We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously past its prime, but not priced that way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Los Flamingos
Ranked #20 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
PEI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Seriously past its prime, but not priced that way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I love a good dive hotel as much as the next person, but I expect the bill to reflect the reality of the experience. Los Flamingos is definitely a dive hotel - very run down rooms, outdated and poorly functioning bathrooms, cheap beds, questionable linen - the whole nine yards. But the price is that of a medium quality hotel (or, depending upon the time of year, a top quality Acapulco hotel through Priceline). The view is fantastic (especially the sunsets), but take a cab up for a drink rather than stay there (or even eating there). If you do stay then you will be taking lots of cabs, as it's quite a ways away from everything else. Definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubergeek101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
33
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed at Los Flamingos for two nights in May, for the sole reason of its glamorous history, but knowing that it was 'past its best'. What I didn't expect was to find a dirty, grotty and shabby dump, which is what it is.

The room looked like it was from the 1950's, and I don't mean that in a good way. Most of the furniture and fittings looked like they had been there, unchanged (and sometimes uncleaned) since then. I've stayed in some bad hotels in my time, but have never felt the instinctive need to wash my hands after touching thing in my room. The sheets were clean though, apart from a washed-in bloodstain. The curtains were full of what looked like cigarette burns. The bathroom surfaces were dirty. I mean really, how difficult can it be to occasionally wipe a damp cloth?

The room did have a private balcony, overlooking the cliffs, which was pretty spectacular, but the hotel itself is a way out of the centre.

In short, the whole place looks as if it has had no attention in decades. If I was paying £20 a night I might have accepted its faults, but for what they charge, it is scandalous.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom68London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We spent a couple of days in this hotel which has a nice pool and nice atmosphere. Lots of pictures of film stars that spent time here. Nice sea view, you can hear the waves from the sea. The official price list was a lot more expensive than what we had to pay in the end.
You can hear the traffic from some of the rooms so make sure you pick the right room if you are sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicka6241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

I wanted to like this hotel alot. I thought I would love it. Unfortunately I left Hotel Los Flamingos feeling a bit saddened.

I didn't expect much by means of comforts of the room. I knew the price of $65 a night wouldn't get me luxury, but I atleast expected a room that felt clean, one that I could relax in.

The room was dirty. I found a thick coat of dust on an old pack of cigarretes in the closet. There were large crumbs/chunks of something in the drawers of the desk. However the bed sheets were clean! As for the comforter - risk it if you wish, I didn't.
The bathroom was literally the most disgusting hotel bathroom I have ever seen or felt. The floor and shower felt so grimey and dull that I wondered if the hotel refuses to clean it as to preserve its classic Hollywood... germs??? All I know... the bathroom sucked. The one cool thing about the bathroom was the lizard on the ceiling. Being a lizard lover I thought that was pretty cool... but he must have agreed with me and thought the room to be in shabby condition so he high tailed it right out the window.

The bed mattress was so springy that in hindsight I would have been better off sleeping in the hammock outside my room. I actually went and took a dip in the pool late at night and contemplated sleeping in the pool side lounge chairs. But after the swim and noticing that the under water pool light was hanging out of its socket by wires, I just thought to myself of the scene in the film "Syriana" when the kid got electricuted in the swimming pool. So I pulled myself out and scuddled back to my springy mattressed, lizard-less, dirty room for an attempted nights rest.

The bar and restaraunt has very nice service, yet it is over priced and of mediocre quality.

My suggestion to you: stay somewhere else and take a cab to Hotel Los Flamingos to have a drink at the bar to watch the sunset and check out the hotel - because it is beautiful from the outside... then go somewhere else.

My suggestion to the hotel: Make sure the rooms are cleaned properly. Replace the mattresses with something folks can actually feel comfortable on.... because you do have a gorgeous hotel with gorgeous views. Those two things wouldn't be tough to fix and it would make a world of difference.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank devilbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

I enjoyed the hotel and staff like always. For me its the best place around. The food, views, pool, staff are all so very wonderful.
I know that this place is not for everyone. But it has so much charm, that it surpasses the hotels short comings.
I don't want to stay anywhere else. I have in the past and came back to enjoy my favorite Hotel Los Flamingso. Thanks to Adolfo and his great Staff of workers for a fantastic vacation. There is no place, were you are treated so kind, like Hotel Los Flamingos.
Paul S.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psjrnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

We were taken to the historical hotel Los Flamingos by our favorite cabbie because he toted it as the best place to watch the sunset in Acapulco and he definitely delivered! This hotel is full of history including the Tarzan house where Johnny Weissmuller vacationed with his fellow Hollywood stars. You can even rent out the Tarazan house for $100/night - though I would have paid $300.00/night if I could see that sunset every evening. The service was impeccable. Our waiter brought us to a small cliff just down from the Tarzan house where we watched the sunset by ourselves. He then came back with two coronas - he had to walk quite a distance to deliver our cervezas!

This hotel is definitely not the place to whoop it up and party if that is what you are after but if you are looking for a romantic moment viewing one of the best sunsets in Mexico, Los Flamingos should be your destination.

Los Flamingos is located right near La Quebrada in Old Acapulco so check out the sunset and then head over to the cliff divers to round out your evening.

Helpful?
3 Thank Karissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

Minus the Hollywood history it would have been tough to overlook the need for some basic maintenance on paint & plaster. The place is sitting on a diamond of a location so most people would be happy with just the essentials being more welcoming to guests. All the same, I am glad we stayed for the experience but probably we will try another place next time. The restaurant has a personal charm & good food (with a breath-taking view).

  • Liked — History, view, the restaurant
  • Disliked — Poor condition of the facility.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#30 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
4.5 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#14 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Flamingos

Property: Hotel Los Flamingos
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos | Fraccionamiento Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Flamingos 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Los Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Flamingos Hotel
Los Flamingos Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing