We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
Ranked #33 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Mexico City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing....”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Clearly below par as compared to other Camino Reals in Mexico or Central America....the rooms are nice as well as the pool are..the beach is a shame nothing comparing to other beach hotels in Acapulco, ie. Fairmont, Crowne Plaza, Fiesta Americana, etc...the food in the restaurant ( buffet) not good and repetitive...drinks pricey.....Other much better hotelalternatives available in Acapulco for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    107
    56
    37
    29
See reviews for
113
95
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in the Camino Real Acapulco for a wedding.
The good:
The rooms were clean and spacious though very sparsely decorated. The pool was good, and the food, while very overpriced, was pleasing.

The bad:
While, in general, the room was clean, there were blood stains on the duvet cover and pillow. The cleaning crew showed up at 4PM and neglected to fix the problem. The hallways were dark and dirty with leaking ceilings.

The awful:
There was no hot water. We called maintenance 4 times over 2 days, and after the 4th call, the water was returned to "warm." We could not sleep well as the hotel scheduled construction directly outside of our door starting at 7AM. I suppose it was helpful to have the construction wake us up as the room lacked amenities like an alarm clock.

The garbage:
We asked to speak with the manager at check-out to inquire about why maintenance never fixed the hot water and about the construction. The manager said he had never heard of any problems in that room. When we stated that the service and room quality were not fitting of the price we paid for our room, he lied to us and said there were absolutely no discounts or benefits he could offer us in compensation because we "the computer system" did not allow discounts. We asked why a hotel manager would not have control over his own hotel's billing - which yielded no tangible response.

There are many places you can spend your money - I, for one, have never been so disappointed at the service of a self-proclaimed luxery hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctimpano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Mexico City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This place is about as relaxing as staying in a back alley full of pickpockets. No one there seems to care about nor was willing to sort out any of our problems. I started fighting with the staff the moment I walked into the lobby. They claimed our reservation didn’t include breakfast although our reservation clearly said that breakfast was included.
Also we booked a “Club Room” which cost significantly more than a “standard” room but even the cleaning lady told me that there’s no difference between the Club and the Standard room. Their website says the exclusive Club rooms are in a special section (which apparently only means it’s on a higher floor) and come with luxurious amenities. There were no special amenities. I saw the standard room, it was the same.
The place was practically empty but they put us directly underneath a room where they were doing construction. I talked to the “Gerente” at the front desk about the construction, he said he knew nothing about it and would get back to me.
He never did.
One night, I left a tip at the bar in cash and then after I left, the waitress who’d collected that tip, hits up my wife for a tip on the signed bill.
When we checked out they charged us for breakfast for the kids even though it said clearly that we had a reservation for 2 adults and 2 children with “breakfast included”. They interpreted that as only breakfast for the adults. Not only did they refuse to refund the charge for the kids breakfast, I was told that I was not allowed to speak to the manager. “That’s simply not possible.”
Go someplace honest. There are LOTS of other options in Acapulco.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JasonBeaubien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We do NOT recomment anyone staying here, even if the price is right.
The hotel itself has seen better day, the food in the buffet was marginal. The hotel does not allow guests to bring any
snaks from outside to hotel room, parking $9.50 a day, internet 13.50 taxi to Walmart or Condesa $14
If you come to Acapulco,
choose one of the many resorts that are more amenable to providing guests with a good experience during their vacations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corona_cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

My 23 year old daughter and I went for a girls' weekend, and we loved everything about this trip. First, took the advice of other reviewers, and hired a driver ahead of time, Sabastian Hernandez, to pick us up at the airport. Since we were two women traveling alone, I wanted to I feel safe, have someone who spoke English, who could help us if we had an emergency, who took US $ or pesos, and who would be waiting when we got off the plane. As promised, he was there holding a sign with our name even though our plane was 30 min. late and the lines long. It was all so easy, set-up by email ahead of time, and was a great way to start the trip.

On to the resort… OH MY GOSH! It was perfect for us – we wanted to relax without worry in a gorgeous setting. The resort is on a private, gated cobblestone street on the side of a cliff, facing the bay. Check-in was easy. We took a Club room on the 5th floor, because I wanted the view. It was lovely. As clean as I have ever seen and we often stay at some very ritzy hotels. (I travel with Clorox wipes in my purse as I have a little "ick" phobia that's maybe more than the normal person.) If beautiful, clean, quiet and relaxing is what you are looking for, this is it. The furniture was a little dated but very clean and in excellent shape – the mattress however felt brand new and was extremely comfortable, the sheets very fresh including a sheet wrapping the clean comforter, the bathrooms luxurious and extra clean. All the water, even the shower water is filtered. The view was outstanding. Yes there was a palm tree blocking a 1/6 of the view as someone else stated – but we loved it – watched the sun rise every morning and sat on the (very private) balcony every night and watched the yachts in the bay.

This isn't really the place for crazy spring break parties (too far from the action) or young children (it’s very quiet – more like for honeymooners or folks like us looking to relax) or the elderly (unless you are willing to stay up by the upper pools because of the stairs leading to the beach, although you could definitely get around as long as you didn't go down to the beach or the restaurant on the water.) We loved the stairs as we felt we were getting our exercise so that we could eat more of the fabulous food. Sorry to keep going on but we've done a lot of traveling in the states, Hawaii, California, Arizona, Chicago, Virgin Islands - and we were so impressed. Here are a few extra positives: Again - cleanliness: Never saw a bug, anywhere, even in the open air lobby, all of the staff in pressed white pants and pressed shirts, always someone wiping and cleaning. (We did get a couple of mosquito bites on our ankles at the outdoor restaurant after dark.) The spa: I was a little nervous when we walked in as the lobby was small and unremarkable, but the rooms and showers were VERY nice and my daughter and I agree that we got THE BEST Swedish massage we have EVER had. The two Teresa’s were great. We loved the margaritas (I'm from Texas and consider myself a Margarita snob), doubles during happy hour, delivered pool or beachside if you want. Privacy: So many places to sit over the bay, and read a book or sunbathe - the upper pool, lower pool, several beach areas and decks, some very private, one had just two chairs. Umbrellas and comfy chairs everywhere - you don't have to do a thing – they help with the umbrellas, bring you a drink (loved the sparkling lemonade), or lunch if you like. (The picadegallo is a fruit/vege plate.) Our favorite restaurant (there are three on premise) was on the water. The lunch menu was so good we didn't realize there was a separate dinner menu. Our waiter, Joel, was wonderful. He started reserving a waterfront table for us. (Everything we had was good, the steak, fish, fish tacos. Fabulous guacamole. Skip the lobster tacos - just so-so.) We had breakfast on the balcony (oatmeal and fruit plate) in the room twice even though the breakfast buffet came with our room price - every breakfast food and Mexican dinner food you could possibly want.

We spent 5 days and never left. On Sunday, they had Catholic Mass across the street . (In Spanish of course, but they handed me an English version of the readings and homily.) Never needed pesos although they exchange at the front desk. We put everything on our room, but kept the receipts - and on check-out day the bill was in perfect order. Sebastian picked us up as he promised he would, in plenty of time to get to the airport and we got to see some of the views of the Pacific ocean that we missed because the views from this hotel are just of the bay. We’re going to come back and bring the husband and the boys – and next time do the whole tours with Sebastian (who is a certified tour guide - his email address is [--] or you can Google him online). Can’t wait!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The hotel is located away from the downtown but close to the airport and the new Diamante section of Acapulco. Once checked in the room was average and then we realized how expensive all the services are. The hotel does NOT allow guests to bring ANY food items into the room/hotel from the outside. For example I had to leave my few cokes and water in bell storage until my departure!!! I did get an exemption for 2 bottles of water since the one that was in the room was already opened when I attempted to have a drink of water and they couldn't get anyone to my room for 30 minutes to replace it with a new bottle.

I will never stay at this property again due to their inflexible (who puts 2 coke bottles in storage, REALLY!!) and illogical policies. If you come to Acapulco, choose one of the many resorts that are more amenable to providing guests with a good experience during their vacations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laloglz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Spent four nights at the hotel located in the "Zona Diamante" in a somehow hidden bay between airport and the city. Access to the zona requires passing a check-point. The vegetation is beautiful, lush green tropical and even contains some remarkable animals such as "oso hormiguero", I saw one cross the road. The road leading to the hotel is extremely steep and cobbled, have never seen something the like anywhere else. Once you pass the modest appearing entrance of the hotel, the lobby and the sight of the bay is overwhelming. The buildings are carved into the steep slope, including four swimming pools and a lovely and well groomed garden. We received a large room with full view of the bay (although it is not the open ocean, it is instantly relaxing) with a well sized balcony. Stylishly furnished and utilities including large flat screen TV and an ironing board, all working well, almost. Some drawbacks in order to be objective were: coffee not complimentary, but the (only one) sachet of powder cost about EUR 3, no ashtray on balcony, no slippers. The first night, only one glass, one cup, and three (not four) cushions, as if room were prepared for single and not double occupancy. That was corrected immediately after complaint. One morning, there was no warm water, but defect repaired within hours. To the delights: The two king size beds were very comfortable, housekeeping excellent. All staff without exception were very friendly and attentive. The food, specially the breakfast with eggs made to order was excellent, the restaurant down at the seaside is very romantic and a real gem, at times there is live music there, e.g. mariachis. The beach is private and very pleasant as the waves are quite moderate. The bay is also ideal for water sports, available directly at the small beach, e.g. aquamoto. What may not attract everyone is the absence of entertainment such as bars, discos, etc., but there is plenty of that in nearby Acapulco (about 100 peso for a taxi). If you are smoker, there are quite a lot of places where smoking is permitted, including the lobby bar and the terraces of the restaurants. To conclude, I would look forward to return to the place just for laying back and relaxing and enjoying.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.9 mi away
Quinta Real Acapulco
Quinta Real Acapulco
#25 of 167 in Acapulco
115 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
703 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 167 in Acapulco
1,649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#2 of 167 in Acapulco
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Acapulco Diamante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Property: Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
Address: Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#11 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Acapulco Diamante 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Acapulco has a privileged location surrounded by tropical vegetation, locating his great construction of 7 acre Beach into one of the most Luxurious and Safety Acapulco Residences, just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 Min from Costera Avenue. Our Hotel invite you to absolute rest, offering all services for your comfort and relax time, such as; Room service 24 hrs, SPA, 1 restaurant international food open from 07:00 - 23: 00hrs, Restaurant Sea Food Specialties open 13:00 to 23:00 hrs, and our Pool Bar restaurant for Snack directly to your pool, same pools with a beautiful view of the bay Puerto Marquez, Whiteout leaving the privacy offered by our homely beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camino Real Acapulco Diamante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Resort Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing