was nothing special nor awful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank centralcoastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy F, Manager at iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

MuThank you very much for your opinion about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodation with us. It's something that our staff takes pride in, so we value your opinion. We thank you for your opinion about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodation with us. It's something that our staff takes pride in, so we value your opinion. We hope you return to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for more than a week.we are new to this area and we are not sure that to take our money outside is safe so we kept it in the hotel room and the room doen't have a safty locker.On one sunday morning when we preparing to go for outing we found that a 500 peso was missing from our wallet ,.we were in a hurry and we thought we might have kept it somewhere,When we returned back and checked our wallet again we found another 120 $ was missing again, when we complained to the staff in the front desk they checked the entire made into our room,and they found only the room service people entered in.So it is clear that the cleaning lady took our money.But the Hotel people said that lady was working for very long so she is not the culprit and didn't provide any other valid response.
Be carful with your stuffs if you want to stay in this hotel.

Pool doesn't have a change room / shower,so you have to wet yourself in your room before coming to the pool.
Another very important issue is Wifi.It is pathetic and it wouldn't even stream a you tube video you have to wait for hours or the connection will interrupt. So I stongly object the hotel to claim that they are providing a high speed internet



The +ve points about this hotel are the location it is very near to most of the famous restaurants and shopping areas. and has very good taxi facilities and connectivity to other places .Front desk staffs are nice thought they can't do anything for the issues in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sathya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ispacenos, General Manager at iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will be attending this confusing situation.
The hotel has its recruitment and selection process with high levels
I would love to help you, if you have a return to the city of MTY in the future, and so we can assist you.

I leave my mail: diego hurtado@hotelesmilenium.com
Diego Hurtado
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Poor service to begin with. We reserved a room w/ king bed. They gave away our room, finally got a room w/ a king, but in the older building. OLDER, tworn carpet, poor water pressure, ripped shower curtains, and more. We had a reservation for two nites, but only stayed one nite. Parking is bad also, two levels under the hotel, without elevators. Ohh, and breakfast is mediocre at best. If you want a place to stay for the nite and don't care about service than this should fit you fine, but anything other than that, forget about it.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DonRoberto8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ispacenos, General Manager at iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios.

Estamos trabajando en mejorar nuestros servicios,estamos en proceso de remodelacion de algunas areas, esperando con esto mejorar nuestro hotel, su opinion es muy importante y nos ayuda a ser mejores, espero verlo pronto de nuevo en MTY.

Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I went on a business trip to Monterrey, 2 nights. The company is looking for some savings, so I thought I would take the challenge and look for the best cost/benefit available. Read some good reviews and the price seemed right. Photo's looked promising as well. Getting there, the hotel was easy to find because of the height. The basement is the parking lot, that is a good thing. At the reeption purely young people, not a lot of experience, not looking like they enjoy the job. More like they need the money. Check in was quickly, no problem here. I was sent to the 7th floor, but not to take the elevator in the hall. Had to take the other building...was a bit hard to find, didn't know there was another building, but I was directed correctly. Now I new what the difference between standard and luxury was...this building is old, the carpet dirty, toilet smell all over. I stepped out on the 7th and to my surprise the hall was full of people sitting on the floor...I didn't feel good about that, didn't look they would ever leave. Fortunately in the morning they were not there anymore. The room in this second tower was not good, the airco was working, which is definately a need in Monterrey in April. But the carpet felt dirty, saw a peanut on the floor, some hairs in the bathroom...this tower needs a renovation.

On the website it says there is a mountain view, well, not for me, had a view on the other tower, but ok. I had the breakfast package, breakfast was actually ok, nice fruit, good omelet, bread and coffee, it was nothing special, but not bad either. One of the elevators broke down, had to walk up 7 floors, those stairs have not been cleaned either.

The pool was small, the gym was small, all in all, this was not the hotel I expected it to be. The location is great, that is why I eventually gave it 2 stars. I will not be coming back.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Fish_corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy F, Manager at iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017


Thank you for your honest opinion. We regret that your recent accommodation did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and we will share them with our team so we can continue to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to offer you a better experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very good choice for coupples and family.we stay at this hotel because its directly downtown in the area of Morelos'shopping street area...and you can reach ;barrio antiguo,macroplaza,la pulga,el obispado,morelos.

Room Tip: choose the ones with the view to the swiming pool its more quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy F, Manager at iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation with us. It is something that our staff takes pride in, so we value your opinion. We hope you return to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews