We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Princess Mundo Imperial
Ranked #9 of 169 Hotels in Acapulco
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Loved every minute of the stay but the hotel does need some tlc......great location with a golf course over the road...you can walk forever along the beach with any number of places to wet your whistle and feed yourself......just trying to think through whether I would stay there again.....probably not...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear Kevin A,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay, which is the most powerful tool we have to identify our strength and our opportunity areas. We are terrible sorry to know we did not exceed your expectations.
You can be sure that your feedback is taken seriously and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

We hope you keep us in mind the next time you travel to Acapulco.

Sincerely,
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

The workers at the Acapulco Princess get a letter A for their service and manners. I appreciated the no hassle warm way we were taken care of during our stay. The only mosquito bite was that we were surprised to pay daily to use the gym when that's typically included in the daily rates at other hotels. The highlight of our trip was Roberto Alarcon who supplied our limousine/SUV air-conditioned driving service while in the city. He gave us a detailed historic tour, took a lot of time with my wife when she ran out of memory on her camera, taking her to two stores to get her amateur photography back on track. He took us to off the beaten track stores, to help local merchants and help my wife get the most out of shopping, and made the ride available at our request and back and forth to the airport a breeze. He spoke English which saved my handicapped Spanish and his restaurant suggestions were top notch. For me the highlight was his knowledge of recent and not so recent history and his sharing his intellectual insight and hope for his country. He made me feel welcome and we will come back.

Room Tip: Corner room was crazy good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear Nicholas M

We are so proud and happy to read your incredible review! This makes our day! we work really hard to turn moment into memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I had high expectations about this hotel. They charge as a 5 stars hotel but the rooms are old and with poor maintenance. The balcony was crumbling down and the lamps broken. However, I also need to say that the staff was amazing with great service. I'll post some photos with the broken lamps and crumbling balconies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmccanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear pmccanada,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay, which is the most powerful tool we have to identify our strength and our opportunity areas. We are terrible sorry to know we did not exceed your expectations, please accept our apologies.
You can be sure that your feedback is taken seriously and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

We hope you keep us in mind the next time you travel to Acapulco.

Sincerely,
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent service and overall very friendly (but inefficient). It's a family oriented hotel and has lots of kiddies running around. I'd suggest this isn't the place to head for a quiet couple's retreat.

Several pretty pools to choose from as well as cabanas on the beach. As noted in other reviews you do need to queue for a spot between 6-630 am. The waves are lots of fun to play in, but PLEASE don't go in deep if you're not a strong swimmer. In the course of a 9 day stay we hauled 2 panicky people out of the water. Another note about the beach - it's not serene. There are locally rented cabanas between the hotel property and the water along with a busy ATV 'road'. All of this said, it is MUCH quieter than the main section of Acapulco.

The rooms are generally large and we had a junior suite with the main bonus of a wrap around terrace plus a nice sitting area. On the negative side, the rooms are dated with a strong nod to the early 90's tropical school of decor.

The hotel suites the mixed needs of our mixed age family group and so we'll be back next year, but I do wish it was being run at the standards I would expect from a Fairmont property (more efficient service, better property maintenance, etc).

A final note - we were here over New Years Eve and the hotel hosts a beach front party every year that runs from 8pm until 530AM. We retired for the evening around 130 am, but were awake with the music and lights (with windows, doors, blinds shut) until 5am. Just be aware that if you're at the property over New Year's Eve and anything other than a comatose sleeper you'll be awake til the party is over.

Room Tip: If you're going over New Years Eve and want to sleep that night consider that the hotel hosts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geewhiz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear geewhiz3,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay,we are so proud and happy to read your incredible review! This makes our day! we work really hard to turn moment into memories.

You can be sure that your feedback is taken seriously and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Fairmont Acapulco Princess is very nice it has a lot of pools and one is a saltwater pool with a slippery slide. The rooms are really organized and the location is really close to the beach and it is quiet. The place is family friendly and safe. The beds are comfortable and clean. The place is fancy and has a lot of room space and the beds are comfortable to sleep on. Everybody who works in the hotel is very nice to you and when you check in it is very fast. The hotel is a little expensive but overall I would stay at the place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASF4thGrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear ASF4thGrade,

We are so proud and happy to read your incredible review! This makes our day! we work really hard to turn moment into memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

New visit to the Princess, one year later. It is still spectacular but slipping.

My room was not as nice as last year's, but that's not the problem. The Princess feels as a cash cow. It feels as Fairmont is not investing nearly as much as needed in the place and that visitors are not important except for their immediate expenses.

Restaurants are very expensive by Mexican standards, and food is mediocre at best. High prices I can understand, nearly un edible food not. Lines are long because infrastructure and staff although usually very corteous, are insufficient. The organisations for beach towels check in and out, and Valet parking are ludicrous. I had to wait 30 minutes in line every morning at 6:45 to be able to reserve a place on the beach.

An example was an American lady complaining at one of the restaurants at the table next to mine. She called the restaurant manager regarding a service problem and the answer was a very courteous "this is our policy and if you don't like it... Sorry". She and her family left humiliated. She mentioned that she had been coming to the Princess for the past 14 years. I don't think there will be a 15th.

On the other hand the hotel is still breathtaking with its pyramid design, large open hall, large rooms and superb beach and pools. Most of the staff are excellent and go beyond their duties to help. Like the checkout lady that offered me to keep the room until 2 PM so that I could have a few more hours on the beach with my kids.

Fairmont could do so much more with a property like this.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear 3Cuori1Capanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay, which is the most powerful tool we have to identify our strength and our opportunity areas. We are terrible sorry to know we did not exceed your expectations, please accept our apologies.
You can be sure that your feedback is taken seriously and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

We hope you keep us in mind the next time you travel to Acapulco.

Sincerely,
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent the week covering New Years Eve here. It is very relaxing with a beautiful beach and superb sunsets. Breakfast by the lagoon was a great way to start the day before relaxing in a Cabana on the beach. This property has a large array of places to dine. This was our second visit and we won't hesitate to select it again in the future.

Room Tip: Both trips we stayed in the Pearl Tower and the room was gray with a beautiful view of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanEldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaGeneralAca, Director General at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear DanEldon,

We are so proud and happy to read your incredible review! This makes our day! we work really hard to turn moment into memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely
Thomas Becker
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 169 in Acapulco
837 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#13 of 169 in Acapulco
1,110 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 169 in Acapulco
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
7.6 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#10 of 169 in Acapulco
1,013 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#25 of 169 in Acapulco
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas S/N | Fracc. Granjas del Marquez, Playa Revolcadero, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range: £109 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Mundo Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Mundo Imperial: A WORLD FAVORITE. Located in Acapulco, consider one of the top beach destinations worldwide,offering to their visitors a warm tropical climate throughout all year. Special magic of this paradise makes Princess Mundo Imperial one of the favorite of the treavelers, located at Revolcadero Beach, at Zona Diamante consider the best area in ​​Acapulco, just a only few minutes from the Acapulco International Airport. Traditional 15-storey Aztec pyramid-shaped building, lush gardens, 5 pools, two exclusive golf courses, fine dining restaurants and one of the largest meeting spaces in Acapulco, satisfy the wishes of the most distinguished guests of the world. Discover Pearl Perla, a luxurious building within the Princess Mundo Imperial, offers exclusive accommodations, finest facilities and services, in where contemporary design becomes sophisticated luxury - unique experience in order to satisfy our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing