We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many Years of Good Stays at the Tropicano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Tropicano Acapulco
Ranked #67 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Many Years of Good Stays at the Tropicano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I can only say this: I stayed at the Tropicano with groups of students from Woodberry Forest School in Virginia/USA numbering from 12 - 21 students for many years, a total of 18 times starting in 1989 ; we ALWAYS found the facilities completely adequate, breakfast buffet good and ample, and the staff(beginning with Cesar Galindo in reservations to Ruben in security, as well as the cleaning staff) to be competent and friendly. The rates were definitely affordable, and my students didn't behave like "Ugly Americans" (=internationally ridiculed carricatures), but on the contrary, behaved in such a way that we were welcomed with open arms every time we returned...

Room Tip: Select rooms on the second floor, back section, adjacent to Wal-Mart(not the street side)
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Esoudek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Transfer to the hotel from airport about 30 minutes.
An old hotel at the beginning of Costera. About 350 m from the beach. Costera is very busy 6 lanes street which is difficult to cross when you go to the beach. Rooms are small, no bath tubs - just shower. Hot water is not always, however a cold water is not cold, so you may use both facets interchangeably since there is no big difference in the water temperature. The hotel has 2 small pools. A bar serves beverages from 10.00 till 22.00. A bottled beer, vodka, tequila, dry red & white wine all day. Juice 100% - pineapple. Soft drinks - Coke, Sprite and a couple of others. A purified refrigerated water - 24/7. Food is tasty but not diversified. Breakfast - yogurt, milk, cereals, pancakes, jam, scrambled eggs, franks. Lunch & dinner - soup, 2 types of meat(chicken, beef or pork). Side dish : rice, potato, pasta or cooked vegetables. No dessert. The hotel is next to Walmart & Business Depot. Location is excellent. Taxi & local bus are at the hotel entrance. Can$ & US$ are widely accepted. Bus fare is 6 pesos. I used just local buses. They run frequently. From the hotel to Caleta is 45 minutes of unforgettable ride. You must see the shows: 1)Corrida - bull fighting on Sundays at 17.00 at Plaza de Torro at Caleta. Cost -150 pesos. Go by bus till the final stop in Caleta. 2)Divers show at Quebrada ocean front - 40 pesos. Go by bus till Zocalo and walk about 10 minutes through street market till Quebrada.
Beach is beautiful. Umbrella & chairs 40-60 pesos all day. Water relatively clean and very warm all day. Waves are small. The wind of the North North West direction brings some noticeable pollution to the beach (plastic, paper), however it was just one day of seven. Water sports are inexpensive. Parachute ride - 300 pesos, however I bargain for 220 pesos. Water jet is 30$ for 30 minutes. Banana ride - 10$.
On the streets there are lots of armed police. I felt quite secure while walking at midnight along Costera from Diana to the hotel (about 1 hour walk)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScarboroughForester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We just returned from this dump of a hotel and never in my life have I ever experienced such a bad hotel if you can call it that. The food was God awful, daily the same, the room was horrendous! The mattress we do not even want to talk about, The shower was so small you could not soap yourself below the waist. Staff is reasonable but it is not their fault, a job is a job. Do yourself a favour and do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed for three nights at the el tropicano. Both beds in our double room were invested with bed bugs! There were thin sheets and no mattress coverings along with very old and stained pillows. The bed was rock hard and the bathrooms were old and in need of repair. Stay elsewhere! Avoid the head to toe bites I am still covered in!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evie-363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just returned from staying at El Tropicana Hotel and it has gone down hill since we stayed there 2 years ago. The room was in poor condition with all the furniture broken or in need of repair.The closit doors were broke they just gave a small cheap bar of soap for 4 people to share no shower gel or shampoo,window in bathroom was all broken and it was the identical room we had to 2 years ago. They had also got rid of the ice macine that gave you free ice and as the rooms had no fridges in them you had to go and buy 5 kilo bags of ice from the supermarket which are heavy and awkard to carry.Final gripe was the T.V. with a terrible reception and no cable channels or if you complain as we did they'll find an old T.V from somewhere which has cable but again with a picture that is hardly viewible

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

the hotel was not in the best shape. a little run down but at least it was clean. the cabana was really neat, you eat all meals there (always buffet), however i found the food to be mediocre. what was nice was that since it was just a hotel, not resort, you got to get out and actually see the city which is much nicer! also we found that dinner ended too early (just before10) especially if you went for a walk before. BEWARE, the pool is PACKED on weekends because it is a popular hotel for the locals. however, a nice convenience is that there is a WalMart right next door if you need to buy anything. and the bar tenders/bus boys are all friendly and polite.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LetiziaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We were treated nicely and our rooms were clean . The food was good and fresh. A basic budget property that people return to year after year. Some for over 35 yrs. We will go again Jan. 2011 but for 28 days. Met lots of nice people there. The stall were all friendly and most managed English.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nilo
Hotel Nilo
#32 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oviedo
Oviedo
#63 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Inn Acapulco
Hotel Casa Inn Acapulco
#59 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#30 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#14 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acapulco Park Hotel
Acapulco Park Hotel
#49 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Acapulco

Property: El Tropicano Acapulco
Address: Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman No. 20, Acapulco 39850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tropicano Acapulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Hotel located 1 block from beach, 10 minutes from downtown & 20 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tropicano Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tropicano Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
El Tropicano Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco El Tropicano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing