We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of El Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Hotelito
Ranked #107 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We had planned to stay in Acapulco for five days of our two week trip to Mexico. We had booked at El Hotelito based on the reviews available on this site. When we arrived at the hotel at around 2pm, our room wasn't ready. We waited for about an hour in the lobby for our room. To their credit, they offered us a complimentary beverage while we were waiting. When we got to our room, we were quite disappointed. First of all, the Hotelito does not have an elevator and we were on the third floor. It wasn't a problem just a bit of a pain when you forgot something in the room. Second of all, El Hotelito is not a modern hotel, it's an old Acapulco joint that's been revamped wth a bit of white paint. The room itself was relatively clean. The rest of the hotel, not so much. The cushions on the chairs next to the pool were stained and so were the curtains in the room. It all felt a bit old and dingy. The location however is good. Close to the beach and restaurants. The staff is friendly but very young and somewhat inexperienced. If you are 20 and want a cheap place to go party, this might be for you but it wasn't for us. After two nights, we decided to leave and go back to Mexico D.F. sooner than planned. It took many many weeks and many emails to get our money back, but we managed to get refunded for two night.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cachupina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 41 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mexico City
17
Reviewed 21 March 2006

Hello,
If you are looking for a vacation full of adventure and fun, the Hotelito is not the place where you will find it. Me and my friends just came back from Acapulco and we experienced the worst service an hotel can provide to fulfill your expectations. Despite the fact that Acapulco is an amazing place to go to the Hotelilo will restrict your plans in many ways. When you pay for a place to stay you expect a good service and availabilty of many things. So take this advice seriously.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2006

El Hotelito is Acapulco's hidden secret. The place is very clean, the location is great (only one block away from the beach and one block away from the restaurants and clubs), and the hotel staff is very friendly! Not once did I have to ask for my key when I returned from the beach because they knew who I was and what room I was staying in! The pool is nicely decorated and it is a refreshing swim under the hot Mexican sun. The rooms are average, but extremely clean! The hotel has a great policy of not allowing anyone under 21, and it really helps. Some of the other hotels were loud and boisterous, but this place was relaxing and mature. My only complaint about this hotel is that there is not elevator, but the fourth floor is the top floor. I would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
NY
112
Reviewed 14 September 2005

Some friends and my self arrived in Acapulco without a hotel reservation... We asked to the taxi driver where could we stay? Nice hotel, not expensive, good location and cool. The taxi driver headed us to el hotelito where more than all that, DO NOT ACCEPT KIDS, great!!!! The price was really nice for the quality of the place. Definetely the pool and the cleaness of the rooms are the strongest points of the place. Also, it is very close to Walmart, restaurants, clubs and 30 steps from the beach. The manager gave us a nice discount so we stayed there and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2005

I went to Acapulco with my boyfriend and two of his friends last week. I had booked at Hotel El Tropicano. When we got there, the A/C was not working, the TV was broken and the place was very messy. We were paying 70 dollars a night. Next day we started looking around for another place. Hotels that didn't seem very luxurious were around 100 dollars a night. When we got to El Hotelito and looked at the fancy lobby, I thought it would be a waste of time to even ask. The guy at the reception (probably the owner) was very friendly and gave us a tour to the entire hotel (which is tiny), and told us the rate: 80 dollars a night, but since we were staying the whole week, he made us 25% discount.
The rooms are spacy and very fancy. They have remote-control high-quality A/C a safe box and cable TV. Also, some of them have a nice porch. The pool is small but with an amazing design and you can swim 24 hours a day. The little bar by the pool is also very nice, although the drinks there are expensive. Absolutely all the personnel we met at the hotel is very friendly.
El hotelito is 1 minute walk away from the beach, 5 minute-walk away from the Wal-Mart and about 7 minute-walk away from two of the best clubs in Acapulco: El Alebrije and Baby'O.
El Hotelito doesn't accept kids, which makes the whole environment more romantic. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Acapulco.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Marlen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mustaky300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#26 of 168 in Acapulco
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
3.8 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#15 of 168 in Acapulco
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Las Torres Gemelas Suites & Beach Resort
2 mi away
Sands Acapulco Hotel & Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Acapulco Malibu
Acapulco Malibu
#27 of 168 in Acapulco
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito

Address: Calle Canonero Bravo 105 | FraccCosta Azul, Acapulco 39850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Price Range: £31 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hotelito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing