We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 5 day stay at the Fray” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fray Marcos De Niza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fray Marcos De Niza
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nogales
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My 5 day stay at the Fray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

What a wonderfull time. Placed in the heart of Nogales, Mexico, the hotel has a flare of old and new world. Best of all, the attendants are courteous, quick to serve, and they speak English. The rooms were exceptionally clean. They may be a bit out dated, but that is the charm of staying in Mexico. We stayed in a room right above the main street. Ask to stay in a room facing the street for a all night sound of the street party. The hotel restaurant has excellent meals anytime of the day. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
14
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have stayed in both types of rooms, the less expensive rooms are like a motel 6 style and the upgraded rooms are more elegant. Both rooms are very clean and taken care of. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We travel down there often just for lunch but if we have to much fun we'll stay the night. We eat at Chevas and munchies across the street, they are also very friendly. We have been going down there 8 x a year for more than 6 years and have never felt threaten in anyway. Store owners and Policia are very nice. I wish more people would travel cause the stores and restaurants need more tourists. Over the years we have meet alot of great people.We need to learn spanish.. :o)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StaceyLynnArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I was there to visit US consulate with my wife and Kid and all I could say was it was best place to stay in Nogales, a stay you would never regret.

Good :
1.Clean rooms - The rooms are bit out dated but they are clean and beds are comfortable.
2. Clean Comforters and towels - These are best you would find in hotel , towels look as if they dry cleaned.
3.Safe - You will feel safe inside and I never felt unsecure
4. Friendly Staff - Since I didnt know spanish so it was bit difficult to communicate but they would a person who could speak english.
5. Nice food - The food was nice and not over priced, friendly staff at the service was great.
6. I had to stay till 4 PM in Nogales and hotel agreed to keep my stuff in locker, I was allowed to check out without paying for an extra day.
7. It has a classy Lobby

Bad :
Some of the Taxi that have "Frey Marco De Niza " written on the cab was rude and once they asked to pay $3 more than the fare . CAB #62 beware of this guy . So fix the rate before you get in.

make sure to reserve early - As most of the places if you show up front desk you wont get the discounted rate

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank waryaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Nogales is safe from the drug wars -- that is, the section near the border. Further inland, beware. Alas, Americans have abandoned the place totally in droves, and the locals are suffering economically. We visited last year, heading back again this month. Staying at Fray Marcos is not cheap -- it sets you back just under $100, and rooms just ok. Lobby areas elegant and old world. Park your car on the US side, eat at La Roca East of the RR tracks (and savor their margaritas) then sleep it off at Fray Marcos, all within walking distance of a few minutes.. A hint: the border crossing to the East of the main entry is quicker and just a block from the restaurant,, but closes at 6. Main crossing 24/7. Globetrotting Gourmet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Globetr0ttingG0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

Just a few comments on my visit to Nogales, Sonora, Mexico this past weekend… I had a great time, and had a great "Dia de los muertos experience"! Nogales, Mexico is nothing like what we have been hearing and reading in the news. The reality of it all is that Nogales, Mexico is safe; I never felt threatened or witnessed any of the violence you hear and read about.
The people from Nogales are very friendly, the food is great (I recommend the restaurant at Hotel Fray Marcos de Niza as well as a few others like La Roca, La Posada and the Coffee shop on Plaza Pesqueira), you can buy cheap medication and a gift or two and have a great time in Mexico. The best thing about Nogales is that it’s close to home, I can be in another country and enjoy the culture, the food, the shopping and be back at my house in a couple of hours.
I stayed at Hotel Fray Marcos de Niza, it’s a very nice hotel, the service is excellent, the restaurant has great food and the bar has a really nice feel to it, good times at Karaoke night, live music, excellent margaritas and a good selection of tequila.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAlexander1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Great hotel full of local tradition and delicious food! Highly recommend a couple of drinks while enjoying a good ol soccer match.

Rod D Bod

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kin2papi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

I visit my Dentist Dr. Jose Saturno In Nogales.
His office is right across the st. Met some nice staff at the bar.
They pointed me in the right direction,For gifts,Food,souviners.
Not the newest place but hey its cheap.
ALOHA
BRAD

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacman812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogales
2.4 mi away
Hotel Marques de Cima
Hotel Marques de Cima
#3 of 7 in Nogales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Nogales
Fiesta Inn Nogales
#1 of 7 in Nogales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#6 of 7 in Nogales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
City Express Nogales
City Express Nogales
#2 of 7 in Nogales
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fray Marcos De Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fray Marcos De Niza

Property: Fray Marcos De Niza
Address: Calle Campillo 91, Nogales 84000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Nogales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nogales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fray Marcos De Niza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fray Marcos De Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fray Marcos De Niza Hotel Nogales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing