We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not by the beach but great pools!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not by the beach but great pools!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the smaller Mayan hotel in Acapulco and no view of the ocean but I like their outdoor pools better than the Grand Mayan. The water park is definitely great especially for kids and way better! They also have a regular shuttle service to the beach if you'd like to go there.

They have limited food options but at least they have a small restaurant if you'd like to just stay in and not go anywhere. They have decent sized rooms and hotel employees are very nice, friendly and respectful.

The parking is a little troublesome as you have to walk quite a ways if you don't do valet parking.

This hotel like other chains or big hotels in Mexico will try to sell you a timeshare. If you are not careful, you might end up buying one! Be sure you know what you are getting yourself into.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChasingSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    314
    83
    59
    61
See reviews for
405
205
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Even we stayed at the Grand Mayan, we visited this sister resort. It is a new resort about 3 years old. Great for families with young children because of the children water park and lazy river that runs all around the different pools at the water park. The rooms are new and comfortable. The food at the Sambas Restaurant was delicious. The service outstanding. Don't forget to bring your mosquito spray...The one downside is that there is no access to the beach, you have to take the shuttle bus to the Grand Mayan which is in Destruction /Construction.

Room Tip: This is only a 3 story hotel. All rooms have view to the Water Park/Pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary,canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lots of activities for all ages,or great pools if you just want to relax,lots of amenities here as well as the room are very clean and comfortable,lots of dining options at the resort as well,Costco is close by but to Acapulco itself a bit of a cab ride,beaches are very accessible from the resort,but be careful of underwater tows when swimming,all in all a family friendly resort,very well maintained

Room Tip: facing the pool area,or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack123156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I am not the type of person that travels to the beach to be at a pool. To go to the beach at this resort one needs to walk about 1/2 km and take a shuttle. Other issues include: beach is open-ocean and it is not safe; Internet usage has separate charge, not cheap, per laptop, ipad or iphone; and no business center to print boarding passes. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was here on business, things might be different for pleasure travelers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rialto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Let me start by saying the cab drivers are wonderful.We arrived at midnight on Saturday, from the pics we we're expecting a resort on the the sands of Acapulco. Instead, the next morning we realized the room they put us in was facing an abandoned building that looked as if a hurricane had just destroyed it. I wouldn't suggest doing that to someone on the first visit. There is only one restaurant on the property and it's located outside near the pool. Unfortunately, I guess we came doing the rainy season. Every morning, you could find bucket throughout the hotel because the ceiling was leaking, part of the ceiling fell in on the day we checked out. If you are looking to sleep in, forget it. If housekeeping isn't slamming doors, the guest will be or if you can tolerate all the children screaming throughout the morning or nights then you might be fine. We decided to check out the grand Mayan, which is on the property. The ponds all stink and have green slim floating on top with a foul odor to go along with it. There is a lot of construction going on and it takes away from some of the activities. When all else fails, you think a walk on the beach would make up for it.STOP! Dot even waste your time. The beach is so filthy, you can find anything from bottles, trash, diapers, whatever you can imagine. There is a chance you can step on it. We travel to Mexico all the time and this has to have been our worse experience. On the bright side, Acapulco bay is much like Cabo San Lucas.. The beaches where clean and the food was good. The view was amazing. Good luck, for anyone staying at the Mayans... Also, when you stay at the Mayan resort remember you have to take a cab any and everywhere you go.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in Acapulco bay, it will save you a few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mavericks057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nice Family vacation taken. The section where we stayed in a few years ago was under construction. We had wonderful food at all the restaurants that were open. The ocean water is very clean, however, it is not blue water. This didn't affect our vacation at all because there was a lot of activities going on.

Loved it !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear PickiTraveller :
Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation and that you enjoyed our food options.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were very excited to go to Acapulco. We try to see as many places as possible and we have never been there. The resort was great. Very clean, friendly staff and smiles all around. I felt very comfortable in the room. Happy hour was from 3-5 on property and they were very cool about making it quite fun! The staff at Samba (the restaurant) and the swim up pool bar were just plain fantastic. We golfed at the resort course, Copra. We are huge golfers and the course was absolutely beautiful and well kept. Every morning, we ate a small breakfast and took a long walk on the beach. I read the reviews before we went and a gentleman named Baldo Gomez continued to be mentioned as a possible guide. Everyone said he was the best so I contacted him. He responded very quickly and we scheduled an airport pick-up and discussed a couple tours while we were there. He was at the airport on time holding a sign with our names on it. When he dropped us off at the hotel, we knew we were going to spend more time with him. He picked us up a couple of days later and we had a great day touring Old Acapulco then enjoying a wonderful dinner overlooking the ocean. Later in the week, he took us to a Lagoon that was a step back in time with exceptional food. We sat at a white clothed table overlooking the lagoon eating red snapper, spicy shrimp, homemade guacamole and flour tortillas. He said he was going to take us to eat food that "grandma" makes and he wasn't kidding! It was some of the best food we've ever had. We felt so safe with him. He's extremely knowledgeable about the area. He was born and raised there and he's quite a lover of his hometown! He laughed with us and made us feel completely comfortable. I've known him a week and find myself wishing he was a friend who lived closer. Thank you very much Baldo - I give our vacation extremely high ratings!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Acapulco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Lisa0323 :
Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, the golf course, the pool, you perceived the resort’s cleanliness and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this.

will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

Mayan Palace Acapulco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,723 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#10 of 167 in Acapulco
1,056 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
303 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 167 in Acapulco
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Acapulco

Property: Mayan Palace Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121 | Playa Diamante, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Acapulco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mayan Palace Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing