We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acamar Acapulco
Ranked #100 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Reviewed 25 May 2009

First of all, if you are looking for the "American" Acapulco experience, this is not the hotel for you. I vacationed with my Mexican boyfriend, so although I do speak Spanish, he did most of the communicating. This hotel is in the Acapulco Tradicional area, where the locals like to vacation. Yes, everyone speaks Spanish, and yes, you will be approached constantly by vendedores. But, that is what Mexico is about! You will find the rooms clean and cheerful. We stayed on the "mountain" side, which is really the "street" side, for economical purposes, but if you have the money to spend, I would suggest staying on the beach side. The pool is clean, unless there are a lot of people in it. The beach is small and charming, and the hotel is open, so there is a nice breeze in the lobby. There are air conditioners in the rooms, which was a necessity in May. The restaurants in this area are all authentic. If you are in need of something at a larger store, you will have to travel, but the buses come by every few minutes, and you will always find a taxi. In short, I would definitely recommend this hotel, but you should love the Mexican culture, and you should speak Spanish or be travelling with someone who does.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed in the Acamar after traveling through Mexico. Being very tired of traveling and all the different hotels we were super happy to stay in this hotel. Although there were some constructions renewing the recepcion area and some sort of bar at the pool we had a great time and could enjoy our stay. I must say that the staff is very friendly and give the place a nice personality! I really recommend the place to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmfornaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

After arriving and not knowing where the hotel was we were in awe when se saw the beautiful beach from the front desk. The people were very young and very friendly and they can get you about anything you want. It is a small hotel and it is so worth it. We got to meet the owner who is always there and he gave us some great pointers. The beach was very crowded on the weekend but during the week we were the only ones there and the water was beautiful. I came here to get away from the stress of the city and I am going back for semana santa so enjoy some more piña coladas at the bar. Oh they also have great live music on the weekend during the evenings. Nothing bad to say about the place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nizaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

first thing - was a long way from airport to the hotel but we discovered this hotel has the nicest beach of Acapulco,
about personel we recived good atention from them so they use to smile the most of the time actually they were pretty good english speakers i think the most of the personel were new...... so whatever......i recived upgrade from mountain view to ocean view room i don´t know what was the reason but i do like it.
i got a brand new mini split in my room and kitchenett, the only thing is i had to wait 5 minutes to get hot water on the shower but i don´t mind.
by the nigth is so quiet i don´t think this is a good place for young people to have fun however is perfect to relax being away from noice and high music. it is not a four stars hotel but is clean
just i paid like a 45 bucks, i woud like to come back with my family think is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank littlesunshine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseLuisAlvarez80, Revenue Manager at Hotel Acamar Acapulco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2009

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your preference. I would line to apologyze for the inconveniences you went through in our property. We are doing our best to improve many services and assure you a better and more suitable stay.

Hope you visit us again soon.

Greetings.

Acamar Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

well - after a bad start on arrival with the reception staff speaking little english and the rooms we were given were awful - things did turn out great. We were a party of 3 couples from the UK so after a long long journey we didnt need the bad room start!!!!! the next morning we were given alternate rooms with fantastic pacific ocean views (why we didnt get these the night before is beyond me).

the hotel was basic but clean. staff were friendly and helped us immensly over the next few days with our lost luggage!!! Great location for the beach and a great restarant/bar on the beach a minutes walk away.

I would recommend this hotel - just try not to arrive in the middle of the night when no pne speak english and you are extremley tired!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: November 2008
3  Thank BLONDIE123ENGLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseLuisAlvarez80, Revenue Manager at Hotel Acamar Acapulco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2009

Greetings.

Thank you very much for your comment and I would like to invite you to keep visiting our hotel. We appreciate your preference, we make sure that all your comments are taken into consideration to improve our services.

We hope you visit us again.

Regards,

Acamar Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

First of all, this hotel is on the beach of a BOAT MARINA. The pictures make it look great, but it isn't! The water looks clean but there's all kinds of candy wrappers/cigarette butts/garbage floating around in it and I definitely didn't want to go swimming in it!!

Plus the beach guys want to charge you to "rent" the chairs to sit under the umbrella's w/ shade.

You have to take a taxi if you want to go ANYWHERE decent because there is NOTHING around this hotel except Oxxo and a liquor store. Plus, if you don't know spanish, you're screwed because the people that work there don't speak it either...

Not to mention there was mold growing in the shower of our room... the a/c barely works...we had problems with the lights working and then not working..and then working again..... there was no fridge, and the t.v. was way off to the side of the room...would have been impossible to watch anything from your bed...


DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank writethisd0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We needed a hotel for just one night following a a cruise on Princess. If you're looking for a luxury hotel you better try a Hilton or Sheraton, but for less than $100 per night this is a great value.

We had booked an Oceanview room with a terrace. We arrived about 11 AM, well before scheduled check-in time, and they told us we could wait for about one hour for our room to be ready however they did have a room available immediately if we wanted to take it. We took the room on the sixth floor with Oceanview but no balcony and Windows that were clouded which obscured the view. I was disappointed and went to the desk to complain and they immediatly gave us a much nicer room on the fourth floor with large balcony and great Oceanview.

The desk people were always so helpful. Most of them spoke pretty good English. Any request or question was taken care of quickly and with a smile.

We were there on a Saturday and the beaches and streets were crowded with Mexican vacationers. Children everywhere having a great time on the beautiful Caleta beach. The hotel restaurant was not open on Saturday afternoon, but they suggested right next door was La Cabana restaurant. We got a great lunch for a very reasonable price and a beautiful beach view. Next door and across the street are convenience stores that have snacks, and beer, etc.

The hotel was clean, the room was quite pleasant, but no washcloths. You have to request that they start the air-conditioner and provide the remote control for the TV. The AC works beautifully. The elevators are small and seem to require some maintenance to keep them running properly. I asked the desk to arrange for a taxi at 4:45 AM to get us to the airport. There was a comfortable airport than waiting for us at 4:30 AM. All in all this was a pleasant hotel with nice people running things.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Suites Sherezada
Suites Sherezada
#83 of 168 in Acapulco
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aristos Acapulco
Hotel Aristos Acapulco
#58 of 168 in Acapulco
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acapulco Park Hotel
Acapulco Park Hotel
#35 of 168 in Acapulco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Calinda Beach Acapulco
Calinda Beach Acapulco
#12 of 168 in Acapulco
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boca Chica Hotel
Boca Chica Hotel
#24 of 168 in Acapulco
213 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Hai Hotel
Bali Hai Hotel
#107 of 168 in Acapulco
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acamar Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acamar Acapulco

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman No. 26 | Fracc. Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico (Formerly Acamar Beach Resort)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range: £41 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acamar Acapulco 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on Caleta Beach - it has the closest rooms to the ocean in all of Acapulco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acamar Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Acamar Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing