We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huatulco beautiful, Crown okay resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Royal Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Royal Huatulco
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huatulco beautiful, Crown okay resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed at the Crown Pacific from Jan 15-22 2010. The resort is off the beach, but the view is beautiful. They have little trams to take you to and from your room, you never have to wait, but the walk is short and nice. The beach resort was very nice, chairs were easy to get. The food was so so, breakfast was very good everyday, lunch okay, supper was different every night, themed. Our room was in the Golden crown section, it was very nice, but dated, the hotel is old but very clean. I would not pay anything extra for the Golden as the regular rooms are just as nice and have a great view as well. This is a perfect place if you like walking and want an excellent value for your money (cheaper vacation). We visited many places while there and found it extremely expensive, compared to other places in mexico we have been. Weather was fantastic, and hot hot hot. If you are looking for a quite place and hot weather Huatulco is the spot, but Acapulco, and Ixtapa are also very hot and much more fun.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    251
    142
    69
    70
See reviews for
266
277
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

It was our first trip to Huatulco and we chose the Crown Pacific because of the great deal we got! For us it was perfect - relaxed, quiet and a great way to meet lots of people. The food was definitely adequate and the staff were fantastic! We were on the 7th, right next to the pool and having to walk down to the beach was an added benefit - we also had the option of taking the little shuttle. We never had much of a wait for the shuttle and if we didn't want to wait, we just started walking. If there was any downside, it was that on the weekends, families of locals moved in and then it got very noisy and busy. We took some great tours: Rough Guide, Paradise Bay Tour, Magic Falls and Rafting. It was a wonderful way to see the area and the guides were excellent. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants "slow and quiet!" Another benefit was that the rooms were very quiet. Unlike other places we've stayed, we weren't kept awake by hallway noises at all. The tripadvisor reviews we had read, made our decision to stay at the Crown Pacific easy and after we got there, we spoke to many who were there for their 3rd and 4th times!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ben_mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed at the crown pacific at the end of January.

Check in/out no problems
room- Clean and spacious had a safe (no charge) , huge balcony, air conditioning worked great, huge 2 person whirl pool hot tub in room and you can open up your window and look at the ocean while sitting in the tub same with the bedroom you could see the ocean lying in bed. Wonderful way to wake up in the morning. I would like to have seen room darkening shades. Mini fridge was stalked daily. Room could use a fresh paint job and they were painting rooms while we were there. We stayed on the 10th floor and it was fabulous.

Getting around- We never had a problem using the shuttles the most we waited was approximately 2-3 minutes. We would often walk down going up was another thing. We would do it at least once a day to wear off all the drinks. It would take you to the beach, restaurant ,lobby, all floors etc.. I don't know if I would recommend it to anyone who couldn't walk well but the guy in the next room had a broken leg and he got around fine. About the weather and walking usually everything was shady when walking so we never thought we would have sun stoke or anything like that.

Beach- I had to laugh when I read the beach was not good for swimming this hotel is located right beside Barcello and beside Barcello is Dreams its all the same beach same sand, water etc.. So you can draw your own conclusion on that one. I loved that they had hammocks on the beach with a pergola on top of them. I loved my waiter who would run and get me drinks so I didn't have to leave my hammock. We never I mean NEVER had to leave towels on our chairs to hold them early in the morning and we always got chairs. We are not early risers either.

Trips- we booked our trips by ourselves with locals. We did the bay tour that stopped at a few bays and we went snorkeling, Snorkeling was fantastic we actually caught a lobster and our guide took us to a restaurant on the beach and they cooked it for us. We seen flying manta rays, turtles, all kinds of fish. They pointed out interesting spots. It was all you could drink, They picked us up at 9 and we could stay how long we wanted and we could ask them to take us back when we wanted. We did take the tour with another couple so it brought the cost down and we had company. Now we did have to suggest this to the guy selling us the trip. He really didn't care they were there to serve us. We went a couple times to the town that is close by.
Also we hired a cab for the day and sent to San Augusta now that had to be one of the best places to snorkel the coral in places came right to the beach. The restaurant that we stopped at had great food and the beach was so quiet maybe 12 people all together. I would recommend going there to snorkel.
Lots of the bays you only can get to by boat that is why you have to do at least a bay cruise to see them.

Bars- This is my only complaint the bar did not open until 11 am . So you couldn't get bottled water until then, so I would bring mine down from the room. The bars were great no waiting and great drinks.

Staff- had no problem they were so willing to help. I do have a Spanish book that I bring. I would leave the maid directions on what I wanted in my fridge, if I needed extra towels, etc.. Had no problems!

I hope I didn't leave anything out. The whole area is laid back if you want partying until 6am go to Cancun, if you want burger king on every corner you don't want to come here. I love that its so natual here and even the people in the market are not pushy they just say hi to you and let you look around. If you are going for weather and beaches and some sightseeing this is it. If you are going for luxuary maybe get a more expensive hotel but I have stayed at 5 stars that were equal to this. Lots of people at this resort had stayed here before so that must say something for it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shelly-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

once you get used to the different levels of this hotel is just such a pleasure to stay here great staff great location and just beautiful location small enough to get to know all the staff and other guests and just a warm inviting place to relax

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Huatulco is a beautiful place with lots of authentic Mexico to see. If you like it hot (over 30 degrees Celsius everyday!) and not so commercialized, you will love it here. There are many great bays and beaches, great for snorkelling and relaxing in the sun. Taxis are cheap (usually 50 pesos or less, depending where you want to go) so you can see a lot of the areas surrounding the resorts very easily. It is very easy to hire a driver on the beach to take you out on the boat for the day, and usually costs less than 600 pesos per person. It is helpful to learn some basic Spanish before travelling here, as only a small percentage of locals (and not many hotel staff!) speak English or French.

Crown Pacific is a 3-star resort, and this rating is accurate. The resort is very popular with Mexicans and Canadians. The rooms are large, but could use some updating, especially the bathroom. The room is not overly clean, the beds were not extremely comfortable. The positives were that the air conditioning worked well and we had a nice balcony with an oceanview. The hotel is built into the side of a hill, so there is a lot of walking since the tram runs fairly infrequently. Check-in didn't go so smoothly. When we arrived at noon, we were told that our room wouldn't be ready until 3:00, and we were fine with that. We wanted to go to the beach, so we wanted to leave our luggage at the bell station. There is no Bell Captain, so we had to wait for the tram staff to store our luggage for us. When we came back at 4:30, our room still wasn't ready. The front desk staff was very snotty about this, and also on other occasions. However, the rest of the staff at the Hotel and Beach Club were very good. The food is decent, but not spectacular. The Beach Club is small (only about 30 beach chairs) and isn't at the hotel proper (about a 5 min walk from the Lobby), but the activities and bar/service staff are very good, and there is a nice pool and restaurant there. Dinner is at the Beach Club every night, beginning at 7:30, which is a bit late for some folks, but didn't bother us. They have theme nights for the meals (Mexican, Italian, Oriental) and offer entertainment while you dine (dancing, Karaoke, etc.) which is quite good. However, if you want to try something a bit different, there are many great restaurants in Santa Cruz (on the beach), La Crucicita (La Sabor de la Oaxaca, La Crema) or La Bocana (great Cowboy bar called La Finca) for a cheap cab ride.

It isn't very expensive to stay here, so if you are looking for value, this is a good place to stay. If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reginaredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

Hotel and Rooms
Postives - the rooms are very large and have huge decks, the majority of which face the bay. The staff is awesome and very helpful if you are patient enough to help them with the communication as not all speak English fluently. The rooms and the hotel in general is spotless and the grounds are very welled cared for. The carts and the funicular help you move around quickly and walking is really not far. There was absolutely no wait time for food or drinks and staff is friendly and helpful.
Negatives: It is an older hotel and the bathroom in our room (633) could stand an upgrade but nothing serious. The hot water took awhile to get there but again patience is a virtue. After all you are on holidays - what's the hurry. There were a small number of minature ants in the area around the fridge and coffee machine. the solution to this was to just make sure you didn't leave anything sweet laying there to attract them. Again not a big deal. If you have difficulty walking or want to be directly on the beach then perhaps this hotel is not for you.

The Beach and Pool Area
Positive - it is beautiful bay and the beach is quite lovely. Both the pool by the beach and the pool on the 7th floor are clean and very nice. Yes, they are small but were not busy and at no time did I feel crowded. We went down to the beach reasonably early (before 8:30 am) and put out our towels on the chairs and there didn't seem to be any problem with chairs.
Negatives - the beach area is very small but then again the resort is pretty small. My only complaint is about the upstairs pool. There are no cushions for the lounge chairs at this pool. this was annoying but something I think that the hotel could easily solve. They have the chairs - why not the cushions.

Food and Drink
Positives: You didn't ever have to wait. The drinks were very good and the bartenders would make you anything your heart desired and with a smile! This was true at all the bars. The main buffet did not have a huge selection but we found it more than adequate and they changed the menu every day and therefore you didn't get bored eating there. The mexican night was absolutely superb and a "don't miss". Breakfast and lunch were very good with a quite reasonable selection of choices. The restaurant on the 7th floor was also quite good but with a much smaller selection. You were waited on and I recommend the omelettes. Only one ala carte restaurant and the food was quite good - not excellent but good.
Negatives: The main buffet is down by the beach so the location, while great for lunch when you are sitting on the beach, is not so great for breakfast and dinner. It makes for a lot of back and forth. Also the main buffet is closed from 5:00 to 7:30 pm and when it is closed you can't even access the beach. That was not so great. The ala carte restaurant is only open on Tuesday and Thursday and you can only book it that day.

Generally Speaking
We found that the smaller resort was much more to our liking than the fancy bigger places. It had a far more "Mexican ambiance" to it and we enjoyed that. On the whole we were very pleased with our stay and felt we had gotten a good deal for the price we paid. The only complaint I would say was very annoying was the lack of golf passes available at the hotel. However I think this is more the fault of the golf course than the hotel. We were directed to purchase our golf passes (by the golf course) at the Barcelo. When we got there we were told that those passes were only for guests at the Barcelo. Had we not had a friend staying there we would have had to pay full price and the difference is significant! We had a wonderful time and will definitely go to Huatulco again and quite likely stay at the same resort

The Vollmans
Saskatchewan

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKLocoGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Arrival
Small airport so getting through customs took some time. Bus to Hotel was cool and guide was informative. Complementary drink upon arrival at the hotel- check-in was quick

Rooms
Rooms - clean and cool, great veiws from our balcony main floor of building 8 (there are 10 in all), getting around the hotel was interesting and you needed energy to get around as it is built up the hillside - but a good way to stay in shape or you could take the shuttle or finicular that runs between the lobby and the top of the 7th building - always nice to meet other guests during the ride. Maid service was timely, completed efficiently, and mini-bar was restocked daily with water, beer and sodas. Difficult to catch up on news as they only offered FOX but then we did go down to the internet in the lobby to get info from Canada.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was flavorful, but there was some concerns with food that at times was salty and too much processed meat was served. Breakfast and lunch by the beach were good as was the restaurant on 7. Dinner had something for everyone. The drinks were adequate and staff friendly. Bottled water available at any time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The Beach/Pools and grounds were very clean and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We were looking for R&R so we went into La Crusicita twice - some excellent restaruants - La Crema being one. But lots to see and do if you are looking for it. Walking along the beach to the south you will come to a wall of rock. At the base the fish will come and eat bananas from your hand - good snorkling area. Kayaking, jet skis,fishing and sailing are all available on the beach. Evening entertainment was well done with different themes every night.

Other Comments
The hotel does need some repairs- we had hot water issues but for the price was decent. As an eco area, this property would benefit from tankless water heaters for each room. Friends staying at the other properties on the bay did not have the views or service that we had and paid much more. Huatulco is a beautiful place, very safe, wonderful people, and lovely beaches Over all rating a 6 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#9 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Huatulco

Property: Park Royal Huatulco
Address: Blvd Benito Juarez 8 | Tangolunda Bay, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huatulco began as a surfing community far, far off the beaten path. Today with a first class international airport, 26 kilometers of stunning coast, 36 white beaches, and nine beautiful bays- it's a vacation paradise and, still, a slightly more secret destination. Tropical jungle and exotic highlands combine at the edge of a grand, grand Pacific like you've never experienced it. The Park Royal Huatulco's All Inclusive 133 suites come complete with a lavish beach club, two gorgeous swimming pools, two restaurants and three lounges serving drinks all day and into some truly remarkable evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Park Royal Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Pacific Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Hotel
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing