We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manitoba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo in Feb. For one week. The rooms were not great, but the rest of the hotel was good for the price we paid. I would stay here again, but I would upgrade to a better room. The restaurants were very good, you can eat in the same one more than once. The Spanish restaurant was very good. The service at the hotel was really quite good. My only complaint is the loud Americans. It is a family resort, so was fun to watch thenyounger children.

The weather is perfect the whole time we were here. We stayed here for one week and then switched to Secrets.

Room Tip: I believe every room has ocean view, but I would upgrade to their premuim rooms if I were to go here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamaicafuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,568
    1,144
    374
    132
    75
See reviews for
1,445
1,051
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo in Febuary 2013 with our two daughters. (ages 4 & 7) The hotel could use a few updates but it's clean and overall we had a great stay. The staff was excellent, Alex by the pool was fast at getting refreshments and the entertainment staff was fantastic. Edger usually led the day activities; he is energetic and gets people involved. He also adds to the eveing shows which were fabulous; dancers were amazing and they have singers with incredible voices! I highly recommend taking them in.

The food overall was good; unfortunately we did not experience any of the restaurants because men have to wear pants and I didn't pack a single pair for my husband! Our daughters are picky but still found plently to eat.

Our 4 year old did spend a little time in the kids club and enjoyed it. The young girls that run it are very pleasant. I found the resort overall great for the kids.

The chairs are still an issue so we did go down early. Some people had their stuff removed but we were lucky maybe because we were at the pool by 8:00 or 9:00 in the morning anyhow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Barcelo, and while Huatulco itself is fabulous and I would highly recommend it, the Barcelo has a few problems.

The reason most people choose to go on a hot vacation is so that they can enjoy the hot weather, yet this hotel does not provide enough loungers for their clientele. We’ve been travelling for years and have seen at some resorts that if you want to get a chair in a particular area you will need to get up early and “reserve” it. At the Barcelo that is not the case. If you want to be able to sit outside AT ALL, you must get up early and reserve it. If you are not at the pool/beach by 8:00 a.m. you will not be able to sit outside at all! One day I went out to play the chair game at 7:45 a.m. and already there was not one single chair left anywhere in sight!! This is because the hotel does not provide enough loungers for the number of people staying at the resort. And if you want to go on a morning tour or go to town for the morning, don’t expect to be able to sit on a lounger when you get back. The hotel says that it will take towels away if you aren’t there for more than an hour, yet this never happened. If you aren't going to enforce it, don't say you will. We even witnessed altercations over lounge chairs!

I can’t say I would recommend Sunwing either. The departure flight was an hour late, with no explanation or announcement. Once we boarded, we found out that there would be no movie or tv, because it was broken. Then they announced that the water wasn’t working in one of the bathrooms. Then they ran out of beer. On our way back, the bus that was booked to take us to the airport was overbooked and they hadn’t realized it, so they had to call a van to pick us up after everyone else had left.

Food: The food was fine. You could always find something to eat and they tried to vary the options. But let’s face it, it’s buffet food and is repetitious. We tried the Mexican and Seafood a la cartes, and they were better than the buffet, but you could only go a certain number of times.

Rooms: We had an even numbered room facing the ocean. The view was nice, the room was spacious and had lots of storage space. However, the rooms are dated and as much as the maids try to keep things clean there is some major work to be done in refreshing things. The bed skirt on our bed was dark brown from age (it was supposed to be green) and the mat on the floor was disgustingly dirty. One of the beds had a broken leg, so you couldn't sit on that corner or it would collapse. The ice machine didn't work. The elevator was out of order for several days.

Beach/pool: Other than the lounge chair issue, the beach was nice. Not too steep. We usually prefer the Caribbean, but found that the water here was quite clear as well and the current wasn’t too scary – it would pull you out a bit and then push you back in to shore right away. In mid afternoon you literally need to run to the water because the hot sand will burn the soles of your feet! There is really only one big pool, divided into three: the pool for babies and toddlers, the pool for kids and activities, and the adult pool with the swim up bar. We aren’t really pool people, but if we were I would have been disappointed at the size.

Tours: We went to the Copalita Archeologica park, which was only a few minutes away and very interesting if you’re into ruins. We’ve been to Tulum, El Rey, Coba and Ek Balaam, and thought it was great, if yet to be more developed. The walk to the view of the river/ocean was hot but worth it. Most of the tour through the park was in the shade. Get the English speaking tour guide for $10, it's worth it.
We went to Playa la Entrega on our own – just took a cab, which was cheap. It’s not very far away. It was great! It’s a local beach, where there are small shops and restaurants lined up for people to sit in and shop at. The owner of one of the restaurants made a table for us on the sand, with an umbrella (cost us $10). We went snorkelling and he watched our stuff all day and everything was very safe. I absolutely loved it. The people are so nice and very friendly. Compared to other places I’ve been in Mexico, I felt very safe.
We paid for a tour of Hagia Sofia, but Sunwing couldn’t get enough people together for a tour. So I got our $60/per person back and they booked us through another tour operator, which ended up being cheaper ($45/per person). In the end there were only four of us, and the driver of a little van picked us up and brought us back. Hagia Sofia is only about 30km away, but it takes about 45 min. to get there because even though most of it is on the highway, the last bit is on a rocky, bumpy road. The tour was good, and it was nice to see the mountains and all kinds of plants and flowers that grow in the forest. We also went swimming on the owner’s property, in a river and waterfall, which was a nice break from the heat. Most of this tour was also in the shade.
We also went into La Crucecita several times. Very safe. Some shopping to do, but overall just a break from the beach.

Service: We found the people working there great, very friendly and happy. However they do seem to be understaffed, as there are often lineups at the bars (one person working and only one blender??), and our room was rarely cleaned before 4pm. The grounds were well kept.

People: We’ve travelled all over the Mayan Riviera and to Puerto Vallarta (as well as many other places in the Caribbean). I must say, it is so nice to be able to spend time with the Mexican people, and to not be accosted by salespeople constantly. The Oaxacans are very friendly, and are not yet jaded by the tourists, so it was really nice to get to know them.

Overall, we wouldn’t go back to the Barcelo but would definitely go back to Huatulco!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerGuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our first time to Huatulco having vacationed in many Mexican destinations. We loved the area for its charm, peacefulness, beautiful beaches and bays, our incredible snorkelling experience (with Pilo Vazquez and his boat, the Black Pearl) and the friendly and accommodating staff at the Barcelo (Fernando, our beach waiter and so many others). We upgraded to the Premium Club and would highly recommend it. Although disappointed in our room after the first night (the upgrade was, in part, to include an oceanview room and our view was partial ocean and partial "the back of the beach restaurant, La Tortuga", which was noisy in the morning), we shared our disappointment with the front desk staff and were promptly moved to a beautiful oceanfront room on the opposite side of the resort. As for the food, we dined in 2 of the 4 a la carte restaurants (the Mexican restaurant was not open the whole time that we were there so missed out on that and we aren't sushi fans). Both had lovely ambience but the concensus was that the meals were "average" - not bad but not great! The buffet, I would say, was 4 star - good selection, some interesting options - we get bored with buffets, though, so did that only a couple of times. The other nights, we went off of the resort to eat. One night, we went into La Crucecita and had a wonderful meal at Terra Cotta (Italian) and another night, we went to Señor Puck's for pub grub which was "just okay". Our last night at the resort was spent at their Beach BBQ Party which included a buffet dinner, live music, local entertainment and dancing. It was a super fun way to wrap up our 1 week holiday. For a great day on a boat, we would recommend hiring Pilo Vazquez who will take you on a 9 bays tour which includes stops at your choice of beaches and great snorkelling locations. His personalized service was outstanding - he snorkelled with us, gently capturing sea creatures for us to hold while he took underwater photos (sea urchins, puffer fish, starfish). It was a truly amazing day!!! On another day, we took at cab to La Bocana Beach (40 pesos) where we received a mud bath and rinsed off in the river where it flows into the ocean - a very unique experience and one we would recommend. Our overall vacation experience was excellent and we are already planning our return trip to the Barcelo and the Huatulco area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was our thirteenth winter vacation, and eleven of them have been to Mexico. All I can say is, FINALLY! What a wonderful vacation we had. The Barcelo is an older property but worthy of consideration when choosing a resort in Huatulco. It is not glitzy and highbrow, but friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of reasons to dress up and go to dinner, but if that's not your thing, you will be just as comfortable here in your shorts and sandals. It's a mere $4 cab ride to many outside dining opportunities and I encourage you to get out and explore. We ate at Ve el Mar in Santa Cruz. Please don't miss the opportunity to eat there. The shrimp and pineapple is a real treat for the tastebuds and if you're (like me) not a fish person, they have fish for us too. I figured it would be a sin to sit less than five feet from the bay and eat something from the land, so I ordered the garlic grilled fish fillets. They were delicious, but the shrimp and pineapple put even them to shame.
If you intend to take the three levels of Huatulco tour be sure to take the time to immerse your self in Santa Maria Huatulco, your second stop. I could have stayed there all day but then I would ahve missed the coffee tour. Bring some coffee home, buy a grinder, and enjoy.
Our Apple rep was very good but don't be afraid to talk to the tour people on the beach. Check around with other vacationers and see what they have done. Most of all, enjoy the trip

Room Tip: Fourth floor of the odd number wing has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abenttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

First time to Huatulco and the weather was fantastic! The resort is clean and the grounds are well maintained. Chairs at the pool are an issue everyday as you need to be there at 6:30 in the morning to get a chair in the shade, you also need to stay there as security will remove your towels to free up unoccupied chairs. There does seem to be a "bug" in the resort making people sick as we encountered lots of really ill people including ourselves. The food is just OK, basically the same items in the buffet for all three meals, weiners for breakfast?? Staff worked really hard but was hit and miss if you got beverages with your meal without having to catch a waiter and ask. Doubtful if we would return to the Barcelo but would return to Huatulco.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed Feb 05-12. Resort location is beautiful, extremely clean and well designed for quick and easy movement throughout. Weather in the area is the best. Food was well prepared but repetitive and recycled in many cases. You get to remember what to avoid. I got the trots the 3rd day, not sure from what but it only lasted a day. Staff was great and very friendly. We paid $1500 all in each, which I thought was a bit high given the average food and no recent modernization. The rooms have a great view, most of which are ocean view. Snorkeling right in front of the resort with good assortment of fish.
Spent a day in La Crucecita, $5 cab ride which was nice. Very clean and friendly. Because the Huatulco area is not as developed as other Mexican tourist areas English is not spoken everywhere and you get a better feeling for the area as not being as much the tourist trap. Would go back and even stay at Barcelo again, but would also check out alternatives in the area. You can't beat the weather and the resort tries hard to please and is really clean. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Higher the better, elevators work well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing