We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Real Bananas Hotel & Villas
Ranked #26 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The people there were extremely kind, and so delighted to find out that my sister and i spoke fluent Spanish. The waiters at the restaurant are fast, and the bartenders make great drinks. All in all a really nice place! Just remember that treating the people kindly there goes a long way. Rather than being upset that they don't or can't speak your language, show a sincerity. They love you for it. Also remember that Mexico for the most part is a city that gets around by buses, taxis, and walking. They have a shuttle bus to take you to the beach so you are set in that area. Another thing is, don't be disappointed if the food that they call American-style isn't really how we do it here. We have done the same to their food in America. DONT FORGET TO TIP. Its not that they'll hate you for it or anything, you'll just be treated like a VIP for your generosity. Remember that you aren't going to Mexico to feel like you stayed in America. I enjoyed my stay thoroughly.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have a hard time getting WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jahsiland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    27
    11
    14
See reviews for
71
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Unless you are from Mexico City dont go. I couldn't eat there cause the food was awful and the tourist there were rude. We had to walk or take a taxi to go get some good food and we paid for the all inclusive. The rooms were clean but at night you couldn't sleep for the band by the pool was so loud and late at night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grandma07Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This place is great for the price. Rooms are simple and clean good A/C fridge in room, nice balcony with a view, staff is very nice, food is good, the beach is really nice although it is a bit of a trek to get there, you can jump on the banana bus that will take you every 15 minutes or so. Hotel is close to downtown. Most of the guests were mexican families so if you are traveling to another country and want to be surrounded by Americans this isnt the place for you but if you want a bit of culture its great. We ended up with a free upgrade to a villa so I cant comment on the actual hotel but I definitely recommend the villas.

  • Liked — Cheap!!
  • Disliked — few activties
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessi__max_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Hotel Club Bananas. The elevators do work! Rooms are quite large and decently equipped although there are no refrigerators! This is a family hotel where the vast majority of guests are working class and midle class Mexicans with lots of kids and a need to have an economical vacation. This gives the hotel a very warm, comforting feel. The food (and this is an all inclusive hotel with all meals and drinks included) was surprisingly good. Lots of choices, plenty of salads and fruit s well as fish and the usual meat and chicken dishes. The pool was modest and not really big enough for all the guests when the hotel is full. But the hotel staff was immensely warm and friendly and this made up for other deficiencies. Its a 10 min wal to the Costera Miguel Aleman and the beaches - no real problem. If you want a taste of Mexico in Mexico's main Mexico-centered resort town - this is quite a good choice. Its especially good if you want to meet Mexicans rather than people from the US, Canada, Europe etc

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

for the price everything was ok no complaints but i would advise leaving the hotel for lunch to get some good seafood.
you dont get drinks on there section of the beach.
staff are friendly service was good


not really much to say

  • Disliked — slow music at night made you want to sleap instead of go out
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chakstoneboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2006

Considering This was a 2.5 Star resort. I was pleasantly surprised.

They always had cold beer, and good drinks. The food was good considering. I was travelling with my sister and parents. (My sister being the worst eater on the planet) She always had good thigns to eat. Reccommended for picky eaters. Lots of americanized food and mexican food to choose from.

The rooms were a little sketchy, but were cleaned every day with nice maids that barley spoke english. Although tried really hard.

The front desk there was amazing. Always there to help, friendly and willing to chat about anything. Very helpful with directions and things to do....


It wasnt directly on the beach, which kinda stunk but it was close enough and had a very scary shuttle bus to the beach every 1/2 hour. Once at the beach it was really nice. A long strip of white sand which bars and drinks available on the beach (for a cost).

At the beach they had banana boating, parasailing and jet skiing for very reasonable prices. (20 american for parasailing)

All and all this was a pretty good vacation. Our resort mostly had Canadians and Mexicans (party people :) Even though it wasnt the best resort in the world if offered what we were looking for

Sun, Sand, and Drink....:)

  • Liked — It was close to everything and that the staff tried hard to be nice because it was only a 2.5 star
  • Disliked — that it wasnt on the beach
  • Tips/Secrets — People who have high expectations don't bother. Its a great stress free vacation
  • Stayed January 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Amellia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 April 2006

We had never been to Mexico before and had always heard how beautiful it was there. We were very excited to be going and staying at an All-Inclusive resort. I must admit everything seems to look pretty from a distance, then you get up close and realize how dirty everything is. Upon arrival, we immediately wanted to leave. When we were checking in another guest was asking a worker why there was a used feminine hygiene product in their waste basket because they had just arrived as well and had not even used their facilities yet. As the days progressed, we found that the hotel workers were very rude to us as well. We understood most of the Spanish they were speaking, but we just did not speak it as fluently and they had very rude comments amongst themselves about us.
We got up to our room and there was huge gaps above and below the doors (where bugs or God knows what else could get in). We did not feel safe here at all! The air conditioning barely worked. The tv was junky and there was only two English speaking channels. There were mostly all Mexicans staying at this hotel and we only ran into two other couples that spoke English at this place. The walls were very thin we could hear everything that was going on next door and all around us. The shower was filthy and you either scalded yourself or took a cold shower. The two elevators were broken every day at some point and we were placed on the 8th floor, so we had to hike all the way up and down until they got it fixed for the day.
The hotel was nothing like is was described. The pools were disgusting, one was murky and the other was filled with bugs and debris. The food was pretty much the same thing every day for nearly every meal. It mostly consisted of potatoes and bread. We got fed up with this and went and ate at resturants and getting stuff from Wal-Mart. They claim to have 3 resturants and 3 bars. The one resturant was open only during certain hours and the other was only open 2 nights out of the 7 we were there. The bar (at the hotel) was only open until 11pm, so don't bother trying to get anything after that. The pool bar was only open 2 times during our stay. The beach bar consisted of a plastic table with an umbrella and a cooler with one kind of beer and a very limited selection of sodas.
The hotel beach area was awful! The chairs were ridiculous. They were plastic and the cracks had been patched up with metal wire that had rusted. We started calling them Franken chairs. Oh and don't try and relax on the beach, the locals are constantly trying to sell you junk and they come all in your personal space. It was very very annoying! The beach area was filthy, there was trash and huge dead fish all over. The water was littered with trash. The rip current will also knock you down! It is very strong! The hotel claims that the beach is a block away. It is a good mile walk across a very busy street where you risk your life trying to get across.
They have horse-drawn carriage rides on the extremely busy streets and the poor horses looked like they were being starved and worked to death. After we witnessed that, we refused to take part in any thing that had to do with animals. Cici (a water amusement part) was nearby and the hotel was suppose to have complementary tickets for guests. We requested our tickets and they were ready to charge us for them. We never went to Cici's.
We were very disappointed with Acapulco and we will never go back to Mexico! We could not believe how dirty it was and how rude the locals are. Everywhere we went we were constantly being badgered to buy something or being asked for hand-outs. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#18 of 167 in Acapulco
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#28 of 167 in Acapulco
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 167 in Acapulco
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#21 of 167 in Acapulco
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 167 in Acapulco
670 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Bananas Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bananas Hotel & Villas

Property: Real Bananas Hotel & Villas
Address: Ave Monterrey 195 Fracc Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Bananas Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Bananas Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bananas Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Bananas Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing