We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Zaashila
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel with perfect location”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were looking for a place at the beach, which wasn't the typical crowed "All Inclusive" hotel and found Camino Real.

This hotel is located in Tangolunda bay and has direct access to the beach, which is protected to both sides with rocks (so it doesn't have an inviting public access). This is an important factor for us since we have three kids aged seven to eleven.

We enjoyed here a real quiet time, while the neighbor hotels (Dreams and Barcelo) were crowded and very noisy. They are located at the a adjacent beaches, which were less hospitable for the kids or us for swimming. The first days we had fun with the waves, then it calmed down and was great to swim and safe for all. Do check how the forecast is, since after all it is open to the Pacific Ocean. Since the pool and the beach are connected with no barriers we could lay on either side and have a good over view of our kids.

This hotel is more frequented by Mexicans and can be booked with breakfast included. For European standards the pool benches/chairs need a much better maintenance but the landscape is beautiful. We just laid the pool towel over it. :-)

We arrived before the local Easter vacation dates and were as good as alone. At Easter it did get full, but except for the breakfast buffet it was not that obvious. They did open a second breakfast buffet up at the Chez Binni, but the location down at the beach is definitely the best, as most of the guest think. However, we always found a table.

The food is good and they are wiling to convey with any wishes. There are some amenities like jet skies and kayaks and they can arrange for you some other like banana rides or catamaran sailing from the adjacent beaches, but you might want to get them there and negotiate the price. At Camino Real it is just far too pricy. We got really good deals for the same just 5 min over the rocks at the other hotels. Go ahead and negotiate, they do wear t-shirts from the hotels, but actually work independently. A few meters further you can find a guy renting his jet skies and at the far end some fishers, which will be happy to take you fishing or to other bays, or snorkeling to much better prices.

The Kids Club (Travesuras) is now open and we have not seen our kids in the last 4 hours! So it must be good!

As hotel guests we had a 15% discount on food and beverages, make sure they apply it on each bill. The service is good, but Mexican style, these people did not learn it really or received the typical American style service education. They are friendly and helpful, but don't reach excellency. We live in Mexico so we are used to it and would judge it as very good service, however opinions might differ. However, don't get us wrong, we really recommend this place!

To have some variation we often took a taxi to the "city" and ate there. Even with the taxi price it is more economical and you don't have to chose always for the same menu. But the two "in hotel" restaurants also offer you a good quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 881CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    208
    101
    43
    29
See reviews for
195
243
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rooms are comfortable but somewhat sterile. Odors in bathroom. Views and balcony very nice. Towels ragged and rooms could use some TLC. Pool area and beach, gorgeous! Our room was not ready when we arrived mid-afternoon which did not make us feel welcome. Loud noise from a convention fiiesta until 1:00 AM. Not acceptable! Need comfortable furniture for the balconies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fancinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have previously stayed at the Zaashila so many times it’s like an old pair of comfy slippers! We like to stay there because the location is fantastic, quiet, secluded and the beach is not over populated. We stayed there this time for 12 nights in Feb ’14 and were taken aback by the awful, poor and slow service! (yes, it is Mexico but we have not experienced anything like this previously). We had problems 3 years ago with the standard of room we had actually booked and paid for and what we were given on registration, resulting in the inconvenience of us having to change room – moving all our clothes etc. after 3 days (no rooms of the standard we had paid for, were available earlier than the 3 days). So, I was determined this time that we wouldn’t have this same scenario, exchanging emails with them a good one month before our arrival – I was told (by email) that everything was in hand, they had clear details of our reservation and assured “we are at your service anytime”! .... quite!

On arrival and registration, the very same scenario started to play out that we had experienced last time!! Initially they said that they didn’t have any of the rooms available that we had actually booked ... until I produced the email exchange and our booking confirmation details and suddenly they DID have a room available but we would still need to wait an hour because it hadn’t, as yet, been cleaned (we arrived mid afternoon). Not a great start to our holiday. Whilst at Reception we overheard a lady complaining about the noise, saying she had been kept awake until 4 am by loud music and 1 am the night before that, we were surprised as the Zaashila has always been a rather quiet location but we discovered over the next few days that she was right, the Zaashila seems to have gone down the route of holding more events/ weddings etc., (maybe they can’t get the occupancy levels up by other means). In fact whilst we were there, there was a large security convention going on, the normal breakfast area was reserved for this group and normal paying guests were only allowed to sit on a few tables on a platform below the normal breakfast terrace – not a great way to make existing/loyal guests feel valued.

We were there for Valentine’s Day and had asked on 12th Feb if there was anything special planned ... the first thing they said was the price!! but, following on from that they had no other details - no menu, no details of any entertainment etc. etc., on the 14th we asked again (having still seen no event details) we were told it was a 6 course meal located at the ‘Azul Profundo’ (Pool Bar Restaurant) which is a great location – so we reserved a table and were looking forward to a nice romantic dinner on the beach. The reality was somewhat different – one of the ‘courses’ was 2 lettuce leaves, 5 cashew nuts and a blob of tomato ketchup/puree (I tried to take a photo on my smart phone as evidence to post with this review but with the low lighting it didn’t turn out) and to top it off, we were told to keep our knives and forks for 5 of the 6 courses!!! Unbelievable.

So many other reviewers have commented on the state of repair of this hotel (they are right, the rooms really are past there ‘sell by date’) I would just be repeating what others have said, but I do wonder why Camino Real don’t wake up and listen to their customers? Don’t you care C.R.??
We feel very sad and angry that such a beautiful hotel is being allowed to fall into such disarray ... and that rests fairly and squarely with management – in the 12 days we were there we never once saw the Manager or Deputy Manager anywhere in the hotel, this speaks volumes.

For the first time in many years, next time we visit Huatulco we will look to stay at another hotel after this experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We opted for this resort because many of the reviews described this location as being quiet, secluded and unpopulated...but what we hadn't expected was the quality of the food and drink. We chose the all inclusive package and are thankful we did! Because this is a newly designated inclusive resort we had to sign off on our bills and charge them to the room, which allowed us to see what our trip would have cost us had we not gone all inclusive...we definitely got our values worth. Our favourite spot for daytime and dinner was the playa azul profundo restaurant on the beach. During the day this spot boasted a beach front location, far away from the beach pedlars, a small dip pool and amazing service. Mauricio served us and was beyond attentive. He would always refill my glass (actual wine glass, not plastic) of wine or Malibu margarita before I called him over. The chilli cheese nachos were amazing!!! A must try! At night they transformed this spot to a romantic seaside dimly lit restaurant. The goat cheese salad and beef filet were by far our favourites. And the wine was good!!! A complete surprise on our part. On our second night they lit fireworks on the beach...a perfect end to a great day.
Our room was beachfront and beautifully updated and modern #28. The minibar was stocked daily as well as bottled water, which was included in our package. Room service was also included and so we took advantage of that most mornings...ask for the waffles and cappuccinos. Our rooms were always clean and the cleaning lady created beautiful towel art with flowers. Over all we would highly recommend this resort and will visit again.
Ps. We brought a bunch of 1$ US bills and tipped 1 after every other round...it kept the servers coming to us and proved to be a better option than tipping when we got the bill at the end of the day. This was a great place to just eat, drink, lay on beach and relax. Enjoy!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SweetChickNamedDesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hotel setting is beautiful, in Tangolunda Bay -- while beach is small, the view from the pool, restaurant and bedrooms is fantastic. However, thought that hotel layout was very inconvenient, with many steps up and down to get to my room, which was really far away from everything else in the hotel (restaurants, pool, beach, lobby). Also, unfortunately hotel has not been well maintained and while staff tried to be friendly, they failed to provide basic information about the hotel and room rate -- AC in room the first night was not working properly (though fixed the second day). Also, minibar had no key and there was no book in the room including even basic hotel info. Also disappointed to find at check-out that I was charged for bottles of water that were left in the room (these are usually provided as courtesy in most Mexican hotels, there was no sign in room explaining that such was not the case) and that the breakfast included in my rate was a continental breakfast and not the buffet -- after complaining because this was never clarified neither at the restaurant nor when I checked-in, breakfast difference was waived. The priviledged location of this hotel does not compensate for the many shortfalls experienced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent 7 days at this hotel for a friends wedding... The hotel looks OK from the outside but has not been well kept up. This property requires a complete make over. While the pool (too shallow) and beach are very nice, the rest of the property and grounds have not been well maintained. Overall this hotel was poorly managed. While Front desk and Bell staff were OK, the Wait staff were brutal. We routinely poured our on coffee, got our own drinks at the bar and stood around for 10 minutes to receive our bill. Internet service in your room is brutal and Internet in their business center is passable. Bottom line, I would not have selected this property if not for the wedding my wife and I were attending. Lots of potential to do better at this property.
Colin W.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there are any good rooms; it would appear that the hotel requires a good reno!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We took at taxi from our hotel in Huatulco to spend a day at another beach area. Went in through the main gates at Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco and it looked beautiful. They let us in to use the beach (Tangolunda beach) and their lovely large pool for free. Occupancy was down around 30% beginning of January so not many tourists there at this resort. It looks wonderful from rooms with swim outs to regular nice rooms. We had nachos and drink in one of the bars with the hotel and it was great; service, quality. The beach is steep and waves so not great for swimming. There are some sun shelters and lawn chairs along the beach. I would go there and stay for sure. Must be a 4 1/2 or 5 star place.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room but just visited the resort. I would definitely book this one next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPPWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.4 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Zaashila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Zaashila

Property: Camino Real Zaashila
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez Lote 5 Bahias de Tangolunda | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Zaashila 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco has a unique design, with a Contemporary Mediterranean style; this place submerged in an astonishing natural surrounding, where one can enjoy a swimming pool like no other, 120 meters in length, was sculpted in front of the complex, with a view of the bay and the extensive blue of the Pacific. A masterpiece of the Mexican Architect Javier Sordo Madaleno, (who is one of the most renowned architects worldwide and is specialized in designing tourist projects), who made this dream a reality, and on April 2, 1993 one of the most beautiful beach hotels in Mexico opened its doors.Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco is located in the beautiful Tangolunda Bay, one out of the nine bays of Huatulco in the state of Oaxaca. A hotel embracing the shoreline and boasting an exclusive beach, 25 minutes away from the airport. RESTAURANTS - BEL LA GRILL (Grilled fish): The perfect place to enjoy the breakfast (buffet) with a beautiful bay view. Open from 7:00 - 11:00 H. - BEACH CLUB: Exquisite fresh seafood and snacks. Also you can appreciate the spectacular sunset. Open from 12:00 - 18:00H. - CHEZ BINNI (Welcome home): The most select international cuisine, with a regional touch. Open from 18:00 - 23:00 H. - AZUL PROFUNDO: A place under a starry sky. This is a new delicious gastronomic concept with a Thai - Mex fusion, and a slight tendency of French cuisine. Open from 19:00 - 24:00 H. (Reservation required). - BAR BITZA (SUNSET): Your favorite beverage in a relaxed environment. Open from 17:00 - 23:00 H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camino Real Zaashila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing