We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned from Dreams in Huatulco. It was perhaps one of the best places we have stayed. The service was amazing! Everyone was friendly, and it had enough pools to keep everyone happy! The beach, however is the best of anywhere we have stayed, so clear you could see the fish at your feet.
Yes, it's true, you have to get up before the sun to get a shaded chair due to people putting their towels on them before daybreak. There are other great places to sit, and you didn't get your butt out of bed at 5:30am! (Our secret place was under the palm on the grass next to the "adult" pool. I fell asleep on the lawn every afternoon!)

The service was amazing, thank you to all the Dreams team members, you all rock! Be sure to say hello to Ernesto at the Rendezvous bar! He was the best bartender we have had in a while.

Our room was clean, and was cleaned every day (sorry we left our clothes laying around, you didn't have to fold them, but you did)!

The area is safe, we have never felt so safe walking off the property before.

I could go on and on, but you should just go here. You will be glad you did!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MO_outdoor_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    899
    287
    119
    60
See reviews for
1,256
1,087
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We brought 80 of our closest friends and family here to the Dreams for our Jan.4th wedding. December 31st- January 7th. Overall our experience was wonderful! We brought our 3 children- 1, 7 and 10 and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The beach was beautiful and the weather was consistently 30 degrees Celsius every day. My 7 year old went to the explorer's club one morning but was disappointed as a lot of the kids didn't speak English. He was happy to spend time with family on the beach though.
The food was good, drinks were good, and service was good. A few days our room wasn't cleaned including the wedding day which was a bit of a disappointment as this is where we the girls were to get ready.
Had a massage the day of the wedding at the spa- wonderful! Staff at the salon did a beautiful job of everyone's hair. I was not impressed with the job on my makeup but that can be subjective, and I should have done it myself. The cost of the wedding was very reasonable, guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Pilar the wedding coordinator went above and beyond our expectations. Decorations and food was wonderful and well worth the upgrade to the gold menu!
My only criticism of the whole experience was our photographer, Miguel. He went to great lengths to get some great shots and video, however we have yet to receive any of them. We previewed the shots and chose the ones we wanted the day after the wedding and were promised they would be sent to us. It is now over 6 weeks later and no pictures or video:( I had to use a guests pictures to make up thank you cards as I didn't feel it was fair to our guests to wait for professional pictures. After many emails and promises back and forth I am hoping to receive pictures soon but I am not holding my breath!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I just returned from one week Feb 4-11 2014 at Dreams Huatulco. The positives:-all the servers wore hairnets including the bartenders--good service in the restaurants--pools were beautiful, 3 infinity pools plus other pools for kids and a quiet area--food quality was good--no wrist bands--no prebooking for a la carte restaurants --lots of towels available for the pool and beach--drink quality was good. The negative--no clock in the room and you had to get up very early to get a chair by the pool--i like to walk at least 3 miles each morning and i had to circle the resort 4-5 times to get my walk in, the beach area was too sloped to do a good morning walk--turn down service at night was very unreliable, only 2 of the 7 nights--poor lighting in bathroom to do makeup--variety of food at the buffet at the World Cafe could have been a bigger assortment. Overall I would recommend this resort as the negatives were not that major. I have traveled to at lease 25 all inclusive resorts so I have lots to compare it to. I would go back again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend ones close to the main lobby bar as the band music is loud if you want to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunTravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at Dreams Huatulco from January 28th, to February 4th. This was our second stay at Dreams Huatulco, but first time with our 16 year old daughter. When we arrived, we got our room right away and were able to go for supper shorty after. The check in was short and simple, which was great.

We can not say enough how amazing the service is at this resort is. No matter where you are, whether it be at any of the restaurants, the beach, the pool, even walking down the hallway, you will be greeted by any of the workers with a smile. All the wait staff bend over backwards to get you what you want and when you thank them they will say that its a pleasure. They show that they love their job and they want to make you happy. We always make sure to tip them for all their hard work, and they truly appreciate this. Every night we would sit out at the patio bar and it was always so warm. It was nice being able to sit outside and not be freezing- the weather in Huatulco was always great. We loved Fermin from the lobby bar, as every night he would always take care of us and made sure we were always happy. He was such a hard worker and a great guy. We have absolutely nothing bad to say about the service and it is one of the best parts of Dream Huatulco.

The rooms were simple but very clean and well kept. We had two twin beds, which were comfortable though if our daughter wasn't with us we would prefer the king. We had a partial ocean view which was gorgeous and more then enough. Our room was 4460, and it was very quite, even at night. Overall the room was great and we didn't have much to complain about.

We tried almost all the restaurants and loved them. Some reviews claim they are just "alright" but we thought there was a lot of variety and the food was very good. The service in the restaurants was of course amazing no matter where you go and that's a guarantee. The buffet is great if you just want something fast, with good variety and good quality. Our favorite restaurant was the Japanese because the food was amazing. Our daughter loved all the restaurants and she is usually very picky. Overall I would say you will not go hungry at this resort and you may be pleasantly surprised at how good the meals are.

The whole hotel is kept very clean. Even with all the people coming from the beach to the pool, you will not see any sand on the pool deck or anywhere else in the hotel. Cleanliness was excellent and we have no complaints at all. There was unlimited clean towels, and no need for a towel card which is a huge bonus when staying at Dreams. The beach chairs were comfortable and we got the shade we needed. The "towel chair game" was no issue for us as my husband gets up at around 6:00am to have his coffee and walk on the beach, so we managed to get chairs everyday.

We were at the resort for the Super Bowl as well and they threw a great party. They had huge screens playing the game and great snack foods. They put a lot of work into and it showed. It was great.

Overall, our stay was amazing and I know my daughter loved it. She didn't have any complaints and she said she would love to come back and bring her friends. She was content just laying at the beach or pool all day, but if you have younger kids that your worried about entertaining, you may want to consider bringing one of their friends along with you or bringing them to the kids club. Huatulco is an amazing town, as their focus is being environmentally friendly which was shown. We felt very safe leaving the resort and everyone in Huatulco is very nice. The beach was great, the secret cove was very cool and Huatulco is defiantly one of our favorite places in Mexico. We hope to be back soon and would 100% recommend this resort to anyone. Amazing trip!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stang9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Upon arrival we were welcomed by Mario....so upbeat, energetic and kind. We sat down and he explained special offers to us. He had the bartender bring us a Margarita, in fact one of the best I have ever had!!!! He then walked us to the elevator to access our room.
Pretty much no complaints about the resort. The weather was superb, always a breeze!!
The food was good, the service was outstanding by all.
We most likely would go back to Huatulco, but maybe to Secrets.....adults only!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We just returned from spending a week at this wonderful resort. Overall this was one of the best vacations that we can remember. The weather is absolutely perfect. The setting is beautiful. We had a very relaxing vacation. We loved the fact that you do not have to make any reservations for restaurants and you can decide where you want to eat any time. Another plus is that you can have as many beach towels as you would like. The drinks at all the bars were very good and there was lots of choice. The food was fine, there was lots of choice. Breakfast and lunch we ate at the buffet and the dinners we ate at a la cart restaurants. It's resort dining so don't expect gourmet meals. Our room was excellent with a comfortable, king size bed. We had a superb, ocean view from our balcony. Perhaps the only negative is that since everyone likes shade and there isn't enough for everyone at the beach or at the pool, you had to get up very early to reserve chairs. By 6:30AM they were all gone.
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awningsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were at Dreams for 2 weddings with a number of friends, absolutely beautiful location. Although totally different themes both weddings went off without a hitch and the venues were spectacular. We were concerned when we first booked 2 weeks at an all inclusive resort but Dreams did not disappoint. The staff was amazing, from waiters to entertainment staff, they went out of their way to please everyone. The beach was beautiful, the weather spectacular, food very good and the town was very quaint, not commercialized like some places in Mexico. From what we were told they have tried to keep Hualtuco unspoiled which they have done so far. The only complaint would be we had 2 double beds and not a king which we would have preferred but we liked the location of our room and I'm sure if we had asked to move they would have accommodated us. Even the vendors on the beach were great. They would ask if you wanted to look, if not, they didn't bother you. We bought a beautiful blanket from Peter, very nice guy and not pushy at all. If we come back next year Peter, we won't forget your backpack:) We also bought many silver pieces and have had no issues with any of them. Thank you Christina for your authentic handmade necklaces with silver and quartz stones, I absolutely love them. We also had a tour of Secrets which the bride and groom stayed at their second week, they said the food was spectacular but they liked the atmosphere at Dreams better, an older crowd at Secrets. We loved it there but it was more like a downtown hotel so not as quaint. If you are looking for a dream destination, this is it!!!

Room Tip: Our room number 4358 overlooked the pool and we could see the ocean from our balcony. We were close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Av Benito Juarez 4, Apartado Postal 227 | Bahias de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing