We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Royal Huatulco
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was one of my best vacations Crown Pacific Mar 25-Apr 1 2014. The local people are so honest. I left my stuff on the beach under a towel and nothing was ever missing. The Staff: Oscar, Lewis, Guadalupe, Karla and many more all became friends. They worked so hard on their evening performances. All the staff were very friendly and very attentive. I couldnt even finish my drink and they were pouring me another. The hotel itself was adequate. It could use some repairs but it was clean. The food was fantastic. The coffee is better at the beach restaurant. WE took a boat and snorkeling trip with Tony and Jamie was our snorkeling Guide. He works for tips. Very good Guide. We were asked for 5$ for snorkel gear but then found out it was included in the boat trip. Tony included beer, water and a pineapple on the trip. Trips to the near by towns are 4$. They take CN 10-1 US 11-1. At the lobby traded 12.15 US. Airport customs was easy and quick both ways. I will be back. It is a great family spot. Shuttle services are very regular to the beach and to the rooms.

Room Tip: levels 7 to 10 are farther walking but bigger rooms. We stay on level 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi James H,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Crown Pacific Huatulco on TripAdvisor. We're glad Oscar and the entertainment staff were able to keep you occupied throughout your stay with such great activities our resort has to offer. Come back soon! We'll be pleased to see you again!

Regards,

Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just back from a week at Crown Pacific - great hotel for the money. Yes it is located on a hillside and the walk up to the 10th floor is a challenge after a day on the beach but a great workout all the same and worth it once you get to your very spacious room with a large balcony to enjoy the view. Friendly staff, clean rooms, plenty of hot water, lots of nature, and the best weather one can imagine. The food is ok so don't expect to eat like a king. You won't gain weight on this vacation. Only down side is the Sunwing write up on the hotel indicates you can use aqua tikes, kayaks and sailing but none of these are available through the hotel. Private tour companies offer these and you have to pay extra for them. I would recommend you do use these private tour companies - one with exceptional service is Eduardo Ulises Valle Garcia who will give you everything you want in a private tour of the area including snorkeling, fishing, boat tours, 4 wheeler and waterfalls tours - contact him at eduardovalle300@yahoo.com. Best tour we had - even got to see humpback whales! Great place for families and people who want a peaceful vacation.

Room Tip: 10th floor ocean views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guests:

Thank you for sharing this detailed review of your experience at Crown Pacific . We are pleased to know you had a great time staying with us. It's wonderful hearing from our guests regarding their stay and how useful they find our location and accommodations. We thank you again for visiting us and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Huatulco!

Regards,

Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Crown Pacific. Had visited 7 years ago and things are not what they were. Had a roomy suite on the 10th level-gorgeous view from the huge terrace. Whirlpool tub-not inviting-never used. Mobility issues- forget it-steep mountainside incline and lots of stairs. Pool area on 7th floor very nice-bar good. Breakfast best meal of the day- eggs and omelletes cooked to order, fresh fuit no bacon, sausage or toast on the 7th floor restaraunt. Lunch on the 7th floor-hamburgers, hotdogs, lame sandwiches. Buffet inedible- tried twice nogo. Ended up eating in restaraunts constantly even though we had all inclusive. Staff very friendly. 90% of clients Mexican families. You get what you pay for-cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayson c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review about your most recent experience at Crow Pacific. We're glad that you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodations and the resort amenities offered by. We love taking care of our clients and it makes us proud that we could assist you during your stay with us. Come back soon and we'll be happy to welcome you again!

Regards,

Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the Crown Pacific Huatulco Feb 25-Mar4 2014. We (5 couples) had a great stay. We stayed in building 10 and had the greatest view from our patio. The rooms were very large with a separate seating area, bedroom and large whirlpool tub. The rooms were clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The furniture in the rooms is dated but we have no complaints.

The meals were good. We found that the beach club buffet had a good variety of food each day. The restaurant by the pool had the same snack menu everyday, but the food was good. We did not go there for the A la Carte.

I will be honest, with the amount of walking and stairs (no elevators) it would be difficult for someone with mobility issues. There is a shuttle that will take you to your building and also another that goes back and forth to the beach club. If you don't want to walk too far, you really don't have to as they run throughout the day.

The staff would go out of their way to help out with any request. We made great friends with some of the other guests and had a very enjoyable stay. Thank you to Alvero in the pool bar!

We travelled into town a few times for shopping and the taxi drivers were wonderful to help us find whatever we were looking for. We also did a tour with Huatulco Water Sports and would highly recommend the jet ski tour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b4trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi b4trip,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at Crown Pacific Huatulco. We are glad to hear that the location and accommodations were great for you. We appreciate the acknowledgement of our staff and how hard they work to ensuring that each guest has an amazing experience at our resort. Thank you for recommendations and we look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Regards,

Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I gad a great time. A little more variety in the breakfast menu would have been nice. But the food was always good. The entertainment was really good. The English speaking people were few and far between but everyone we dealt with tried. We loved it and this place has encouraged us to try other places in Mexico

Room Tip: Seventh floor and higher are nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandymg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing and recommending Crown Pacific. We're so glad to hear that your stay was memorable. We're thrilled you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent a most enjoyable week here, choosing it as we prefer smaller, boutique type hotels. We requested a room with a king bed on floor 7 or higher and got a great suite on the 10 floor, with a huge balcony, and a large oval tub open to both the bedroom and the patio through sliding doors. The view was great Lots of hot water in the shower, no problems with the drain or toilet working properly. Our room was kept clean, towels replaced daily, often folded into swan shapes with flowers. Water was replaced in the fridge daily. We were never disturbed by housekeeping, and the room was always clean when we returned. Bed and pillows were comfortable. It was very quiet, we never heard anything in our room all week, until the last night when a dog somewhere was barking.
Because of the set up of the hotel on the hillside, there is lots of walking involved. This is not the place if you have mobility issues We generally walked down, although you can call for a shuttle, but we did always ride up. Shuttles were readily available to come up or go over to the beach club. Drivers were always helpful, and would stop and offer a ride if they saw us walking.
The bartenders in both the lobby bar and the beach club were great, and would suggest and make different drinks. Servers in the open air beach club buffet were generally prompt and attentive, at lunch more so than supper. The buffet was not busy during the week, but staff did become overwhelmed on the weekend, when Mexican families filled the resort. We found the buffet had a good selection - we liked all the Mexican food choices, and didn't come for Canadian food. Favourites were the chilaquiles at breakfast with different sauces on different days, and also the empanadas. They also made omelettes to order and fresh tortillas Cream of coconut soup was great, as was the chicken mole. Dishes were not repeated during the week, and at each meal there was a fish, chicken and beef choice, with interesting sauces, as well as a couple of vegetables, potatoes and rice. Salads as well. I wish there had been more of a selection of desserts, but the coconut cake was good.
It is hard to make reservations for dinner at the a la carte restaurant, in part because it has to be done in person same day from 9 AM to 3 PM, and who is back up on the 7th floor then?Reservations fill up by 10 AM. Breakfast however doesn't need a reservation - there was lots of fresh fruit, choices of eggs, pancakes and French toast. When we did manage to have supper here, it was very nicely served, with wine, a selection of salads, and choices of pastas, pizzas, and herbed baked chicken. Half orders are available, so you can try several items. Also a choice of desserts, but again, limited.
Front desk, bar tenders, beach club waiters and activity staff generally spoke pretty good English. The Trattoria Restaurant staff spoke very little English. We found staff everywhere to be pleasant and helpful, and we managed with a mixture of my very limited Spanish and their English.
The beach area and pool are small, but nice. It is a good 5 minute walk from the lobby down to the beach club and buffet restaurant. We were always able to get chairs in some shade, generally at the pool, as people still go out early to put towels down on the beach chairs. Activity staff worked valiantly to get people to move and participate, and they did have some success.
Take insect repellant, and a Benadryl applicator stick, as some people were really bothered with itchy bug bites, although you never felt anything actually biting; red welts just appeared.
The Sunwing rep Mayra was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. She will translate if needed - she speaks Spanish, English and French. Front desk staff would always change large peso bills to smaller for tipping and taxis.
It is extremely hot here, but the ocean breeze makes it bearable. Room AC was good, but other areas are not air conditioned. It made it more interesting and fun to have lots of Mexican families at the resort for the weekend, rather than just Canadian tourists.
Hotel is nicely located, some shops and restaurants nearby, and only a 38 peso taxi ride into town - have correct,change as taxis don't make change.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at Crown Pacific. Watching the sun rise and set over the ocean from your balcony must have been breathtaking. We are glad to hear that the location and accommodations were great for you . Come back soon and we'll be happy to welcome all of you again!

Regards,
Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the worst experience I have had in 10 years of travelling. I have backpacked with my partner through Belize and Guatemala staying in hostels and also stayed in a number of all inclusives in a few different countries and places.

The food was cold even though it was in the warming buffet. There was always 8 spots in the buffet, at least 4 of which were pretty much the same each evening. Warming trays did nothing to keep the food HOT! There was a char broil grill at the main restaurant that was never used. Warm milk with a bit of "filler" (rice, etc) was the hot cereal each morning. There was NO bacon!! There was no BEEF!!! The a la carte only served pizza and pasta in the evening and otherwise the breakfast was the same as the main restaurant and there was never much change from the national fare. Even though the website states that you make reservations between 3 - 5 pm only for the a la carte, the fact is that you need to book by 10 AM or when you go to book all you get is a "no" with a flurry of Spanish that if you don't understand you just get the look and blink like "what?" as if you are the problem in this communication conundrum. Pitiful. There was one young lady on the Funiculair that tried to communicate in English. The majority of the rest of the staff didn't really care if you understood them or not except for the Playas and the Bartenders. And they didn't try at all to understand you either. A complete negative on customer service in my opinion, especially at the restaurants where in the morning you were lucky if you got one cup of coffee because you had to fight hard to get a second cup! The service was awful and tipping didn't seem to change the outcome to a better one :(

We were interrupted in our room at 9:30 am by the maid but when we would return after an outing at 2pm it still wasn't cleaned, and then most days we would have to call for towels or coffee or bottled water or soda. The floors in our room were only ever once witnessed to be washed once by the maid and you knew it wasn't done more often by the dirt on the bathroom mat when you got out of the shower and shuffled across the floor on it.

The facility should not be classified as a 3.5 star as in my opinion from a great number of years travelling it was about a 2 star. Shame on SunWing. Never trust them again. There are NO non-motorized water sports and very little action at the main beach except for the locals who are selling their wares. And they haven't learned the game yet as they all wear new clothes and don't look poor while selling their wares. Perhaps this part of it was enlightening as they weren't hiding that they were hired by tourism and not pretending to be poor.

Regardless, we will never stay here again but will definitely go back to Huatulco. I feel that the new owners - Royal Hotels, don't really care about the north American tourists that spend a lot of hard earned money on their property for vacations because the majority of our stay we saw a number of Royal Holiday personnel meeting with nationals but totally ignoring foreigners. Your loss my gain. Never lose the lesson. Not what it appears.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natjamyhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia d, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing this information about Crown Pacific Huatulco. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your most recent stay with us. We understand your frustration and will certainly pass along these concerns to our management team.

Thank you.
Lucia Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,796 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 47 in Huatulco
3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Huatulco

Address: Blvd Benito Juarez 8 | Tangolunda Bay, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: £103 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huatulco began as a surfing community far, far off the beaten path. Today with a first class international airport, 26 kilometers of stunning coast, 36 white beaches, and nine beautiful bays- it's a vacation paradise and, still, a slightly more secret destination. Tropical jungle and exotic highlands combine at the edge of a grand, grand Pacific like you've never experienced it. The Park Royal Huatulco's All Inclusive 133 suites come complete with a lavish beach club, two gorgeous swimming pools, two restaurants and three lounges serving drinks all day and into some truly remarkable evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Royal Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Pacific Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Hotel
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing