We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“50th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We recently visited a Acapulco 6/2k14. We had the most amazing time. The accommodations and food was fabulous. Benjamin Alarcon was the absolutely phenomenal as our private tour guide and new found friend. His knowledge of the country and the city was exemplary! His dedication and professionalism and availability could not be matched. He even took us to the airport on our departure day at 4:30 am!!! I highly recommend Benjamin Alarcon if you ever visit Acapulco

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    565
    104
    62
    47
See reviews for
782
585
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Mayan resort in Acapulco. We had a 2 bedroom suite that overlooked the golf course. If you get an ocean view right now, you'll end up with a view of an empty lake and lots of construction. I would wait for construction to be complete. It will be fabulous when done. A new pool area did open a day before we left (really about 4 or 5 pools on varying levels) that will be separated from some of the noise if you will be going this year. You can take a shuttle to the Grand Mayan Palace which has a wonderful pool and relaxing lazy river. They just don't have the beautiful ocean view from the pool area.

What made our trip fabulous though was hiring a driver/travel guide for the week. I would highly recommend Roberto Alarcon (robertoalrey@yahoocom.mx or from the US 011 521 744-421-9608.) He speaks very good English and is just so nice and very knowledgeable about Acapculco. He picked us up from the airport and dropped us by a store to pick up a few groceries for the room... he'll do this anytime you need a little shopping. His assistance through the week eased many of our worries about getting around in the city. He made dinner recommendations and then took care of the reservations. Roberto also took us on a city and ruins tour... both were excellent. Oh, and photos... We have so many good pictures from the week because Roberto was always thinking about the photo ops. Roberto definitely made our trip worthwhile. I couldn't imagine our week without him!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent a week at the Grand Mayan through an RCI trade-in of our timeshare. We had a two bedroom suite which overlooked the golf course side. The suite was beautifully laid out and the beds were very comfortable. Each of the bedrooms had a hot tub, and one a jacuzzi. Living room and kitchen were comfortable and the suite could have slept 12..... Only serious complaint about the suite was the smell. No matter what time of day, how much or how little air conditioning, there was a strong musty smell in the rooms.

Staff was always willing to help and very friendly in corridors, at pool, beach etc. The resort is going through work in redoing their lake but unlike other reviewers, we did not find it troublesome. It meant a slightly longer walk around, that's all. The resort is large and you need a shuttle to get around -- but it was prompt and even went out of the way to leave us off in unusual spots.

If you are there for a timeshare, we recommend avoiding the spiel given by the staff who are trying to get you to buy into their timeshare. This is common practice but at this location the staff were rather more aggressive than most, and somewhat manipulative in their methods. In short, we wasted 3 hours! Of course, if you are a large group, their breakfast and 10% discount they then give you on hotel services might make it worth your time.

We, like several other of the reviewers, used a local guide named Sebastian Hernandez Ricardo. I recommend him highly for whatever tours you wish to take. We went on the City Tour, Eco Tour and tour of the Tehuacalco Ruins. We were happy with all of these -- finding Sebastian to be warm, friendly, funny, knowledgeable and flexible. Read what I and othes wrote about him under AcapulcoForAll.

BTW - he gave us good advice that the 100% Natural restaurant outside the resort had free wifi. This turned out to be very important once we discovered how outrageous the prices charged for wifi were at the Grand Mayan. Walking thought to this restaurant is not easy in that there are no paths and you walk in the road next to a rather smelly pond.

Room Tip: Try and get close to the elevator. We had a long walk each time we went up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BikeIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just got back from our family trip. It was our first time in Acapulco and at this resort. Wait until construction is over. They said that it will be ready in 2015, but I'd give them until 2016 and confirm completion before booking.
• There’s a horrible smell right by the hotel on the path to the pool and beach.
• The music at Mondo was disappointing. They play the same videos and music every night and you can see the same thing from your own room on one of the channels.
• Under staffed; we had to call in to guest services to send someone to come and clean our room.
• Food in the resort is pricey as usual. The walk to Walmart or Mega is 20 minutes to buy your own food. Take a taxi back if you carry a lot of groceries or walk back. Ask the taxi driver how much it would cost you before hopping into the car. Should be no more than 40.00 pesos per trip; not per person.
• Unlike the other Mayans, transportation from the airport is not complimentary. They will arrange transportation for you, but it will cost twice as much as a taxi. Transportation from the airport was provided for $300 pesos. Research suggested that this should have cost $150 pesos. We asked to stop at Telcel on the way and ended up being taken for quite a ride and well over an hour out of the way and the price escalated to $700 pesos. When we mentioned this to Mayan management, they did apologize and provided complimentary transportation to the airport for our return trip.
• We usually are welcomed with a glass of water or a small drink; the receptionist did not offer us anything. One of the other front desk people corrected this oversight, but we had to ask.
• Leticia, the international representative for the presentation, didn't offer anything for the presentation except the "free breakfast." We found our activities and adventures on our own, a little late, but we were able to go snorkeling and to see "La Quebrada."
• A taxi took us from the Walmart to this area for $200 pesos. We just walked to Walmart/Mega and ask the taxi drivers how much it cost to take you there. Coming back from La Quebrada is the same; $200 pesos.
• Try not to go in the rainy season. The water is less clear when the weather stirs it up.
• It’s a good size gym and spa but the hours of operation show a lack of understanding of when people would actually want to use the spa. Gym hours are 7-7 and spa hours are 8-6 and they are posted as temporary hours. The original hours, still posted, are equally ridiculous. Two staff members denied us entry to get in 15 minutes before closing, so it seems some of the staff run their own schedule. I asked one of the staff members how many people use the facilities before noon and was told that it was 5-6. It gets really busy in the afternoon and is busiest when they close and start chasing people out. I recommended that they move their hours so that they open and close 5 hours later.
• If you want to lay down by the beach area be aware that the local vendors will come to offer their services or sell you something every 3 minutes and it can be the same vendor over and over again.
• Internet is offered for a very expensive fee. This is the same at all the Mayan resorts, unless you buy in at a relatively high level (Bliss or maybe Luxxe). Of all the shameless money grabs perpetrated at vacation resorts, this is probably the most infuriating one of all. The owner lives in Houston, and has been educated in the states, so he knows that he lives in a new millennium where we are able to get free WiFi in coffee shops, restaurants and virtually any hotel that we could choose to go to instead of his resort (and this includes Motel 6). That this money grab continues unabated does not speak well to the character of ownership. I recommend using a wireless internet service while in Mexico to keep up with email. I used Telcel. There are others. I spent $399 pesos for every 3 Gb used and did this twice for my family of three for two weeks. The hotel charges for unlimited internet were $170 pesos per day, or $950 pesos per week. But here’s the catch… That’s not per room, or even per person; it’s per device. So, we used internet for two weeks (no video streaming) using my own phone as a hot spot on 2 additional phones, one tablet and one laptop. If we had done the same thing using the hotel’s internet that would have been $950 x 2 weeks x 5 devices for $9500 pesos. I got a sim card for $149 pesos and two data bundles at $399 pesos, for a total of $947 pesos.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband had a great vacation at the Grand Mayan Acapulco. After reading reviews we contacted Baldo Gomez at baldo-work@hotmail.com or phone 744-160-16-04. He became or personal travel guide. Baldo picked us up at the air port so we didn't have to worry about how to get to the hotel after arriving. Baldo speaks very good english and is very knowledgable on Acapulco history which was quite an asset on the tours we chose to take. He never pressured us to do anything but provided us with information as to what he would recommend depending on our interest.

The hotel had beautiful plants and decor that are well maintained. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked our stay through RCI. We knew before that it was the rainy season and not a high tourist season. The rain wasn't a problem since it would only rain for part of the day with plenty of time to sit by the beautiful pool. The down side was the bed was very hard and the kitchen wasn't equipped for much cooking. We went to Walmart and got some groceries for breakfast and lunches. There is a hugh construction project on the beach side of the hotel. I would recommend staying on the city view side to have more quiet. It didn't bother us since we are early risers but construction starts by 8:15 AM and goes until dark.

Over all I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: City View is quieter due to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Grand Mayan. We traded thru RCI and had a city view 2 bedroom. It was really nice and had enough space for all of us. If you turned off the a/c the room would become quite musty smelling. The bed were like rocks but only myself and my husband found them hard. The kids said that they slept great. The pool at the Grand Mayan was very nice. The only thing is there are no umbrellas so you have to keep moving to follow the shade. Our kids loved the large pool at the Mayan Palace which is a short shuttle ride away. The food at the restaurants were average nothing spectacular. We walked a couple times to Walmart which is about 40 mins away then took a taxi back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgarybrauns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barto, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This resort was beautiful. The pools were great, service was great. My husband and I wanted to pretty much be left alone and mostly we weren't bothered. It is under construction, but that didn't matter to us. We followed other reviews and decided to hire Sebastian Hernandez online via his website acapulcoforall.com -he was efficient and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable, informed, and cared for. We took his Acapulco City Highlights tour (which is a must) He is a very well informed person holding an in-depth knowledge of the Mexican history. He gave us the most personalized, and breath taking tour of the sights of Acapulco. He took us also to a Mexican fiesta‎.Drop Sebastian an email, he is very prompt in getting back to you and I guarantee you will not meet a better tour guide in Acapulco. If you are thinking of booking a trip to Acapulco, get in touch with him sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: We were on the city side and had a beautiful view 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
3.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Property: The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Acapulco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Grand Mayan Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing