We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent 3 nights (Feb 14-16)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre Mundo Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spent 3 nights (Feb 14-16)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My sisters, Mother and I reserved 4 rooms. Hotels and rooms are okay - we had to call 2-3 times to get more towels & blankets. One day one of the rooms was not cleaned and we had to call a couple of times for them to do it. They said they were busy attending newcomers! The facility is pretty nice in general. Staff is nice and helpful if you ask them. Buffet food was awful and overpriced! We did not want to go out (just enjoy the pools and beach) but we had to because there were few items in the buffet that were edible. I really hope the food improves because we liked the hotel and the area where it is located. Visitors from Mexico City and Houston, Texas-USA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Gerente at Pierre Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Lupita K,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your stay at The Fairmont Pierre Marques. I’m delighted to hear that you and your family enjoy the facilities.

We understand that we did not exceed your expectations with the quality of the food. You can be sure that your feedback is taken seriously and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

We are sorry to learn about this problem and we hope you can give us another chance and come back any time soon.

Sincerely,

Catherine Becker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    199
    106
    52
    34
See reviews for
299
186
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went with my husband to spend a weekend in Acapulco and chose the hotel based on the reviews. The Hotel is very well located, in a quiet area with excellent beach. amenities and restaurants on the first floor are very well maintained, elegant and beautiful .... but when you go up to the rooms (we were in 572) we began to notice the lack of maintenance of the building, the obsolete elevator, old and stained floors, rooms with old carpet ... quite disappointing. So, if you are interesting in booking this hotel, I advise to call first and verify if the rooms assigned, have been remodeled or not.

Room Tip: call first and verify if the rooms assigned have been remodeled or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clauquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Gerente at Pierre Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Clauquin,

Primero que nada, le ofrezco una disculpa por la tardanza en contestar a su mensaje.

Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo en compartir estos comentarios sobre su experiencia en The Fairmont Pierre Marques . Estoy encantada de escuchar que la ubicación del Hotel y la playa son de su agrado. Algo que nos caracteriza, es que somos un Hotel donde puede olvidarse por un momento del ajetreo de la vida diaria. Entendemos que no cumplimos con sus expectativas sobre el mantenimiento de las habitaciones en el Edificio, nos sentimos muy apenados por eso.

Puede estar seguro de que su retroalimentación es una manera trabajar en una cultura de mejora continua.

Esperamos que nos pueda dar otra oportunidad de ser su anfitrión nuevamente.

Sinceramente,

Catherine Becker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Wonderful 6 day holiday with friends for the 5th consecutive year at this hotel. To Fairmont I would say that the nickel and dime charges for WiFi, tennis courts and parking are annoying and unnecessary; especially when the tennis courts are not swept, have no water nor ball boys and the nets are in very poor condition. Parking is outdoor and uncovered.
F & B was great around the pool, the Tabachines Chop House is excellent and the breakfast buffet is extensive, well presented and good. Room had a great ocean view in a quiet zone but room attendant always forgot something; one day facecloths, next day bottled water and glasses never washed. Also the sticky door leading to patio was never fixed. All in all a good hotel and we shall return next year.

Room Tip: Join president's Club for the extras and ask for rooms in the 250-259 section good ocean view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFVIBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Gerente at Pierre Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear GFViberg,

First of all, I like to apologize for taking too long on repliying to your coments.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at The Fairmont Pierre Marques. Is always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guest. I’m disheartened to hear you felt nickeled and dimed. That is the last thing we want for any of our guest. We charge certain amenities separately in order to keep out overall rate room affordable for our guest. Be assured that your comments are being taken with extreme seriousness and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

It was a pleasure hosting you and I hope you keep us in mind on your next trip to Acapulco.
Sincerely,

Catherine Becker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

A well spread, luxury hotel in Acapulco Diamante zone with a combination of villas, rooms and suites, this is a much quieter, nicer and ocean front resort for all types of travellers.

We had a very good villa to ourselves facing the beach with our private sit out and garden. The room was spacious, and an equally spacious bathroom. The villa opened upto the garden facing the ocean. The resort is very well laid out with 2 different pools enough to take many guests. HK was good and the staff were courteous and attentive to our requests at all times.

However the food was a big disappointment for us. Except for the breakfast which was manageable, the lunch and dinner buffets were a big flop. The rice were hard, there were little or no Asian cuisine considering there were travellers from all parts of the world, and we had to struggle every day. Due to the distance of the hotel from the main city centre and restaurant zone, we got back earlier and almost always had dinner in the hotel, however this was not easy considering the spread, quality and menu. The Hotel must do something to make the food more international quality and a blend of eastern and western cuisines.

The beach related to the hotel is well guarded and protected, though a security guard in the evenings and night time will be helpful. This is a smaller property compared to the Acapulco Princess which is just next door and therefore for someone looking for a bit of quiet, relaxed stay this is surely the best bet.

Room Tip: Try one of the sea facing villas of bungalows ............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoumenChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Pierre Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Soumen,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your stay at The Fairmont Pierre Marques. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoy the quitness of the area, as well the warm service that distinguishes us.

We understand that we did not exceed your expectations with the quality of our food. We are sorry to learn about this problem, you can be sure that your feedback is taken seriously and that it will of course help us prevent future defects in our services.

We hope you can give us another chance and come back any time soon.

Sincerely,

Catherine Becker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Thank you to all of you who wrote reviews of the Fairmont. My husband and I were in Acapulco for 16 days, 1 week in the old Costera section, 1 week in the old/old section near the Zocolor,(previous to that we had stayed in Zihuatenajo for one week) and we were wanting to end our vacation with a bit of pampering. The Fairmont Marques gave us that and we got such a fabulous deal on the net. Check out pricing before booking. Our package was a regular room but included the breakfast and was considerably less than the rack rate.
From the moment we stepped out of the cab we were greeted warmly and attended to immediately. We sat in chairs at the President’s Club Check in desk and were offered a bottle of cold water each. We were early (about noon) but they checked to see if our room was ready and after a short wait, off we went with our English speaking bell man (we don’t expect anyone in Mexico to speak English after all, we are in their country, and there is very limited English spoken in Acapulco, it isn’t like Cabo, Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, etc where English is the norm, Acapulco has lost its North American tourists so tourism is now supported by Nationals-mostly from Mexico city and therefore there is no need for the service industry to speak English-but here at the Fairmont, the majority of the staff did speak English and we were so GRATEFUL. I can get by in Spanish, but just). When we got to our room it wasn’t in fact ready and the bellman was very embarrassed, he excused himself and went into the room, shut the door, called the front desk and then was back to us in moments. He said the bad news is that your room is not ready, but the good news is that to make up for the inconvenience, we are upgrading you to a Villa Room.
The Villa room was beautiful. There are about 8 guest suites to a villa and they are each separate buildings to the main building. We were the furthest away but we were thrilled to have the upgrade and have more privacy and quiet. The room was large, with a table to write at, a couch, and a king size bed that had lovely linen and was super comfortable. The TV wasn’t modern but who is in Mexico to watch tv. We had a coffee maker, wine glasses, a fridge and safe. Large bathroom, with big tub, robes, marble counter. You could tell it was old (51 years to be exact) but we felt it had been nicely upgraded and maintained. We were looking for two nights with American Standards and this was it!
There were two pools and we spent all our time at the QUIET pool. You never get that in Mexico. Usually there is music blasting everywhere so we really appreciated this pool that was HUGE and had lots of loungers and umbrellas with a panoramic view of the ocean. There was another smaller pool (which was still a decent size) if you wanted the music and noise.
The buffet breakfast was FABULOUS. I can’t believe that anyone could complain about it. Yes, there was lots of Mexican style food, duh, look around you. Do you see Mexican tourists or do you see North American Tourists???? We happen to love Mexican food, but for those that want to bring NA with them on holidays, there was sausage, bacon, omelet station, French toast, waffles or pancakes, toast and jam, cottage cheese, fresh fruit, and fruit juice. We met the Executive Chef and what a nice man. Very passionate about his job. He explained all the salsas and various foods to us and helped us order some breakfast enchiladas. We were so enthralled by his food descriptions we decided to go to their “fancy” restaurant one night. The interior was completely remodeled. The service was exceptional and the food divine. Yes, pricier than if you were eating at a regular Mexican restaurant but less money than Su Casa in the Costera district and far superior. I could go on about the food as we are big foodies. Just let me say, you will not go wrong dining there. If you stick to seafood and don’t order a bottle of wine, it is very affordable. Most of the seafood dishes were 220 to 240 pesos.
We walked down to the Fairmont Princess and it was a different world. Huge high rise towers and people everywhere. It is a big resort whereas the Marques is smaller, low buildings, I think it is only two floors in the hotel section. So if you like being in the middle of the action, then the Princess would be for you, but if you wanted a more laid back atmosphere then you will really appreciate the Marques.
The beach out front is more a black sand beach but is fairly flat so you can walk for miles. The ocean is constant waves and strong currents, but the safety depends on the time of year and how good a swimmer you are. In December you can go in the water. This is a great place to boogie board.
There was not Wi-Fi in the Villa room. We didn’t care, we wanted to disconnect for our last days. When we wanted to check our flights we just went to the business center and used their computers.
The Fairmont is in the Diamante section of Acapulco. This is a higher end area and newer condos and resorts. Everything is spread out so you don’t really have the option of stepping out of your hotel and walking to other restaurants, although you can walk to Walmart for snacks, etc. So if you are staying here, plan to take a cab to other restaurants or eat at the resort. The food as I have said is top notch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

After a long and sad time in Acapulco , going and staying at the Pierre Marques was great, from the moment we enter the lobby we were welcome with a smile and a drink we were given and beautiful room over looking the ocean and close to the pool. My Husband Birthday was coming up so I ask if they could make us a Canadian favorite for him "Pizza" they could not have been more helpful and the service was superior food was excellent and always a smile the room was extra nice and the price was half of the one in Jasper .. this Fairmount did what their contrapart in Jasper Alberta Canada could not deliver Customer Service in the most exquisite way.. be back

Room Tip: not all Fairmount 's are run or created equally so this one you will need reservations , Room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lau0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great place!
We visited the hotel between hurricanes in the autumn of 2013. We were very lucky! The hotel was empty and we enjoyed almost complete solitude. Three great pools, average rooms, a good restaurant, a beach club, a shop with products and souvenirs, children's playroom, and most importantly - the ocean nearby and service wes really great!!
A bit pricey meals at the hotel ... but you can buy groceries at Walmart (before it can even be reached on foot within 15 minutes.) The room has a coffee maker and refrigerator.
We are pleased to be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliyaGati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
4.5 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Mundo Imperial

Property: Pierre Mundo Imperial
Address: Costera de las Palmas S/N | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pierre Mundo Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private hideaway of J. Paul Getty, Pierre Mundo Imperial, one of the best resorts of the country, is the perfect intimate getaway. Mexican villas, bungalows and low-rise buildings sit amidst tropical gardens overlooking three pools on Acapulco's beautiful Revolcadero Beach. Swim, golf, play tennis and enjoy our fine dining restaurants in secluded luxury at Pierre Mundo Imperial resort in Mexico. A testament to a superior experience and service levels, the Pierre Mundo Imperial hotel has been named the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Recognition. Additionally, the prestigious publication Travel & Leisure ranked Pierre Mundo Imperial as one of the best 100 hotels in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the best resort in Acapulco. USA Today named it one of the 10 best hotels all over the world. Pierre Mundo Imperial also offers the perfect scenery for romantic weddings. Just imagine saying "yes" with the ocean as your main witness. With the soaring mountains of the Sierra Madre on one side and the crystal blue Pacific on the other, the splendid tropical paradise of Pierre Mundo Imperial Acapulco awaits you for your next event or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pierre Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Pierre Marques Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco
Pierre Marques Acapulco
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing