We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
Ranked #30 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here for just one night. We paid only about $100 for the room on Hotels.com, perhaps because we were there on a weeknight in early November, clearly off season. We were practically the only guests. The staff was very friendly, no searching us for food or anything like that, and they all spoke English. The hotel is massive, and has three large pools, one with a water fall, and a small beach. There are lots of hideaways with lounge chairs. The food was pretty good and we didn't find it overpriced. The room was spacious although somewhat stark, the bed was not that comfortable and the towels were pretty scratchy. There was also only one bathroom glass and one drinking glass by the minibar, which was odd. The water was purified which is a big plus in Mexico. For the price we paid it was perfectly nice. If you want to party in Acapulco I would suggest a hotel on the strip, and if you want to eat in your room you should get a condo, but if you want to relax in the sun by the pool and drink margaritas you will be happy here. We hired Sebastian Hernandez after reading other trip advisor recommendations, and he took us out snorkeling. He would be a good person to contact to take excursions from the hotel, and eat elsewhere afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rs123013m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    106
    55
    36
    27
See reviews for
110
92
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel was under construction the whole time we were there. LOUD LOUD LOUD!
I got sick from the horrible food the first night, three days of the vacation gone! Credit to the new manager who moved us to the presidential suit after my wife nearly had a break down in the lobby over the noise. Still could not escape from the noise but the nice manager also comped us in room dinner overlooking the bay. Memorable! However taking into consideration hotel location (which is great if you are a recluse) and the terrible unsafe food I would not advise a stay here. Cancun is a much better option for quality and price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gintheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Expedia sad that there is breakfast meal plan in this hotel. Unfortunately it is not true. Hotel do not provide any meal plans, and you have to eat in overprice buffet (200 MEX = $16) with so-so food. To get out from a hotel you need to use a taxi that is owned by hotel and cost 150MEX = $12. So if you want to eat in Acapulco then you have to pay $12 + price of the meal. Hotel do not provide shuttle service for the customers despite the fact that it is located in the bottom of the hill, and you cannot walk up to it. (Well, you can, but it is very hard: I'm trained hiker and it took me 20 min with heart rate 155 to get to the top, so forget it). May be owners of the hotel want only reach people to stay there, but it’s not a 5 stars hotel for those kind of crowd.. If you decided to stay in this hotel then please come with your own car (parking fee is 75MEX/night). Without car you screwed for sure.
Hotel management not allow you to bring in any food or drinks, but they have refrigerator in your room filled out with alcohol (not free of course). They do everything to force you to use their not tasty & expensive restaurants. I believe this is not fair.
Beach in hotel is not bad, but not excellent either. It’s very small, sand is mixed with broken shells and small gravel, on the side there is jet ski & boat ride rental (also overpriced).
Nobody except people in reception desk speaks English in this hotel (as well as in Acapulco). Unfortunately we knew four European languages, but not Spanish. We had big problems to explain to waiters what we want or don’t want in our food, explain directions to some taxi drivers etc.
Positive things about hotel: clean, far from car pollution, have gym, private beach without annoying salesmen, free beach towels, and nice view from the windows.
Message to the owner of the hotel:
1. please provide affordable shuttle service to the Acapulco from your hotel at least once per hour;
2. please provide breakfast & dinner meal plan, allow food in the rooms, empty refrigerators, and stop forcing people to use service they don’t.
P.S. After that we stayed for 2 nights in Fairmont Acapulco, which is much better for similar price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srgclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Clearly below par as compared to other Camino Reals in Mexico or Central America....the rooms are nice as well as the pool are..the beach is a shame nothing comparing to other beach hotels in Acapulco, ie. Fairmont, Crowne Plaza, Fiesta Americana, etc...the food in the restaurant ( buffet) not good and repetitive...drinks pricey.....Other much better hotelalternatives available in Acapulco for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in the Camino Real Acapulco for a wedding.
The good:
The rooms were clean and spacious though very sparsely decorated. The pool was good, and the food, while very overpriced, was pleasing.

The bad:
While, in general, the room was clean, there were blood stains on the duvet cover and pillow. The cleaning crew showed up at 4PM and neglected to fix the problem. The hallways were dark and dirty with leaking ceilings.

The awful:
There was no hot water. We called maintenance 4 times over 2 days, and after the 4th call, the water was returned to "warm." We could not sleep well as the hotel scheduled construction directly outside of our door starting at 7AM. I suppose it was helpful to have the construction wake us up as the room lacked amenities like an alarm clock.

The garbage:
We asked to speak with the manager at check-out to inquire about why maintenance never fixed the hot water and about the construction. The manager said he had never heard of any problems in that room. When we stated that the service and room quality were not fitting of the price we paid for our room, he lied to us and said there were absolutely no discounts or benefits he could offer us in compensation because we "the computer system" did not allow discounts. We asked why a hotel manager would not have control over his own hotel's billing - which yielded no tangible response.

There are many places you can spend your money - I, for one, have never been so disappointed at the service of a self-proclaimed luxery hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctimpano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

This place is about as relaxing as staying in a back alley full of pickpockets. No one there seems to care about nor was willing to sort out any of our problems. I started fighting with the staff the moment I walked into the lobby. They claimed our reservation didn’t include breakfast although our reservation clearly said that breakfast was included.
Also we booked a “Club Room” which cost significantly more than a “standard” room but even the cleaning lady told me that there’s no difference between the Club and the Standard room. Their website says the exclusive Club rooms are in a special section (which apparently only means it’s on a higher floor) and come with luxurious amenities. There were no special amenities. I saw the standard room, it was the same.
The place was practically empty but they put us directly underneath a room where they were doing construction. I talked to the “Gerente” at the front desk about the construction, he said he knew nothing about it and would get back to me.
He never did.
One night, I left a tip at the bar in cash and then after I left, the waitress who’d collected that tip, hits up my wife for a tip on the signed bill.
When we checked out they charged us for breakfast for the kids even though it said clearly that we had a reservation for 2 adults and 2 children with “breakfast included”. They interpreted that as only breakfast for the adults. Not only did they refuse to refund the charge for the kids breakfast, I was told that I was not allowed to speak to the manager. “That’s simply not possible.”
Go someplace honest. There are LOTS of other options in Acapulco.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JasonBeaubien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We do NOT recomment anyone staying here, even if the price is right.
The hotel itself has seen better day, the food in the buffet was marginal. The hotel does not allow guests to bring any
snaks from outside to hotel room, parking $9.50 a day, internet 13.50 taxi to Walmart or Condesa $14
If you come to Acapulco,
choose one of the many resorts that are more amenable to providing guests with a good experience during their vacations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corona_cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.7 mi away
Quinta Real Acapulco
Quinta Real Acapulco
#24 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Acapulco Diamante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Property: Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
Address: Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#11 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Acapulco Diamante 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Acapulco has a privileged location surrounded by tropical vegetation, locating his great construction of 7 acre Beach into one of the most Luxurious and Safety Acapulco Residences, just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 Min from Costera Avenue. Our Hotel invite you to absolute rest, offering all services for your comfort and relax time, such as; Room service 24 hrs, SPA, 1 restaurant international food open from 07:00 - 23: 00hrs, Restaurant Sea Food Specialties open 13:00 to 23:00 hrs, and our Pool Bar restaurant for Snack directly to your pool, same pools with a beautiful view of the bay Puerto Marquez, Whiteout leaving the privacy offered by our homely beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Camino Real Acapulco Diamante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Resort Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing