We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Property"”
Review of Villa Escondida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Escondida
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The location is great. The Villa is beautiful. The service is exceptional. Isabel is "The Queen". I highly recommended this wonderful property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from two weeks at Villa Escondida. It was a charming and elegant place and we were lucky to experience two of the four rooms during our stay. Isobel and the staff keep the place in pristine condition and the breakfasts of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and pastries in the dining room overlooking the ocean were always fresh and filling. Isobel is there to help with all your needs - booking tours, restaurants and giving information about the area. It was disappointing to find that the bar downstairs had closed 2 weeks before our arrival and that a flood of the nearby Copalita River has left the beach small and quite rocky with no room for the lounges and umbrellas we had seen in publicity photos. Such is nature, and it did not deter us from daily dips in the ocean followed by basking in the sun and lounging in the pool where we had a spectacular view of the coastline. There are several restaurants in La Bocana and we tried them all. La Concha, run by Zack and his wife Elsa, in the town square was one we returned to almost daily. Inexpensive beer and food made with the freshest ingredients right down to grinding fresh cinnamon for arroz con leche. (You won't find a better margurita anywhere!) It is a bit of a drive into La Crucecita (65 or 70 pesos each way by taxi) so it's best to make a day of it. The Copalita Archeological site is a short walk from the Villa and a must see. All in all a glorious two weeks. We are in love with Huatulco and hope to be back. (Be prepared for a 425 peso taxi ride from the airport.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 135michele_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We and two other couples rented the Villa for eight days over New Years. What a great place! The minute you walk into the courtyard you know you've picked the right place. The view, the beach, the pool deck, the family restaurants in the surrounding village; everything was just right. We didn't even mind the rooster crowing in the morning. The rooms were great; especially the master suite. Architectually the Villa was one of the best properties we have ever stayed in and we've rented quite a few Villas on the many trips we've taken.

The Huatulco area itself was also great. The town centers of La Crucecita and Santa Cruz are great little areas where you can eat and shop. We rented a car and got out quite a bit and played golf a few times. Nice course also and very reasonable.

But best of all was Isabella and the staff at the Villa. She really made the trip 5 stars and made us feel "at home". From breakfast every morning to cooking us lunch and dinners, and waiting on us at poolside, she and the staff were fantastic. And she had great recommendations for eating out. She even (somehow) was able to arrange a candlelight dinner on the beach at one of the major all inclusive resorts.

We will be back . . . . . . .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We just left the villa and our stay there spoiled us for any other site. We had the entire villa for the 8 days around Christmas . All the reviews are accurate in that the home, furnishings, views, pool, and attention to detail are superb. Isabel stood out as a wunderkind, whether advising us on restaurants, making us an amazing breakfast daily or creating amazing meals from the fresh shrimp we bought on the street. We have been renting villas as a family for a few years, this villa is the only one that exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The moment you step behind the gates, your jaw will drop at the courtyard, the ocean breeze, the stepping stone laid across a walkway of water. The master suite is perhaps the finest room I've ever stayed in. Beach views from every window. From the open shower, you look over the rear deck with its sunken pool onto the rocks and sand of the cove. Spectacular. And the staff is terrific. High, high recommend. -GH

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific, but the master suite is in a league of its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAHLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Villa last month. Isobel and the team looked after us perfectly. The villa itself is stunning. We were the only guests so were very kindly upgraded to the master suite. What an amazing room, falling asleep with the waves crashing was just perfect. La Bocana itself is a nice little village, it was very quiet when we visited but I think this was just time of year. You can rent surfboards from Adam next to the villa and he will also provide great advice on where to go. Isobel will tell you where to eat and visit - a perfect host! Can't wait to return. Lisa and Jarrod.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The place is fantastic ,really exotic with great view to the ocean excellent rooms spacious ,very clean and the people here are the most polite ,always willing to provide the best of services!!miss isabela made our stay a true once in alifetime experiance! Will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liossis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
2.0 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
98 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
254 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida

Address: Playa Bocana, Lote 14, Mza. 5 | Santa Cruz, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Huatulco
Price Range: £133 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Escondida, the most luxurious beachfront bed & breakfast in Huatulco. The Villa boasts four beautiful bedroom suites, indoor & outdoor living rooms, formal dining room, fully appointed kitchen with top of the line appliances, infinity pool, rooftop terrace with Jacuzzi, massage room, outdoor lounge decks and amazing ocean views. Come and experience the paradise that is Villa Escondida.Services and Amenities also include:Continental breakfast and daily maid service, concierge services, A/C & ceiling fans throughout, and high-end furnishings and finishes.Each of the suites also feature mini-fridges in each room, wireless internet and multi-language satellite TV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing