We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely to see” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mural Diego Rivera

Mural Diego Rivera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Half-Day Acapulco City Tour
Ranked #10 of 90 things to do in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Created in 1956 and located on the side of a house, this mural is one of the city's most important cultural artifacts.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was ashame we could not go in but the outside was lovely. I would describe it as interesting but don t expect a museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    24
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

One of the places I wanted to visit in Acapulco,
Beautiful work of art, too bad the house is for sale.
It looked abandoned ,
I recommend visiting this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Funislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I saw the murals while on the Acapulco City Highlights Tour I booked with acapulcoforall.com. I was thrilled to see the murals in person but unfortunately there is no access to the house.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Sadly mostly unknown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I really love this colorful and witty mural made of a mozaic of tiles and seashells and it can be easily seen (in daylight) on the way to or from La Quebrada and it is well worth the little detour where you can also see the old Hotel Casablanca which offers some of the best views in town. Exekatlkalli (the "House of the Winds") was owned by Dolores Olmeda, one of Diego Rivera's mistresses and the mural takes up the entire outside wall. Apparently the house will soon become a museum but this hasn't happened at the time of writing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Unbelievable that this mural is in such great shape after all these years. Our driver took us - no way we could have found it on our own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mural Diego Rivera also viewed

 

Been to Mural Diego Rivera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing