We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU THINK WE WOULD LEARN THE FIRST TIME!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Tropicano Acapulco
Ranked #68 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We just returned from this dump of a hotel and never in my life have I ever experienced such a bad hotel if you can call it that. The food was God awful, daily the same, the room was horrendous! The mattress we do not even want to talk about, The shower was so small you could not soap yourself below the waist. Staff is reasonable but it is not their fault, a job is a job. Do yourself a favour and do not stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed for three nights at the el tropicano. Both beds in our double room were invested with bed bugs! There were thin sheets and no mattress coverings along with very old and stained pillows. The bed was rock hard and the bathrooms were old and in need of repair. Stay elsewhere! Avoid the head to toe bites I am still covered in!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evie-363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just returned from staying at El Tropicana Hotel and it has gone down hill since we stayed there 2 years ago. The room was in poor condition with all the furniture broken or in need of repair.The closit doors were broke they just gave a small cheap bar of soap for 4 people to share no shower gel or shampoo,window in bathroom was all broken and it was the identical room we had to 2 years ago. They had also got rid of the ice macine that gave you free ice and as the rooms had no fridges in them you had to go and buy 5 kilo bags of ice from the supermarket which are heavy and awkard to carry.Final gripe was the T.V. with a terrible reception and no cable channels or if you complain as we did they'll find an old T.V from somewhere which has cable but again with a picture that is hardly viewible

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

the hotel was not in the best shape. a little run down but at least it was clean. the cabana was really neat, you eat all meals there (always buffet), however i found the food to be mediocre. what was nice was that since it was just a hotel, not resort, you got to get out and actually see the city which is much nicer! also we found that dinner ended too early (just before10) especially if you went for a walk before. BEWARE, the pool is PACKED on weekends because it is a popular hotel for the locals. however, a nice convenience is that there is a WalMart right next door if you need to buy anything. and the bar tenders/bus boys are all friendly and polite.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank LetiziaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We were treated nicely and our rooms were clean . The food was good and fresh. A basic budget property that people return to year after year. Some for over 35 yrs. We will go again Jan. 2011 but for 28 days. Met lots of nice people there. The stall were all friendly and most managed English.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed here in March for a couple of nights,nothing flash but did the job cheap and cheerfull

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

I always stay at El Tropicano, it has a great location, very friendly and helpful staff
The food at the restaurant was so great last year, we hardly ate anywhere else.
See you there for x-mas and New years
sharon winter

Stayed: December 2005
13  Thank skydives1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
2.9 mi away
Suites Angelopolis
Suites Angelopolis
#39 of 168 in Acapulco
8 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oviedo
Oviedo
#74 of 168 in Acapulco
22 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#28 of 168 in Acapulco
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amarea Acapulco
Hotel Amarea Acapulco
#53 of 168 in Acapulco
172 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Aristos Acapulco
Hotel Aristos Acapulco
#58 of 168 in Acapulco
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Acapulco

Address: Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman No. 20, Acapulco 39850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Price Range: £24 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tropicano Acapulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Hotel located 1 block from beach, 10 minutes from downtown & 20 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tropicano Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tropicano Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
El Tropicano Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco El Tropicano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing