We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Finishing one week here and loved it- rooms clean and beds comfortable. Food good and many different choices. Excursion booked on the beach with Veferino Martinez "Capt. Starfish" was one day to the bays...sea turtles, amazing dolphins. Price was $200. U.S. For two people and he is a nice guy. Snorkeling was good on the coral reef. Hotel is safe and weather awesome. A bit loud at night if you go to bed early but it stops around 11p.m. - will come again. I found the staff always pleasant and helpful. They want you to have a good time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    929
    298
    126
    64
See reviews for
1,350
1,105
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent the first two weeks of February at Dreams Huatulco.
We really liked:
*Tangolunda Bay and the hotel's beach. Calm, swimmable, sailable. Sailboats & kayaks, no charge.
*No wristbands, no struggles for restaurant space
*Outstanding staff
*Amazingly consistent weather during dry season, 30 degrees and humid every day.
*Decent Wi-Fi everywhere, not just the lobby. Sometimes good enough for Face Time.

Our room was in the eastern wing (1xxx) and faced a beautifully gardened rock face that separates Dreams from its neighbour. We'll take quiet nights over an ocean view and bar noise anytime. An early morning bird symphony each day. Adult pool, usually quiet, within a short walk.
The room was sizeable and in very good condition with current furnishings and decorations. The bathroom was among the best I've seen in several Mexican trips, plus there was no odd smell. Its minibar was well-stocked and restocked. Maid service daytime and evening could not have been better, and although we are daily tippers it wasn't a lot.
The place is sold out in February, which results in people behaving badly in search of an umbrella or palapa. The hotel took partial action only on one day of our stay, scooping the towels and books that were planted pre-dawn commando style on chaises longues, but then only on one beachfront row. Soon enough, guests started dealing with a few chair hogs, occupying spots that were left vacant for hours. One manager had the task of going around and trying to scare up some spots, but we only saw him once. No confrontations to report, but who could object if the hotel tightened things up a bit in high season?
Food was a hit-and-miss situation. The top-level menu restaurant (shoes, please) served us some really mediocre stuff and some that was good if not exceptional. The Mexican restaurant was generally better, although I again received a cold dish that was sent back for reheating. We also got a sad pile of pan-fried vegetable strips instead of the vegetarian enchiladas that were ordered. But the appetizers and soups were generally very good, including tacos hand-made on the spot.
The restaurant by the beach was seldom open for dinner, but served a dandy steak when it was. Once a week there's a big Mexican buffet on the plaza and it's very good. Oddly the indoor buffet supplied some of the best food but only at lunch. Sunday dinner-style turkey, roast beef, prime rib and shellfish would show up. Breakfast in the same room was generally pleasant, although the pancakes were cool and the waffles cold and tough. On the other hand, some days they served smoked salmon! This was great until that lady grabbed half a tray of it to go with her scrambled eggs, french toast and sausages. As usual, fresh fruit including papaya was abundant.
In an insult to the nearby Pacific Ocean and its occupants, fish dishes are labelled "Fish." Press the staff and they'll tell you it's Mahi Mahi or possibly sea bass. Quite disappointing except for the one small whole fish we had at lunch.
Do you drink decaf coffee? Well if you know someone who does, prepare them for the disappointment of... INSTANT COFFEE. The place refuses to brew decaf, so have a jittery day.
As mentioned the hotel staff are professional and attentive, some of the best we've encountered. Drink service can be slow when the place is packed. Servers on the beach are generally incredible, as are the events and recreation people.
The crowd at Dreams is generally older, except for the many wedding groups, and not rowdy.
We got off the property several times, notably for the coffee plantation tour (booked through Transat's desk). Thanks to our Zapoteca guide, Oscar, we got much more than was described in the brochure. A cab ride to the archeological site/Copalita/La Bocana was also well worth it. La Crucecita is nice but avoid nearby Santa Cruz and its legions of hungry vendors. You can also enjoy walks/runs in the area surrounding the hotels.
Would definitely go again if it were a January or February visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Likesjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just spent our usual 2 weeks @ Dreams..and once again enjoyed ourselves. the only thing i would like to see changed. Is when there is a wedding booked that all wedding guests should be at that end of the resort. Even if we had wanted to go to bed early, the 11 pm shut down time seemed late.(after a day on the ocean touring, and just wanting to sleep that night, it was hard to do with a wedding going on). The food was a good as usual, the employees were all great, even when dealing with guests that would get ticked because they didn't speak much English, (here's a thought learn a few Spanish words, you'll find how much easier it is when both sides are trying).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just arrived home from Dreams, Huatulco. The hotel is beautiful, well-maintained, on it's own cove/beach, infinity pools, etc. Pool service was constant and servers were polite. The food in the World Cafe was okay with lots of choices and some surprises such as lobster! The best a la carte restaurants were the Asian, Italian, and Mexican. The Mexican wine, blanc de blanc is very good and their 'champagne' is also excellent. The best drink though, that you will be offered upon arrival, is the cucumber lemonade; refreshing and a pleasant break from alcohol. Octopus, langostina, and shrimp seem to be staples on the resort as well as in town. One dish that many enjoyed outside the resort was pineapple baked with shrimp in a cream sauce topped with cheese. Taxis were always available and cheap. We took one to La Bocana beach for boogie boarding. A vast expanse of a beach that apparently is always changing. No shade so you will roast but what fun in the waves. Apparently, this is the beach to surf in the early morning and late afternoon. La Crucecita and Santa Cruz are the closest towns and offer many restaurants and trinket shops. Check out Arte Zapoteco Cultura y Tradicion across from the theatre in Santa Cruz where you can see weaving in action and can purchase lovely products. The young man there is very informative and helpful. Across the park from the coop (where you will taste Mezcal) in La Crucecita is a shop selling Azteca Lindo cotton crepe clothing that is made in Mexico. While at the coop or I am sure, other shops, you can taste and purchase crunchy grasshoppers, chocolate, vanilla, and coffee local to the area. We did two excursions; the city tour is too long but you will get a sense of the area and there are many photo ops. The other was snorkelling where you are taken by boat to other bays. The water and sand at these bays are more Caribbean in colour and while there are offered beverages by the tour guide. Ample time is allowed to really enjoy the beach. While on the boat, a fishing line was set and bonita (fish) caught that was baked at the restaurant and samples offered during lunch. Although we did not take advantage of the private boat tours booked on the beach in front of the hotel, we heard good reviews if you want to see dolphin, whales, etc. While on the beach at the hotel, there are many vendors selling their wares. This can be a bit annoying but they move on quickly unless you are interested. The real downside are the availability of lounge chairs - you will need to get up at 6:30 a.m. to stake out some beach or poolside real estate. Overall, this was a great vacation. You can be very busy by taking advantage of the many activities at the resort and elsewhere or you can do nothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned from Dreams in Huatulco. It was perhaps one of the best places we have stayed. The service was amazing! Everyone was friendly, and it had enough pools to keep everyone happy! The beach, however is the best of anywhere we have stayed, so clear you could see the fish at your feet.
Yes, it's true, you have to get up before the sun to get a shaded chair due to people putting their towels on them before daybreak. There are other great places to sit, and you didn't get your butt out of bed at 5:30am! (Our secret place was under the palm on the grass next to the "adult" pool. I fell asleep on the lawn every afternoon!)

The service was amazing, thank you to all the Dreams team members, you all rock! Be sure to say hello to Ernesto at the Rendezvous bar! He was the best bartender we have had in a while.

Our room was clean, and was cleaned every day (sorry we left our clothes laying around, you didn't have to fold them, but you did)!

The area is safe, we have never felt so safe walking off the property before.

I could go on and on, but you should just go here. You will be glad you did!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MO_outdoor_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We brought 80 of our closest friends and family here to the Dreams for our Jan.4th wedding. December 31st- January 7th. Overall our experience was wonderful! We brought our 3 children- 1, 7 and 10 and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The beach was beautiful and the weather was consistently 30 degrees Celsius every day. My 7 year old went to the explorer's club one morning but was disappointed as a lot of the kids didn't speak English. He was happy to spend time with family on the beach though.
The food was good, drinks were good, and service was good. A few days our room wasn't cleaned including the wedding day which was a bit of a disappointment as this is where we the girls were to get ready.
Had a massage the day of the wedding at the spa- wonderful! Staff at the salon did a beautiful job of everyone's hair. I was not impressed with the job on my makeup but that can be subjective, and I should have done it myself. The cost of the wedding was very reasonable, guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Pilar the wedding coordinator went above and beyond our expectations. Decorations and food was wonderful and well worth the upgrade to the gold menu!
My only criticism of the whole experience was our photographer, Miguel. He went to great lengths to get some great shots and video, however we have yet to receive any of them. We previewed the shots and chose the ones we wanted the day after the wedding and were promised they would be sent to us. It is now over 6 weeks later and no pictures or video:( I had to use a guests pictures to make up thank you cards as I didn't feel it was fair to our guests to wait for professional pictures. After many emails and promises back and forth I am hoping to receive pictures soon but I am not holding my breath!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I just returned from one week Feb 4-11 2014 at Dreams Huatulco. The positives:-all the servers wore hairnets including the bartenders--good service in the restaurants--pools were beautiful, 3 infinity pools plus other pools for kids and a quiet area--food quality was good--no wrist bands--no prebooking for a la carte restaurants --lots of towels available for the pool and beach--drink quality was good. The negative--no clock in the room and you had to get up very early to get a chair by the pool--i like to walk at least 3 miles each morning and i had to circle the resort 4-5 times to get my walk in, the beach area was too sloped to do a good morning walk--turn down service at night was very unreliable, only 2 of the 7 nights--poor lighting in bathroom to do makeup--variety of food at the buffet at the World Cafe could have been a bigger assortment. Overall I would recommend this resort as the negatives were not that major. I have traveled to at lease 25 all inclusive resorts so I have lots to compare it to. I would go back again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend ones close to the main lobby bar as the band music is loud if you want to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunTravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing