We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flexible Staff Willing To Go Above and Beyond”
Review of Costa Careyes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costa Careyes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Flexible Staff Willing To Go Above and Beyond”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

El Careyes has some of the most flexible staff that my wife and I have ever experienced. Despite that their menu of food and excursions/activities is not long nor detailed, any of these experiences can be completely customized to meet your needs at a very minimal cost.
The rooms are cozy, nothing to write home about, but the ocean front suites are indeed ocean front and have a wonderful view of the sunset. The plunge pool/hot tub is not as "private" as one would necessarily like during a romantic stay but is great to cool down (there's no heaters on them) in the late afternoon or get away from the small crowd on the beach or by the pool.
The food is exceptional. The menu beats the buffet (in price and quality); two can eat for the price of one buffet when using the menu. Many items can be created with a simple query. Ask for fish tacos or quesadillas; they're not on the menu but they are fantastic. For breakfast, try "Huevos Matalenos". They are an old Yucatan recipe and very good.
The excursions are very simple and are more charters than guided tours. Boat rentals allow you to see or do a single activity or a combination of many. In the span of two hours, we cruised up and down the coast, snorkeled at Playa Lobo (ask for it by name), and fished for Mahi Mahi and Tuna which the staff will make into dinner or a snack for you at no charge upon disembarkment. At the polo club, you can ask which evenings they will be allowing you to release newborn turtles into the ocean. There is no charge for this activity (you can offer a donation) though you have to arrange for a cab to take you through the wilderness to a hidden cove (costs around US$40).
The one negative is that there are no traditional markets within 1.5 hours of the resort. For those that like to bargain, I would recommend asking the hotel to transport you to Barra de Navidad market prior to your flight out. 2-2.5 hours will give you plenty of time to shop the handicrafts (gems/jewelry, pots, wood pots/trays/utensils).
The hotel staff will do anything and everything to satisfy your every need. The prices are very reasonable for a resort (we spent ~US$1400 for airport transportation, food, alcohol, and three excursions over the span of 8 days). I would recommend trying Playa Rosa restaurant one evening but split an appetizer and an entre as the sizes are large and prices are higher than the resort's restaurant. It is a quaint restaurant right on the beach... reservations are a must (it only has 10 tables) and the menu is on a chalkboard that they walk to your table. Try the pasta, it's their specialty. Avoid the guacamole; El Careyes Resort has the best you will have throughout the entire vacation - it is unbeatable.
It is a great resort for those that enjoy laying by the beach/pool, doing a few things, and catching some sun. If you are looking for a resort where the pace is fast and there are constant activities for you to engage in, look elsewhere. For a secluded romantic resort, El Careyes is better than offered.

  • Liked — Food and Flexible Staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Shopping
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    18
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

My wife runs a destination weddings travel and consulting business specializing in Mexico. She has to go to all the resorts for site inspections; I tag along on all the trips to Mexico!

El Careyes is a wonderful destination! It is hard to believe the rugged beauty of this location. We flew into Puerto Vallarta and rented a car for th 3 hour drive south. This is a long, mountainous, 2-lane, twisty, jungle, road passing through what I would call villages. Recommendation: if you can fly into Manzania instead of Puerto Vallarta and/or have someone drive for you. Its worth it! On the way back we had to purchase gas in a village out of a old waterbottle (sold this way)

El Careyes:

What I liked:
- spectacular resort
- on the beach
- several small islands immediately off the coast; great for sea-kayaking
- grounds; lush, tropical, paradise like
- horse back riding
- very romantic
- food is excellent, every meal great
- service, they go out of their way to serve and please you
- you truly feel you are in another country
- The castles! Check one out if you can, amazing! fairy tale wedding locations
- Sunsets, Sunsets, Sunsets.... see picture

The not like list:
There are not many dislikes here.
- the rooms are a bit rustic and dated but very clean
- insects depending on the time you are there
- driving to the resort (again, have someone else get you there)

Conclusion:
If you are looking for an out of the way luxurious place for a vacation, an adventure or a wedding, consider Careyes.

  • Liked — beach, remote location
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Very remote place so perfect if you are really trying to get away. The service was really incredible and everyone was so attentive.

  • Liked — service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiadoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Charming! My hubby and I just returned from El Careyes Hotel in Costa Allegre, Mexico, for a 4 day anniversary celebration. The hotel is very romantic and small - just the way we like it. Our room was spacious and quaint with nice touches like chocolates in a jar, fresh fruit, colorful paint, local handpainted art, soft slippers and robes. But the best was the very private ocean front outdoor deck with lounge chairs and hot tub. What a spectacular view of the bay and the little island offshore! We were definitely not disappointed. The food at the restaurant is terrific, the mojitos were some of the best I've had and the staff are really friendly and go out of their way to do anything they can to make your stay memorable. If I have to find a downside I would say that they water can sometimes have some clarity issues due to currents bringing in algae and foam and depending on the day. While we were there we saw clear water and some not so clear, but I don't think it's due to pollution. It looks like it's just naturally occuring conditions. Also, it is rather difficult to reach the resort from where we live because there are no direct flights and you have to drive either 1 1/2 hours from Manzanillo or 3 hours from Puerto Vallarta, and the drive in from Manzanillo, although shorter, was not pretty. This makes for a very long travel day. But once you're there, it's really very beautiful. We stayed during their slow season and practically had the place to ourselves. The beach next door at Playa Rosa (accessed through Las Casitas de las Flores) was empty and only a 5 minute walk. We ate at their beachfront restaurant and it was really yummy and even more romantic at night. This is a very relaxing, small and unique resort suited to people who like something a little different and quiet. Although I do hear that at Christmas and New Year's it gets much more lively and crowded. All that said, we had a wonderful time and left feeling very relaxed and rejuvenated. If you have a little sense of adventure and love finding out-of-the-way small hotels this would be a perfect place for you. If I could just find a way to get there easier and quicker . . . , but then it probably wouldn't be uncrowded and unspoiled for long.

  • Liked — Our ocean front room and gorgeous, intimate feel of hotel.
  • Disliked — Very inconvenient location unless you can afford a helicopter or private jet!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank domrocsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2007

This hotel, located a couple of hours south of Pueto Vallarta, was managed previously by Starwood hotels but they left when the hotel was going to be sold (although I saw that it is still part of the Mexico Boutique Hotels group). The deal fell through so the hotel is still owned by the original owners and managed by them now as well. We wanted to see how they were doing so we drove down for the weekend. Just want to stay that the service is just like it was back with Starwood; staff are doing a great job. We had a wonderful time, food was excellent, but the staff were the best part. It looks like they may have put off a little of some of the maintenance during the potential purchare phase, but it still looks great. The meandering pool in front of the beach is a classic! One of the all-time great getaways in Mexico.

  • Liked — The service, the staff and the location
  • Disliked — It is a little isolated
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

This was the third summer my wife and I got away for a break at El Careyes. We love this place. Due to the uncertainty of the resort closing for renovation the occupancy was very low, but the resort was fully staffed and service and food were great. We think the food was better than our past visits.

The drive from PV is no problem, but plan on 3 hours.

This trip we had a beachfront Jr. Suite and really enjoyed it. The beachfront suites are smaller than the ocean view Jr. Suites, but we really enjoyed the view from our suite #22. I think many of the room pictures were taken in suites 20,21,22.

We always eat at the resort except for the fish shack for lunch at the beach next door. It is fun to walk over to enjoy that beach also.

We love the staff at the resort. Many of the staff remembered us from past visits and were very welcoming. Service was great during our entire stay. Spa was very good.

We also visited Cancun this summer which confirmed El Careyes is the place for us! If you want lots of action, this is not the place for you. But, if you want great service, good food, and a very isolated comfortable beach resort you cannot beat El Careyes.

Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PurpleTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

So many things went wrong. The resort was beautiful at first glance, but a closer look revealed many things wrong that you just don't expect from a resort like that. They had no internet access, no locks for the doors, bugs all over our room, bathroom is small with no door, the jacuzzi didn't work, and the resort overall could use some loving touches. In all fairness they are expecting some renovations this year, so perhaps some things will be fixed. The drive in from Puerto Vallarta was horrible! 3 hours through the curvy mountains left us car sick. The pool was beautiful, as was the view of the ocean from the ocean front suite. The beach could be cleaner, but still nice because it is private. We were just expecting an oasis, that was definitely not what we encountered there.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank GaSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Careyes
24.5 mi away
La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates
19.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Tonala
Hotel Posada Tonala
#1 of 1 in La Manzanilla
8 reviews
15.9 mi away
Las Alamandas
Las Alamandas
#1 of 1 in Quemaro
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Polinesia Wellness Resort
11.8 mi away
Casa Punta Perula Bed & Breakfast Hotel
16.0 mi away
Punta Serena
Punta Serena
#1 of 3 in Tenacatita
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Careyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Careyes

Property: Costa Careyes
Address: Km. 53. 5 Carretera 200 Barra de Navidad - Pto. Vallarta | Barra de Navidad, Careyes 48970, Mexico (Formerly El Careyes Beach Resort)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Careyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Careyes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Private Estate Resort in the Mexican Pacific ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Costa Careyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Careyes Beach Hotel Careyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing