We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & Safe -- don't believe the hyped press!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fray Marcos De Niza
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nogales
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Safe -- don't believe the hyped press!”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Nogales is safe from the drug wars -- that is, the section near the border. Further inland, beware. Alas, Americans have abandoned the place totally in droves, and the locals are suffering economically. We visited last year, heading back again this month. Staying at Fray Marcos is not cheap -- it sets you back just under $100, and rooms just ok. Lobby areas elegant and old world. Park your car on the US side, eat at La Roca East of the RR tracks (and savor their margaritas) then sleep it off at Fray Marcos, all within walking distance of a few minutes.. A hint: the border crossing to the East of the main entry is quicker and just a block from the restaurant,, but closes at 6. Main crossing 24/7. Globetrotting Gourmet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Globetr0ttingG0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
16
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Just a few comments on my visit to Nogales, Sonora, Mexico this past weekend… I had a great time, and had a great "Dia de los muertos experience"! Nogales, Mexico is nothing like what we have been hearing and reading in the news. The reality of it all is that Nogales, Mexico is safe; I never felt threatened or witnessed any of the violence you hear and read about.
The people from Nogales are very friendly, the food is great (I recommend the restaurant at Hotel Fray Marcos de Niza as well as a few others like La Roca, La Posada and the Coffee shop on Plaza Pesqueira), you can buy cheap medication and a gift or two and have a great time in Mexico. The best thing about Nogales is that it’s close to home, I can be in another country and enjoy the culture, the food, the shopping and be back at my house in a couple of hours.
I stayed at Hotel Fray Marcos de Niza, it’s a very nice hotel, the service is excellent, the restaurant has great food and the bar has a really nice feel to it, good times at Karaoke night, live music, excellent margaritas and a good selection of tequila.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAlexander1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Great hotel full of local tradition and delicious food! Highly recommend a couple of drinks while enjoying a good ol soccer match.

Rod D Bod

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kin2papi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

I visit my Dentist Dr. Jose Saturno In Nogales.
His office is right across the st. Met some nice staff at the bar.
They pointed me in the right direction,For gifts,Food,souviners.
Not the newest place but hey its cheap.
ALOHA
BRAD

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacman812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson Arizona and Nogales Sonora
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

This Hotel is an old establishment in the Mexico side of the border at Nogales Sonora. It is very safe, has very clean rooms, close to everything at Nogales. About two blocks in from the crossing. Has a very good resturant . It is a good choice for those having business with the US Consulate for stamping or renewing Visas H1-B or Student Visas. Has a bar and is close to the main shopping district downtown. No problem with the water it is good for municipal water source.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — an older Hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MexicoTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

The Hotel Fray Marcos is visible from anywhere in the city. It's a pink monolith on the corner of the main intersection in town, which means, very close to the border. It's primarily a business hotel, trying to be American to suit the many Gringo businessmen that stay there.In the end, it's a cheap hotel. The beds are old, the sheets are old, the furniture is old.....Hey, it's OLD! But I like it. It's close to everything in Nogales. I have stayed in the nicer places in the business park. They are so far away as to be useless for work in the city. If you are ONLY in town for business, stay at the business park. But if you want to see Nogales and it's unique take on "cultura frontera", stay at the Fray Marcos.

  • Liked — Access to Nogales Central
  • Disliked — Could be more comfortable
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JerryPPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogales
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
2.4 mi away
Hotel Marques de Cima
Hotel Marques de Cima
#4 of 7 in Nogales
55 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Nogales
Fiesta Inn Nogales
#1 of 7 in Nogales
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#6 of 7 in Nogales
5 reviews
5.0 mi away
City Express Nogales
City Express Nogales
#2 of 7 in Nogales
176 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fray Marcos De Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fray Marcos De Niza

Property: Fray Marcos De Niza
Address: Calle Campillo 91, Nogales 84000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Nogales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nogales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fray Marcos De Niza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fray Marcos De Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fray Marcos De Niza Hotel Nogales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing