We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View!!”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Monterey Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful View!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First visit to Huatulco, we loved it!! The hotel was very good. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool through our balcony. Before entering our room we enjoyed the view of the green mountains. Exercise options poolside! Eating with ocean view!! Nightly awesome entertainment!! Everyone at the hotel is courteous, very friendly and eager to be of service. The only thing that put a damper on the room situation is there was a sewer like smell coming from the bathroom. Twice we complained and something was quickly done about it, but it really only masked the problem, not fix it. This would not stop me from visiting this hotel again. They are currently working on remodeling hotel. Thus, I believe my next visit will be an excellent experience!!

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Cynthia

Thank you so much for your choosing Barceló Huatulco for your first visit, it is true Huatulco has amazing views, and the location of the hotel give you the opportunity to enjoy them. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your staying with all the day and night activities we offer as well as our friendly staff. We are really sorry we could not be able to fix the sewer smell problem, we are working to improve it. As you well mention, we have just finished the first stage of our renovation program and will continue on September, we are certain that you and your family will enjoy our renewed rooms on your next visit.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,680
    1,208
    390
    140
    78
See reviews for
1,601
1,083
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, CA
Level 6 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If there was a 3.5 rating available, that's what I would give this hotel. Good location, close to town, and nightly shows (though slightly corny). Rooms show their age a little and poolside service on the slow side. Overall, was what I expected for the good price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PV#7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear PV:

Thank you for sharing us your comments about your visit, they are very helpful for us. It is true our hotel shows its age however the last month we started a renovation program of our rooms and halls, which we are certain that you will enjoy. We are constantly improving our opportunity areas to offer you a wonderful experience with us.

We hope to see you soon again,

Best regards,

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Been to Huatulco on a cruise 2 yrs ago. We came here again for the ambience, and atmosphere! The hotel is older but well furnished. Nice location with great views! We had a great time, and the water is so beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear PV:

First of all thank you for choosing Barceló Huatulco Beach to spend your holidays and for sharing your comments with us, it is good to know that you have enjoyed your trip and of course the amazing views that this paradise has to offer.

Warm regards from Huatulco bays,

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassjo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great food. Great location close to the Tangolunda beach. Great room. Nice view from our balcoony. Everything was great. Me and my girlfriend had a great time and i can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasQ7653LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Thomas:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recently stay, we are glad to know that your staying was enjoyable. We wish to receive you again is this your home.

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Susan and I recently returned from a week's stay at the Barcelo. As always we were met on arrival by guests services, Victoria and Alajandra, and assistant manager Lorenzo. Check in was smooth and painless.Manager Luis has assembled a great staff! We feel June is a good time to visit as the trees, bushes, flowers, etc. are in full bloom and very beautiful.We know we are taking chances that showers may occur, but the reward is worth the risk! Now the reasons for the title of my review. While at the Barcelo, I had a health problem occur. We would like to express our sincere gratitude to Dr. Ayvar for his services. Dr. Ayvar gives his full attention to dealing with health issues in a timely manner.Also, the First Aid staffers, Noe and Pablo, kept on top of the situation as it developed. Also, a big thank you to Javier in the Premium Club. He is always on top of situations quickly. We are very much looking forward to a return to the Barcelo Premium.

Room Tip: We like the west side, facing the pool area for afternoon shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mr Dean

Thank you so much for your trust and your support through these years to Barceló Huatulco Beach, we really wish your health is much better. We will share your comments with Dr. Ayvar and of course all the staff members you were kind to mention.

We really hope you feel much better and that always keep such joy and energy that identifies you.

Receive our best wishes and regards. We are looking forward your next visit with open arms.

Your friends at Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I give this resort two stars and I feel as if I am being nice with this rating. The resort was a huge disappointment. My wife and I have traveled to Huataluco and stayed other places and we thought we would try Barcelo. Big mistake!

I will start off with the Pros:
The service was excellent. The staff worked feverishly hard to accommodate the guests needs and keep the resort clean. The housekeepers did a wonderful job cleaning the rooms. The groundskeepers kept the place nicely manicured. The hotel receptionists were friendly and helpful. I was especially pleased with the daytime entertainment/fitness staff. They were eager to try to get the guests involved in the activities.

The food at the resort was amazing. I would give a 5 star just for the food. I was so happy with the food that I sought out the Executive Chef to compliment him on the food. We traveled during "Mexican" tourist season and the food was prepared in mind for Mexicans, not Americans or Canadians. I spoke with some of the cook staff about the food during the different travel season. They said during "American/Canadian" travel season, the buffets are changed to accommodate their tastes. I guess that means a lot less spices and seasonings. If you want good Mexican food and don't mind being one of a handful of non-Hispanics, then go from May to September. The specialty restaurants are nice, but they are a hassle because you have to make reservations. You need to make these reservations days in advanced to get a good time slot for dinner. You also have to be on time for dinner. If you are 10 minutes late, you lose your reservation. Being at a resort, you lose track of time and there are no clocks. Easy to run late for a reservations. This just adds stress onto you when you are supposed to be there relaxing. We definitely didn't like the reservation system for dinners.

The nightly entertainment/shows were great. The resort hired a great group of performers that put forth great effort to entertain the crowd. The musicians were excellent and played long sets from the shows to the bars afterwards. We were very pleased with the nightly entertainment.

Cons:
The hotel rooms were outdated by about 20+ years. The rooms were in pretty sad condition especially the bathrooms. The rooms still had bathtubs instead of modern showers. Every other resort we stayed at had nice showers that were easy to step in and out of. We had an elderly family member with us and she had difficulty and needed assistance getting in and out of the tub. We complained and got a handicap room, but it took some complaining and the realization of a possible fall could be bad on the hotels part. The overall look of the rooms was old. The floors had chipped tiles and the furniture was just old and worn. The light switched in one of our rooms was falling out of the socket. The one room had water dripping from the bathroom ceiling. The rooms left us feeling disappointed with what we paid for.

The pools were too small for the number of people at the resort. The hotel was at less than half capacity when we were there and the pool was already crowded. The adults only pool has a swim up bar which is a nice feature The adults only pool was so shallow that an average height adult is going to feel like it's a wading pool. The adults only pool wasn't always enforced by security or the lifeguards. Many families brought their small diaper aged children and young kids to this pool. The lifeguards didn't enforce the rules until someone pointed out the kids. The kids pool/family friendly pool have a huge area taken up by a couple slides that occupy a lot of the pool. This feature is not shown on Barceló's webpage. Their webpage is misleading showing old pictures of the pool without the kids slides. You are misled into thinking the pool is a lot larger. Our recommendation is to stay at Dreams Resort (which is besides Barcelo) next time were they have 4 pools that are larger and can accommodate a lot more people. The pool had to be our biggest complaint. The ocean is a bit rough and not always the best for swimming so having a nice pool is a definite must.

We decided that this was our last time to Barcelo at Huataluco and we would not recommend it to anyone. We felt deceived by the pictures on their website for the pools, the rooms were horrible and the specialty restaurants were more of a hassle and burden than something enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms are old and outdated. Supposedly they are renovating the rooms, so make sure you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank BobK1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear BobK:

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, thanks to them we are able to recognize our opportunity areas and improve them. We also thank your comments about our friendly staff activities, cleaning and our food. We will certainly share your comments with our team.

The hotel has made its pool modifications keeping in mind that all of our guests regardless of age, could get fun and entertain themselves, the water park was recently built which is why on the web page we do not have it yet in all the pictures, however the first picture on the webpage has the water park and is also described on the hotel information.

We are going to improve our reservations system so it won't be a hassle, the idea of booking is to guarantee a table for the customers and organize the access to the restaurants achieving that everyone can enjoy an a la carte and the best quality dinner.

We are constantly improving which is why we have started a room renovation program hoping to have on November 177 rooms approx. We really hope you can visit us again in the future and give us another chance to take care of you as you deserve.

Kind regards,

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our first time to Huatulco. Town was beautiful and clean. The hotel is older but very clean, staff very friendly. We upgraded once we got there, well worth it! We had oceanfront rooms on the 1st floor with fantastic views. Pedro with Amstar was amazing - arranged our airport transportation, a white water rafting trip as well as a trip into town. Rolando was great, we met him on the beach - took us on a bay tour and snorkeling. Everyone we met was extremely nice and very helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveFunFrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Huatulc... B, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear FiveFunFrys:

Thank You very much for taking your time to write your comments about your stay in Barceló Huatulco on Trip advisor which are very important for us and very helpful for the future travelers.

As you well wrote we have amazing views from some of our rooms and the last month we started with a renovation program of the rooms and we are certain that you can enjoy them on your next visit.

Warm regards

Barceló Huatulco Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,466 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing