We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings, won't be back! There are better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princess Mundo Imperial
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, won't be back! There are better options”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I am not a big fan of huge hotels and resorts. I was here for business for a few days. The Princess consists of 3 big Soviet style concrete mega building from I guess the 80’s. It probably once was one of the best hotels in Acapulco but that time has gone. Will I come back here? No. Nor will I recommend the hotel. I had a good time though.
I stayed in the remodeled building where the superior rooms are and my room was great. Heard that the rooms in the other buildings were a bit ran down and are in urgent need of updating. 2 of the 3 mornings I was woken up by big diesel busses and people shouting outside that were unloading guests and a guy that thought it was necessary to work with his chainsaw at 7AM outside my room in the garden. Had to call reception to do something about it. Dinner and breakfast buffet was good. When going to the breakfast restaurant the 1st morning, I found myself in a large queueu begging for a table. They funneled all guests to the same restaurant for breakfast resulting in a huge mess. The other mornings I went first to the gym (great gym but you have to pay extra) and had breakfast at 10. Tried also the beach club restaurant but that wasn’t that good. Just by seeing that I was not a Mexican they decided for themselves to leave the spicy chili out of my plate. I can make that decision for myself I think. Service was friendly though. Also ordered food in the bar down in the lobby and it took 1hr to get some octopus badly prepared. I cancelled the order after an hr but they put it in front of me anyway. When asking why it took so long the girl said the kitchen had to unfreeze the octopus first! Though we were at the seaside where seafood was readily available without the need of freezing it. A better bet is the sandwich shop down stairs next to the lobby where the shop start,
Good beach, gardens and pools. Erratic wireless connection: virtually only in the lobby it worked well !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jbmx,

Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience at The Fairmont Acapulco princess. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your time spent with us. This is certainly not the fairmont experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. I have notified our management team so that we may look further into these issues.
Again, thank you for your feedback, and I hope we can welcome you back.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you like to discuss any further +52 744 469 1019 or aca.guestservices@fairmont.com

Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    475
    292
    146
    156
See reviews for
751
338
23
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doral
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This used to be a great hotel and can easily become great again if they renovate it. It is in a great location and should become one of the best hotels in Acapulco once they renovate it and redecorate the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jose,
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience at The Fairmont Acapulco Princess.
After reading your comments I do understand your feeling as it is true that would be fantastic to renovate some areas of the hotel. I take this opportunity to recommend you to stay in the recently renovated Pearl Tower. After a $30 million investment, Pearl Tower offers 310 luxury rooms, carefully decorated with the finest amenities and personalized service.
If you would like to discuss your experience with me personally, please contact me at 744 469 1019 or email me to aca.guestservices@fairmont.com
Sincerely,
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. The service was horrible and the food was not edible. There are plenty of other hotels to choose from in Acapulco. You will be charged extra for every little thing. Oh, and dont plan to bring your dog even though it says it is pet friendly - they will charge you 800 pesos (over $60) every night for the dog. You will also get harassed constantly on the beach by people selling you things. I would avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Pearl tower are by far better than the other rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jen
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We do take all feedback seriously and I appreciate all the information you have submitted.
I really regret we didn't meet your expectations.I would really like you to contact me personally at 744 469 1019 or email me at aca.guestservices@fairmont.com to discuss your experience.

Best regards
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Mcallen, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have traveled over 120 countries and this hotel is a jewel, one of the best in the world, the architecture is espectacular, rooms are spacious and very well decorated, excellent service and great food, you have it all here and don't need to leave the hotel, provably why Howard Hughes leaved here until he died, he had the money to go anywhere and choose this gorgeous hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Carlos,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best.
Please contact me at aca.guestservices@fairmont.com or ane.echeverria@fairmont.com before your next visit.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great place for a family vacation & the best place in Acapulco. If you need to rest & want to enjoy your family - stay at the Acapulco Princess. Be sure & get the plan with the breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
What a pleasure to read your review Jay! I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess. I have already shared your comments with my team as a reminder of what we do best.
Please do not hesitate to write me at aca.guestservices@fairmont.com when you plan to return.
Again, thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We paid for a room in the renewed area of the hotel, the room was nice and almost clean (we had a cockroach in the room) That said the rest of the hotel is a complete chaos. It took me 45 minutes for check in, even when I'm part of their Presidents club. I drove my car and everytime I requested my car from the Valet (they only have valet) it took betweek 25 and 30 minutes. One of the pools was closed, In other words they have a nice facility but is over crowded witout enough personel.
BTW there was no WIFI in my room for the durantion of my trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Yayalolo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely appreciate it.

I am very sorry to hear that due to high occupany your arrival and valet parking experience were challenging and I’ve addressed the issues with our staff.

I really appreciate your feedback and support to improve, we have built our hotels reputation by paying attention to our guests needs and I am grateful that you brought your concerns forward.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me directly please contact me at aca.guestservices@fairmont.com or 744 4691019

I hope we have the opportunity to speak soon.

Best Regards,

Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel with very good service and lots of amenities. It needs urgent remodelation. I'd be willing to pay more if they had better floors, rooms, TV sets and a general update. Even the pool tiles are old and our feet got scrapings. Even from outside you can look at the buildings deterioration. You can get better rooms at the Perla building, but they are 60% more expensive and that only gives you a better room and some discounts, but not a better hotel in general. Don't get me wrong, I love this hotel, mostly because of their great service, food and installations, but this is a Fairmont, I know they can do better.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Eduardo,
I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess.
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments, we do take all feedback seriously and I appreciate all the information you have submitted. I’ll be sure to share your comments with our team as we are always looking to make improvements.
Best regards
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
717 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
296 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 167 in Acapulco
945 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 167 in Acapulco
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Property: Princess Mundo Imperial
Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas S/N | Fracc. Granjas del Marquez, Playa Revolcadero, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Mundo Imperial: A WORLD FAVORITE. Located in Acapulco, consider one of the top beach destinations worldwide,offering to their visitors a warm tropical climate throughout all year. Special magic of this paradise makes Princess Mundo Imperial one of the favorite of the treavelers, located at Revolcadero Beach, at Zona Diamante consider the best area in ​​Acapulco, just a only few minutes from the Acapulco International Airport. Traditional 15-storey Aztec pyramid-shaped building, lush gardens, 5 pools, two exclusive golf courses, fine dining restaurants and one of the largest meeting spaces in Acapulco, satisfy the wishes of the most distinguished guests of the world. Discover Pearl Perla, a luxurious building within the Princess Mundo Imperial, offers exclusive accommodations, finest facilities and services, in where contemporary design becomes sophisticated luxury - unique experience in order to satisfy our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing