We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very complete stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very complete stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great service, very friendly staff. The food in the buffets was good but it can get very crowded with big groups that travel there. Nice to have the premium club when this happens. With premium you can order food from the premium lounge or room service with no charge.
Rooms are clean. Great location and view.
The best thing about this: Excellent 4 course restaurants per reservation only, delicious food.
Pools are clean with a bar in the adult only pool and slides in the kid pool.
Waves at the beach are too strong for swimming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Violeta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Violeta S:

Thank you for your comments and recommendations which will be very useful to other travelers, and the time you have invested in writing your review.

We appreciate that selected us, we will send your comments to our Chef and his team.

The waves of bahia is really strong, but has certain seasons. The landscapes, atmosphere and flavor to Mexico are waiting for you.

We hope to see you in this home, be a pleasure to received you again.

Best regards,

Barcelo Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    1,093
    359
    123
    71
See reviews for
1,328
1,009
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my first time in Mexico. The food was good and service was great. When the staff found out I was by myself, several members went out of their way to check on me each day to make sure I was having fun and had everything I needed. The rooms was a bit dated but that just gave it character. The pools and beach were very clean. The tours and town were great and I felt very safe taking a cab into town and walking around in the evening by myself. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mary M:

We appreciate your visit and the time you spent to send us your comments, we are working on our opportunity areas with the idea of always providing the best service, we are very pleased to report that since the first days of June have initiated a room remodeling project which we are sure will be there, these rooms are categorized as Superior and Deluxe and are available from the month of November, we hope soon your visit and will be a pleasure assist you.

Best regards,

Barcelo Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We decides to try out the Barcelo chain as I've heard great things and were excited to go to Huatulco. We've been to Costa Rica, Cuba twice, and this was our fourth time in Mexico. This was the worst resort we've been to and we've been to resorts ranging in 3 star to 5 star. The food wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either it was also the first time I've ever gotten sick off of food from travel. They serve the same thing for lunch everyday they never change it up, supper is alright seemed as if the buffet alternated what they were serving every second night put a theme on it and added a couple items. We went to the Mexican a la carte which was good and the western a la carte I believe (this is when I got sick from the food) It was a terrible layout for pools there needs to be more space between them, the adult only pool that plays tequila volleyball is right beside the kids waterpark with just some chairs pretty wellseparating them! The resort is on top of it self not really anywhere to go. Service? What service! The room maid was good kept the room clean the main grounds however not sure how often they clean them, my daughter put a glass down on a bench and it sat there for four days... We never upgrade rooms as it's a place to sleep but probably one of the worst rooms we've ever had. Overall I was turned off from the Barcelo resorts at least the weather was great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliseMJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Elise B,

First of all we appreciate your comments and your visit to our hotel, we regret that not everything went as you expected but we assure you that we are a hotel that works for its customers.

Our hotel as well as the majority of Barceló hotels is enrolled in hygiene and food control programs, in addition we comply with all current regulations and we have two certifications, a national known as H Distinctive and another named Crystal provided by Check Safety First International Company which includes in addition to the control in the food, swimming pools, water, delivery of goods, staff, temperatures control, rooms, etc. Regarding the rooms we are currently working on a project to renewal them starting this June.

We are constantly working to the improvement of the opportunity areas that our customers share with us, we really hope you will give us another opportunity to change the experience with us.

Warm regards,

Barceló Huatulco beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a nice hotel in Huatulco. Food is good, but not able to have local typical food there. If you pay the "Premier" service, you'll have everything what is included in the "All Inclusive" plan, plus other additional items such as a better room, access to the Premier lounge, better drinks, and Internet connectivity. However, the internet is really slow. Besides this, it is worthy to pay for the Premier package if you plan to stay at the hotel and make most of the meals there.
A/C in the room is central and sometimes may not be cold enough.

Room Tip: Check for the Premier plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Gerardo C:

Thank you very much for your good comments, it is very motivating for our team to know that their work has been done properly and has been accomplished the mission to satisfy your expectations, we would like to thank the time you have invested in writing your review, be certain that it will be very useful for us and for future travelers to this destination.

Every day we have Mexican traditional food, but Mexico is very vast in its food and Oaxaca is distinguished by being one of the destinations with more gastronomy, our intention is to be able to try more options. Regarding the Internet, we are currently analyzing the possibility of change the Internet supplier to improve it. This season the heat is been higher than the past years yet we have begun a process of cleaning and maintenance of the equipment to make them more efficient, this process is performed every 6 months in most rooms

We are looking forward to once again welcome you and serve you as you deserve next year.

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We travelled to hualtuco on Sunwings last trip of the season to the barcelo. The airport was really quick to get through and a quick 25 min drive and you are at the resort. The check in at the hotel was quick and easy.

The room we had was 559 and was looking out on the side of the resort. Not a pool side view but we still could see the ocean. We were going to upgrade to premium but the premium room was the same as the one we had only on the pool side. The room was a little dated but it sounds like they are going to start updating. We had a small issue in our room but the service guy was there in 5 mins and had it fixed quickly. The room service did cost us because we didn't have Premium. It was really quick though and hot.

The pool at the resort is great. We had our 3 yr old son with us and couldn't keep him out of the pool. The kids pool is great. Carlos Cruz was the guy looking after the kids area and he is great with them. Our son smacked his nose and they grabbed him and fixed him up right away. The staff was also vigilant at cleaning the pool.

The staff at the resort were always helping and trying there hardest to keep everyone entertained and happy. They work extremely hard at there jobs and are very appreciative of the tips.

The food was alright at the buffet. It got a little busy on the weekend but that was because it was mothers day and people were in from Mexico City.

I felt really safe walking around the town. The church there is nice to see and there are lots of vendors for souvenirs. We stopped at a restaurant called Grilles I believe. It is by the city square. Great staff. They talked with us and kept our son entertained.

Overall the resort was great and the area of hualtuco is spectacular. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank flamezrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Flamezrle:

Thank you very much for your visit, we appreciate the good comments about our services and facilities, in which we will begin to work from the month of June, we will begin a process of renewal in part of the rooms and corridors. We appreciate the good comments about our staff, which we will share with them, it is very important for us that our guests feel comfortable and secure, Huatulco is undoubtedly an exceptional place for spent a holiday like no other.

We look forward to welcome you back next year.

Barceló Huatulco beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Barcelo is located in quiet area of Huatuclo and has an awesome beach. The ocean is beautiful to swim in. The resort is a nice size. Pools are warm and children have own pool play area. Staff are friendly and front desk attends to all requests right away including concerns. Entertainment is resort type night entertainment but it's cute like most Mexican resorts.

Food ok. Lots of fresh fruit and salad choices. Al a carte were ok. The Spanish restaurant had excellent service. The sushi bar kinda slow. Did not care for seafood restaurant. The steak was not my favorite. Prawns were not bad. It was a nice change from buffet.
Mojitos are good!
Would recommend but personally I will try another resort too

Went on Emerald Falls excursion. Loved it! Great day and good tour. Sun wings I believe.

Room Tip: 3rd floor above disco. Not bad but resort was quiet probably loud in busy times
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Kay B:

Thank you very much for your visit to Barceló Huatulco Beach, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and the time that you spent with us. We appreciate your good comments about our services and performances, this encourages us to continue working hard every day to offer more attractive options and higher quality for our customers.

We are waiting for your next visit, it will be a pleasure to see you back in this your home.

Receive a warm greeting from Huatulco Bays

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My family, 2 adults, 1 daughter of 9 years and son of 4 years just returned from 8 days at the Barcelo Huatulco. It is a very clean adn well maintained resort. But it is not the resort that make it, but the people who waork themselves to the bone who make the place. One fellow in particular never leavswe, Edgar! He is there for about 16 hours a day running all the entertainment from the morning stretch through to the evening show. The man has unlimited energy and smiles. Get to know him, or Ismael, another syuper energy fun and all round nice guy. There are so many poepl there who work so hard to ensure you have a great stay.
the property is well maintain, we were on the ground floor with a wonderful view of the pool. We did not have a any bug problems, the room was very clean and well kept. We did tip the maid, but I don't blieve she did more because of that. The gardens are beautiful, with mango trees, and hibiscus flowers all over. Trees carved like animals.

The restaruants are very well stocked with food. Breakfast tended to be the same every morning, so you simple choose something new to try each day, Like the quesadia in mole negra, or all the wonderful fresh fruit. We ate twice in the Agave a la carte and twice in the Tortuga. Both are excellent I love their Ceviche mixto.

Waiting service was always there for us and bent over backwards to get us what we wanted. We DID NOT BUY THE PREMIUM PACKAGE, NO NEED. What we got was wonderful.

One thing I did not like was the beds are really really hard, and I found them very hard to sleep on. But that is my probelm. My family did agree that a schedule of all the events each day would be wonderful. Last year at Dreams, we would recieve a schedule showing all the events including the kids club. We loved it as we could plan our days. This year the Schedule was always the same and in the lobby. The aqua aerobics or the Stretches (with Ismael) were not shown, and I had to ask when I saw uit happeneing to learn of the times and places. A schedule would work wonders.

The beach is to die for, even when their are waves 6 feet tall. it is fine golden ssand and does not get hot enough to burn ones feet. The vendors on the beach are not agressiveand they tended to be polite, asking once and then not bothering you again. Some seem to make a game out it, by recoginizing you each day and smiling with a big Hola!

Because of the heat 35C feels like 45C, there are not any horse back opportunites in Huatulco, so we did a 30 minute jet ski ride that was a huge hit . We sped around the beautiful bay on a 700cc watercycle, with my kids shrieking with joy loud enough to drown out the engine sounds. It was a 30 minute rental that was far longer than 30 minutes, and they did not mind.

The resort is well equiped and will keep you very busy. The kids slides and palm tree that showesr water is great, plus the shallow pool works well for all ages. The pools are very nice and again very well maintained. No complaints. The waiting staff at pool side work very hard to clean and also bring drinks. It is a large amount of work, but they do a great job.

WE did have a bit of an issue with one tour we signed up for, the Turtles and Crocs. The tour is great, Sergio and Oscar were really great tour guides. Our issue was that we paid $150.00 CAD, and even at that price the entrey fees were not paid. But we were not told this. When I brough this to James (sunwing rep) attention, he said that it was a good point as I guess not everyone reads things thoroughly. I said I thought I had read the tour description thoroughly but that telling patrons is just good service, as better to hear it twice then not at all (such as 3 of the 6 families on our tour). I was less than impressed with his response.

If you are reading this and Canadian, you dod not need to change your money ahead, this resort does a greta job of exchanging. The take CAD at par with USD (no you read that right). and the sdtraneg things is, if you exchange CAD at the front desk, they just do it, if you exchange USD, you must produce government issue photo id. Strange or what?

The rate we recieved was 12 pesos to the dollar CAD. pretty good rate, better than I got at home in my bank.

We did a snoerkel trip the La Entrega Playa, we took a taxi there at a cost of 50 pesos. No limit to people, thus we had 7 people in the car including the driver. It is a great snorkleing place, where you are assigned to a table under a palapa, in the shade. Full snorkel gear (even life jacket) 50 pesos for the day. We did not fear loosing anything while we swam, as there were many locals around looking out for each other. Another family did a snorkeling tour from the hotel, 7 hours, but was 6 hours fo crusing with 50 minutes of snorkel. Later after we spoke to them, they did La Entrega as we did and loved it, regretting the other snorkel trip.
Get the taxi drive to take you all around the towns of Santa Cruz and Cruciceta to the nice view spots, you will nto be disappointed.

Huatulco is a very nice quite area, where there are few resorts and not alot of people. The bays and beachs are beautiful. It is very hot there, with a cool 27C at night. We highly recommend going here and the Barcelo is a greta place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are very sound proof, the only noise you hear comes from the hallways. The air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiredthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Tiredtrhee

We thank you so much that you have chosen Barceló Huatulco Beach for your vacations, and for sharing with us your review. Your comments are very helpful for us and for the future visitors.

It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed the service, restaurants, activities and the friendly team we have with the purpose to make your holidays a wonderful experience, regarding the schedules of the activities, we have considered two activities program boards, where all the week activities will be posted, we hope to have them soon and also you can request for this schedule program at the front desk or with our guest service.

You are right when you describe how amazing destination is Huatulco, we are looking forward to have you once again with us on your next visit.

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing