We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Ranked #7 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Good workers, cleaning place, beautiful beach , good hospitality , we loved the place and the Acapulco city, we went las quebradas, old Acapulco, hotel flamingos, laz Paz church .
We have wonderful time, I hope will came back soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabiano221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Fabiano221 :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed the beach, you perceived the resort’s cleanliness and We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    309
    80
    58
    61
See reviews for
380
200
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The resort is beautiful, clean, safe, entertaining, and spacious. I can not say enough about the amenities of this resort. The grounds are exquisite, exceptional service, and spacious/clean rooms. Although the Mayan is not right on the beach, it is within walking distance and a shuttle is available all day/night. You have access to all of the resort which includes the Grand Mayan Palace and Sea Garden. All your entertainment, food, shopping, and other needs can be fulfilled on the resort. although I would not suggest NEVER leaving the resort, Acapulco is BEAUTIFUL.

All of the staff here at the Mayan are friendly and helpful. There are two employees who really made our stay here more fun, relaxing, and enjoyable, their names are Ramiro Anica and Andrez Ramirez. We enjoyed lounging by the pool, engaging with other tourist, and with the staff. Ramiro and Andrez made us feel welcome, appreciated, and respected. They are very professional and dependable.

We recommend staying at the Mayan in Acapulco, Mexico. This was truly one of the best vacations we have taken and plan to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Shannon H :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, grounds and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever. We will gladly share your comments with our pool bar’s staff as well. We are certain Ramiro and Andrés will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Mayan Palace Hotel looks fabulous for me the different activities offered me for my family as the water park, the discotheque, spa service always offering gym . I was always offering the best and friendly service. I also found a person who offered me a tour called Miguel Angel Amezcua acapulco that led me to know beautiful places where my family and I had a good the mail taxy driver amezcua836@hotmail.com his truck is # 33 they recommend is suche a nice person that really

Room Tip: The Suite is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear William S :
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our water park, the discotheque, spa, gym and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a resort review but I wanted to first comment about the awesome service provided by our driver Sabastian. We selected Sabastian after carefully researching several private drivers in the area. Although all the drivers we contacted seemed experienced and safe we were most impressed by Sabastian's thorough and fast responses to our questions. He provided us with airport transportation and a stop to the grocery store in route to the resort. He shopped with us to provide translation in the store which was a nice bonus. We booked an Acapulco City Highlights tour with him one afternoon and this was a very personable tour taking us to the Chapel of Peace, mural of Diego Rivera, jewelry shopping, Flamingo Hotel (recommend the CocoLoco), finishing with evening cliff divers. All of this was VIP service and Sabastian went above and beyond to walk with us and give us deep local history of each place we visited. The evening ended with Sabastian driving us to Tarascos, a local authentic Mexican restaurant chain. This was not a planned part of the tour, we asked him to do this extra at a place he recommended where locals frequented . We bought him dinner and the food was fantastic and inexpensive. We also booked a deep sea fishing trip through him with transportation to and from the dock included in the price. This was a private trip, just for my wife and me, on a nice size fishing boat. 35-40 feet, 2 levels, 6 lines. Captain Ricardo and his son René worked very hard to make this an event of a lifetime. We left the harbor early morning with a fantastic sunrise. We caught our first fish, a small tuna, within minutes of leaving the harbor. A short while later we and caught a huge sailfish that I fought for over 40 minutes and just as we had it close to the boat to land it took one last dive under the boat and snapped the line. Then just before the tour ended we caught a second smaller sailfish (84 inches small) which we landed successfully. I very highly recommend this fishing company, we could not have happier with our day on the water and would definitely ask Sebastián to book this company again. A final tour with Sabastian was a private beach dinner for Valentines day. This beachside restaurant typically only serves lunch into the afternoon but Sabastian called and arranged for a special meal of locally caught shrimp, lobster, and snapper at sunset. The meal and location were worth the price. Sabastian became a friend throughout the week. We look forward to a return vacation to Acapulco and will definitely seek his services again. We highly recommend him for all your transportation needs.

Now about our stay at the Grand Mayan. We traded in through RCI. The oceanside rooms are reserved for owners so our room faced the mountains and cityscape. But in reality, this was nice because our room naturally cooled off as shade covered this side of the hotel mid afternoon so we didn't need to run the air conditioning, which is another story all together. The hotel is elegant. Check in was easy but wi-fi is not included free, $90 for the week PER DEVICE which sorta blows but a must for skyping kids back home. The gym and spa amenities are also an extra charge. But, maybe worth sitting through a timeshare presentation as a negotiated benefit. The spa is incredible. steam and dry sauna and a very large hot bath as well as an icey bath. Very calming. We ate breakfast for the timeshare presentation, ate at the buffet the first night, then at the Italian restaurant at the Sea Garden another night. For all other meals we ate in our room or local restaurants off campus. The beach and swimming conditions were the best we've experienced in all our trips to Mexico, including Nuevo Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, Cancun, and Mayan Riviera. The beach was miles wide, gradual grade to the ocean, and with clean soft sand, no rocks or coarse seashell fragments. The surf was slow and gradual too, waves breaking about 80 yards out in chest deep water. The water depth in first 50 yards was ankle to knee. Very safe swimming on hard compact soft sandy bottom. There was a lifeguard on duty all day. There were plenty of covered sunning areas the entire week but you did have to get out by 10am to reserve. The pool area filled up sooner, but we like the beach so we spent a most of out time there. The best part of the beach other than cloudless skies were the massages. $20 is really inexpensive for an hour massage that in the states can go for $60-80 or more so tip well people. There are vendors on the beach just like every other Mexican resort so politely say no if you don't want anything. But there were some cool crafts, bags and sundresses so we did contribute to the local economy some. The only downside to our trip was the moldy smell in the room from the A/C. I've read other reviews since returning home that commented about he same. We informed the hotel about this but nothing was done. I can guess there is a systemic issue that eventually will be addressed. We were grateful we had a mountain view room so that the shade could cool the room later afternoon so we didn't rely on the a/c. We ran it the first night, got stuffed up, then kept if off the rest of the week. Also, there was some light construction in one room on our floor but this was not a disruption during our stay. Neither was the large scale construction going on to add on to the owner part of the resort. I would not discourage you from staying here even after reading other reviews complaining about the construction because it was not an issue. The cleaning staff was great and were appreciative of tips left for them.

We've taken a trip to Mexico each of the last 6 years and Acapulco is far and away our favorite so far. The weather was the best yet, 85 F and cloudless blue skies every day. The people were super friendly and the Diamonte zone clean and safe. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Steve Z :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are very pleased to learn you liked our resort, the spa, the beach and our staff, as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at this wonderful location and our stay in Acapulco.
Even though there was construction going on it was never disruptive of our stay. For example one night overnight a whole area had been re-landscaped. The workers did everything at night so as not to disrupt the visitors as this was an area near the pool.
Perfect sunsets EVERY night! Always a cool breeze off the water too. Great grounds to have morning walks etc. we own at Mayan Palace in Cancun and stayed here in the Grand Mayan. We loved the extra room and had a wonderful beach front view. We did also enjoy the lazy river and restaurant by the pool at the Mayan Palace. January is a wonderful month to visit!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Robin H :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our grounds, the lazy river and your ocean view.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My stay at the Mayan Palace in Acapulco was absolutely perfect. The swimming pools and grounds were absolutely magnificent and well attended to. The less than 5 minute shuttle ride to the beach was also a breeze, not a chore as some others have described. The staff was also very charming. The food at Samba, the only restaurant on the resort was absolutely sublime. I strongly recommend the chicken enchilada. Also our travel guide Baldo was the absolute best travel guide I've ever experienced during my travels. He was extremely accomodating and knowledgeable. I strongly recommend contacting him if you visit Acapulco. His email address is baldo-work@hotmail.com. He can also be found of Facebook.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jax3666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jax3666 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the pools and grounds. . We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our Party of six just visited the Mayan Palace Acapulco‎. We had an excellent time and we do expect it to visit again. As a first time visitor we found the hotel to be first class. The grounds were very well maintained. Every employee was courteous and happy to serve us and to make our stay one that we will never forget.
We were late arriving (just after midnight and after 18 hour of flights & airports). The entire complex is only accessible through a extremely secure and guarded entrance. When we walked in to Mayan Palace it was like stepping back in time. The atmosphere was breath-taking. It is one that is imposable to explain. One has to be there to in person to walk through this introductory Mayan experience.
At check in we found out that our hosts & friends had not arrived yet. We were concerned that we would not be allowed to stay without our host being there. We showed email correspondences with our host and all was accepted by a more than courteous staff behind the front desk. Everything went smoothly and from that point on we knew we had made the right decision to join our friends on their Time Share. (by the way, our friends arrived in the early afternoon the next day...bumped by the airlines the night before in Mexico City)
Our favorite restaurant was the SAMBA located right next to their fabulous pool. Whilst we were there I tried every Mexican breakfast on the menu. Every breakfast was beautifully prepared with distinctive tastes. My wife enjoyed the conventional breakfasts and added some of the exotic Mexican condiments which were very tasty and some spicier than the others.
There are grocery stores close by. A Walmart and a very similar & a little less expensive shop called the Acapulco Diamante. Both about $5.50 taxi ride from the hotel. The return ride is less expensive.
We recommend the shallow pool and the surrounding waterway. There is an extensive water park for children. All set in and around coconut palms and many other exotic palms and foliage. Again you have to be there to get the real experience. There are pool activities too and even I, a senior, joined in with the kids in making paper flowers. The youngsters made me forget my age for a while.
We ate in all the restaurants on their site and I have to admit every one was different and exquisite. All in all, their prices were very reasonable for a resort of this sort.
We spent time at the Grand Mayan as well as at Sea Garden, mainly at the beach until seeing the sun set on the Pacific horizon. We also experienced exquisite meals in these two hotels.
For those who like to enjoy some specials, as we did, there are 3 happy hours a day at each of the three hotels. (2 for one). We enjoyed the corona beer with lime & salt for about $2.75 each at happy hour. We also enjoyed Mexican Bloody Marys and of course Margaritas and Tequila Sunrises at a happy hour price of about $3.50 each.
The weather temperature was 82. The sea temperature was 82. The humidity was below 70%. The full sun was out all day. It never rained. We never sweated nor had to dry off with a towel nor did we feel sticky with the salt water of the Pacific. Unbelievable.
There were a few beach vendors selling hats, beach coverup clothing, sea shell, horse back rides, souvenirs, sand buggies, kites, masseuse, etc. Not one of them bothered us. They were all very polite and courteous. A good bargain can be had with them.
At the Grand Mayan my wife had a pedicure and I had my hair cut. A treat that we find difficult to attend to at home, because we are always rushed. There we were relaxed and enjoyed it.
We even ventured out to tour Acapulco.
The hotel can make tour reservations for you but we booked our tours with Sebastian Hernandez who runs a company called "Acapulco For All ‎.Com". He came highly recommended by another vacationer at the site. Sebastian is very knowledgeable of Acapulco and made us feel comfortable being with him. I would recommend him for all your touring needs. His rates are better than those at the hotel. Don´t just go and see beautiful Acapulco without an experienced tour guide. You can contact Sebastian direct through his web site by doing a google search of "Acapulco for all dot com" ‎Certainly he is not the only tour guide in Acapulco but he made us feel totally safe and comfortable and we learned a lot from him. He also provides pickup from & delivery to the airport.
We did so much more. The best way is to go there and enjoy the experience

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Larry R :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your experience at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 167 in Acapulco
1,649 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#2 of 167 in Acapulco
528 reviews
7.3 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Acapulco

Property: Mayan Palace Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121 | Playa Diamante, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Acapulco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Mayan Palace Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing