We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to remove golf as an attraction in Huatulco”

Campo de Golf Tangolunda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This golf course, located in Huatulco, features a resident alligator.
St.Albert,Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Time to remove golf as an attraction in Huatulco”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Remained optimistic that the price would be adjusted. We have persistently called and this morning, as on each and every occasion prior, we were assured yes the course is open and NO the price has not been adjusted and NO there will be no change. Will remain at 6000 pesos. SHAME SHAME SHAME to the businessman/lessee of the course, to Fonatur and any and all parties who have not taken action and said NO to the newly appointed lessee.We sit on the beach by the course and can assure you no one is golfing other than the tournament the owner hosted for his close family and friends. For many years now it has been the tourists ,and the foreigners who have invested in property here, that have supported the golf course, the caddies, the servers, the cabbies who drive us there. Now the caddies sit idle, cabbies aren't necessary to take golfers there, the servers have no potential to earn extra revenue I think travel agents have to be made aware of the status of golf in Huatulco and advise people who are planning a trip here that yes there is golf but affordable only for the very wealthy

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Clideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    4
    3
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huatulco, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“golf pictures”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Here are some pic that I was able to see from the beach and road. They have added another hole to the back near the beach. They have changed the the 14th to be played towards the ocean and have added a par3 on top of the hill by the ocean. Old number 13 is played toward the road . From what I have seen it looks very challenging.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Funinthesun229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice to look at but”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We are golfers,so were so disappointed when we went to book a tee time and found out the price! 6500 pesos each! So we just drove by it each day,walked by it, but only seen 2 people ever golfing it in 2wks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank holly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“rip off”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

600cdn for a game of golf there don't go. there is so many better places in the world to golf for cheaper. the owners are way out of touch with reality and are not our amigos. golf doesn't have to be an elitist game for the rich.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Huatulco & Golf - A real shame!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have been to Huatulco 3 previous times (08, 10, 12) and a prime attraction is/was the golf. We were going to come again this year but without the golf, we chose to go elsewhere and will not return if this continues to be the case. I'm sure we are just 2 of many who will refuse to bow to such arrogance and stupidity. A real shame.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campo de Golf Tangolunda also viewed

 
Huatulco, Oaxaca
 

Been to Campo de Golf Tangolunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing