We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Huatulco
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Fa-Sol(Crucecita)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Royal Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Binniguenda All Inclusive(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,234)
Filter reviews
4,234 results
Traveller rating
2,133
1,399
450
156
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,133
1,399
450
156
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish restaurantpremium clubla tortugadona rosafishpremium roomlobby bargames roomair hockeyrenovated roomadult poolsushi restaurantbay toura la carte restaurantssmaller resortboogie boardsnight shows
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 4,234 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We decides to try out the Barcelo chain as I've heard great things and were excited to go to Huatulco. We've been to Costa Rica, Cuba twice, and this was our fourth time in Mexico. This was the worst resort we've been to and we've been to resorts ranging in 3 star to 5 star. The food wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either it was also the first time I've ever gotten sick off of food from travel. They serve the same thing for lunch everyday they never change it up, supper is alright seemed as if the buffet alternated what they were serving every second night put a theme on it and added a couple items. We went to the Mexican a la carte which was good and the western a la carte I believe (this is when I got sick from the food) It was a terrible layout for pools there needs to be more space between them, the adult only pool that plays tequila volleyball is right beside the kids waterpark with just some chairs pretty wellseparating them! The resort is on top of it self not really anywhere to go. Service? What service! The room maid was good kept the room clean the main grounds however not sure how often they clean them, my daughter put a glass down on a bench and it sat there for four days... We never upgrade rooms as it's a place to sleep but probably one of the worst rooms we've ever had. Overall I was turned off from the Barcelo resorts at least the weather was great!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliseMJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Elise B,

First of all we appreciate your comments and your visit to our hotel, we regret that not everything went as you expected but we assure you that we are a hotel that works for its customers.

Our hotel as well as the majority of Barceló hotels is enrolled in hygiene and food control programs, in addition we comply with all current regulations and we have two certifications, a national known as H Distinctive and another named Crystal provided by Check Safety First International Company which includes in addition to the control in the food, swimming pools, water, delivery of goods, staff, temperatures control, rooms, etc. Regarding the rooms we are currently working on a project to renewal them starting this June.

We are constantly working to the improvement of the opportunity areas that our customers share with us, we really hope you will give us another opportunity to change the experience with us.

Warm regards,

Barceló Huatulco beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a nice hotel in Huatulco. Food is good, but not able to have local typical food there. If you pay the "Premier" service, you'll have everything what is included in the "All Inclusive" plan, plus other additional items such as a better room, access to the Premier lounge, better drinks, and Internet connectivity. However, the internet is really slow. Besides this, it is worthy to pay for the Premier package if you plan to stay at the hotel and make most of the meals there.
A/C in the room is central and sometimes may not be cold enough.

Room Tip: Check for the Premier plan.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Gerardo C:

Thank you very much for your good comments, it is very motivating for our team to know that their work has been done properly and has been accomplished the mission to satisfy your expectations, we would like to thank the time you have invested in writing your review, be certain that it will be very useful for us and for future travelers to this destination.

Every day we have Mexican traditional food, but Mexico is very vast in its food and Oaxaca is distinguished by being one of the destinations with more gastronomy, our intention is to be able to try more options. Regarding the Internet, we are currently analyzing the possibility of change the Internet supplier to improve it. This season the heat is been higher than the past years yet we have begun a process of cleaning and maintenance of the equipment to make them more efficient, this process is performed every 6 months in most rooms

We are looking forward to once again welcome you and serve you as you deserve next year.

Barceló Huatulco Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We travelled to hualtuco on Sunwings last trip of the season to the barcelo. The airport was really quick to get through and a quick 25 min drive and you are at the resort. The check in at the hotel was quick and easy.

The room we had was 559 and was looking out on the side of the resort. Not a pool side view but we still could see the ocean. We were going to upgrade to premium but the premium room was the same as the one we had only on the pool side. The room was a little dated but it sounds like they are going to start updating. We had a small issue in our room but the service guy was there in 5 mins and had it fixed quickly. The room service did cost us because we didn't have Premium. It was really quick though and hot.

The pool at the resort is great. We had our 3 yr old son with us and couldn't keep him out of the pool. The kids pool is great. Carlos Cruz was the guy looking after the kids area and he is great with them. Our son smacked his nose and they grabbed him and fixed him up right away. The staff was also vigilant at cleaning the pool.

The staff at the resort were always helping and trying there hardest to keep everyone entertained and happy. They work extremely hard at there jobs and are very appreciative of the tips.

The food was alright at the buffet. It got a little busy on the weekend but that was because it was mothers day and people were in from Mexico City.

I felt really safe walking around the town. The church there is nice to see and there are lots of vendors for souvenirs. We stopped at a restaurant called Grilles I believe. It is by the city square. Great staff. They talked with us and kept our son entertained.

Overall the resort was great and the area of hualtuco is spectacular. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank flamezrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Flamezrle:

Thank you very much for your visit, we appreciate the good comments about our services and facilities, in which we will begin to work from the month of June, we will begin a process of renewal in part of the rooms and corridors. We appreciate the good comments about our staff, which we will share with them, it is very important for us that our guests feel comfortable and secure, Huatulco is undoubtedly an exceptional place for spent a holiday like no other.

We look forward to welcome you back next year.

Barceló Huatulco beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Barcelo is located in quiet area of Huatuclo and has an awesome beach. The ocean is beautiful to swim in. The resort is a nice size. Pools are warm and children have own pool play area. Staff are friendly and front desk attends to all requests right away including concerns. Entertainment is resort type night entertainment but it's cute like most Mexican resorts.

Food ok. Lots of fresh fruit and salad choices. Al a carte were ok. The Spanish restaurant had excellent service. The sushi bar kinda slow. Did not care for seafood restaurant. The steak was not my favorite. Prawns were not bad. It was a nice change from buffet.
Mojitos are good!
Would recommend but personally I will try another resort too

Went on Emerald Falls excursion. Loved it! Great day and good tour. Sun wings I believe.

Room Tip: 3rd floor above disco. Not bad but resort was quiet probably loud in busy times
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Kay B:

Thank you very much for your visit to Barceló Huatulco Beach, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and the time that you spent with us. We appreciate your good comments about our services and performances, this encourages us to continue working hard every day to offer more attractive options and higher quality for our customers.

We are waiting for your next visit, it will be a pleasure to see you back in this your home.

Receive a warm greeting from Huatulco Bays

Barceló Huatulco Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My family, 2 adults, 1 daughter of 9 years and son of 4 years just returned from 8 days at the Barcelo Huatulco. It is a very clean adn well maintained resort. But it is not the resort that make it, but the people who waork themselves to the bone who make the place. One fellow in particular never leavswe, Edgar! He is there for about 16 hours a day running all the entertainment from the morning stretch through to the evening show. The man has unlimited energy and smiles. Get to know him, or Ismael, another syuper energy fun and all round nice guy. There are so many poepl there who work so hard to ensure you have a great stay.
the property is well maintain, we were on the ground floor with a wonderful view of the pool. We did not have a any bug problems, the room was very clean and well kept. We did tip the maid, but I don't blieve she did more because of that. The gardens are beautiful, with mango trees, and hibiscus flowers all over. Trees carved like animals.

The restaruants are very well stocked with food. Breakfast tended to be the same every morning, so you simple choose something new to try each day, Like the quesadia in mole negra, or all the wonderful fresh fruit. We ate twice in the Agave a la carte and twice in the Tortuga. Both are excellent I love their Ceviche mixto.

Waiting service was always there for us and bent over backwards to get us what we wanted. We DID NOT BUY THE PREMIUM PACKAGE, NO NEED. What we got was wonderful.

One thing I did not like was the beds are really really hard, and I found them very hard to sleep on. But that is my probelm. My family did agree that a schedule of all the events each day would be wonderful. Last year at Dreams, we would recieve a schedule showing all the events including the kids club. We loved it as we could plan our days. This year the Schedule was always the same and in the lobby. The aqua aerobics or the Stretches (with Ismael) were not shown, and I had to ask when I saw uit happeneing to learn of the times and places. A schedule would work wonders.

The beach is to die for, even when their are waves 6 feet tall. it is fine golden ssand and does not get hot enough to burn ones feet. The vendors on the beach are not agressiveand they tended to be polite, asking once and then not bothering you again. Some seem to make a game out it, by recoginizing you each day and smiling with a big Hola!

Because of the heat 35C feels like 45C, there are not any horse back opportunites in Huatulco, so we did a 30 minute jet ski ride that was a huge hit . We sped around the beautiful bay on a 700cc watercycle, with my kids shrieking with joy loud enough to drown out the engine sounds. It was a 30 minute rental that was far longer than 30 minutes, and they did not mind.

The resort is well equiped and will keep you very busy. The kids slides and palm tree that showesr water is great, plus the shallow pool works well for all ages. The pools are very nice and again very well maintained. No complaints. The waiting staff at pool side work very hard to clean and also bring drinks. It is a large amount of work, but they do a great job.

WE did have a bit of an issue with one tour we signed up for, the Turtles and Crocs. The tour is great, Sergio and Oscar were really great tour guides. Our issue was that we paid $150.00 CAD, and even at that price the entrey fees were not paid. But we were not told this. When I brough this to James (sunwing rep) attention, he said that it was a good point as I guess not everyone reads things thoroughly. I said I thought I had read the tour description thoroughly but that telling patrons is just good service, as better to hear it twice then not at all (such as 3 of the 6 families on our tour). I was less than impressed with his response.

If you are reading this and Canadian, you dod not need to change your money ahead, this resort does a greta job of exchanging. The take CAD at par with USD (no you read that right). and the sdtraneg things is, if you exchange CAD at the front desk, they just do it, if you exchange USD, you must produce government issue photo id. Strange or what?

The rate we recieved was 12 pesos to the dollar CAD. pretty good rate, better than I got at home in my bank.

We did a snoerkel trip the La Entrega Playa, we took a taxi there at a cost of 50 pesos. No limit to people, thus we had 7 people in the car including the driver. It is a great snorkleing place, where you are assigned to a table under a palapa, in the shade. Full snorkel gear (even life jacket) 50 pesos for the day. We did not fear loosing anything while we swam, as there were many locals around looking out for each other. Another family did a snorkeling tour from the hotel, 7 hours, but was 6 hours fo crusing with 50 minutes of snorkel. Later after we spoke to them, they did La Entrega as we did and loved it, regretting the other snorkel trip.
Get the taxi drive to take you all around the towns of Santa Cruz and Cruciceta to the nice view spots, you will nto be disappointed.

Huatulco is a very nice quite area, where there are few resorts and not alot of people. The bays and beachs are beautiful. It is very hot there, with a cool 27C at night. We highly recommend going here and the Barcelo is a greta place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are very sound proof, the only noise you hear comes from the hallways. The air conditioning is always on, and we did not seem to have a way to conrtol it, thus our room was always cool. All rooms appear to have balconies, which is very nice. I understand that if you leave peanutes out on your balcony, you will probably have an equana visiting you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiredthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Tiredtrhee

We thank you so much that you have chosen Barceló Huatulco Beach for your vacations, and for sharing with us your review. Your comments are very helpful for us and for the future visitors.

It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed the service, restaurants, activities and the friendly team we have with the purpose to make your holidays a wonderful experience, regarding the schedules of the activities, we have considered two activities program boards, where all the week activities will be posted, we hope to have them soon and also you can request for this schedule program at the front desk or with our guest service.

You are right when you describe how amazing destination is Huatulco, we are looking forward to have you once again with us on your next visit.

Barceló Huatulco Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews